Serial killer on the loose

http://blogs.villagevoice.com/runninscared/2011/04/a_new_york_seri.php

Something slightly terrifying is happening along Ocean Parkway and Gilgo Beach on Long Island, where the remains of eight different people have been found since December. The search started when Shannan Gilbert, a 24-year-old woman from New Jersey and a prostitute, went missing four months ago, but since December none of the dead bodies have been hers. Instead, four female prostitutes and four “unidentified people,” have been found, according to the New York Times, “heightening residents’ fears that a serial killer is in their midst” and ramping up the investigation.

The latest bodies were found Monday – three, to be exact – following one last Tuesday and four in late 2010. Gilbert has not been found, but her mother remains hopeful. "“If it wasn’t for my daughter, these bodies never would have been found,” she said. “Everyone has their destiny, maybe this was hers. I’m still hoping she comes home.”

But the quantity and stories surrounding the community points to only one thing, like the description of the last time Gilbert was seen:

Ms. Gilbert had been visiting a seaside home in the Oak Beach area in the early morning hours of May 1. Gus Coletti, 76, was one of the last people to see her alive. He was at home, shaving, shortly before 5 a.m.

“I hear somebody screaming and bang-bang on the door,” he said. "I opened the door, and she stood right there. I said, ‘What’s the matter?’ And she kept saying ‘Help me.’ "

When he dialed 911, she ran. “She took off, and that was the last I saw her,” he said.

This would be the third set of prostitute serial murders in Long Island in the last 20 years. Police have a seven-mile search area being combed by investigators, but no real leads.

If they want to do a bit of profiling they could do worse than read the last 3 pages of the Cortib Gas thread

Ah deadly. I love a good serial killer. That chap in Ipswich that killed all the hookers was a firm favourite of mine. This lad seems to be following a similar path. Who was it that wondered if he paid or even tipped the birds before killing them?*

• Sorry for the content of this post, Kev.

The serial killer that freaked the shit out of me was Brendan O’Donnell down in Clare in 1994. I remember being scared that he would murder me in my bed. It ruined my 18th birthday.

Is Tinnion still over there?

Why was it still affecting you 7 or so years later?

Tinnion needs to declare his innocence on here pretty smart and better hope he has an alibi.

Right now my two most likely suspects are Tinnion and Gus Coletti.

What 76 year old shaves before 5am

And whom was he shaving? Gus has played the NYPD for fools.

I emailed tinnion this morning to ask him if it was him. He said no. Good enough for me and I’ll give him an alibi no problem.

Is the Runt and his fiance aware there is a serial killer in their midst?

Yes I sent him a link to the story yesterday.

I think you will find it is SCPD that is dealing with the case Rocko, they wouldn’t be as sharp as the NYPD so Coletti probably found it easier to fool them.

Sorry lads, if any of ye are wearing a garda uniform, I ask ye to step away from this thread.

Thank you.

I’m not a fan of these creeps to be honest. Give me an ex-Marine, a clocktower and admirable marksmanship any day of the week over these guys preying on unfortunate prostitutes.

Who is to be our TFK man on the ground on these developments, Tinnion or Runt? Massey even?

It’ll have to be tinnion hes the only TFKer left in the big schmoke

Did you move back to Limerick, massey?

moved here as part of the witness protection programme dunph but keep it to yourself B)

The DC Sniper raised the bar for everyone a few years ago and while the likes of Raoul Moate have tried to keep pace they’ve never come close to that level of menace. In the meantime we just have to make do with these bit-part serial killers who pick off easy targets.

I know gay marriage is legal over there, but unless there’s something Runt is not telling us I’m pretty sure he has a fiancee not a fiance