Shane MacGowan (RIP)

I just bought myself some new Leeds kit for my Christmas present**

**Out of boredom

Great to see all the tributes to Shane on RIP. He captured alot of the essence of Ireland in his songs. As many have said, they ll still be singing his lyrics 100 years from now, if sing songs are still a thing.

A fecking legend all ends up, true to himself.

Some lovely scenes in Dublin this morning as people come out to pay their respects to the great man. I’d say nenagh will be a sight to behold this afternoon. Shane would of loved this send off. He seemed to enjoy a bit of pageantry.

https://twitter.com/grainne555/status/1733091507635093920?t=9_rbgnsDJ787VF4Zc_4RDw&s=19

https://twitter.com/PartAnnMarie/status/1733091366966587688?t=9_rbgnsDJ787VF4Zc_4RDw&s=19

I didn’t know Shane had an Italia 90 World Cup song.

Not surprising, if it didnt have a corkman involved ye cunts wouldnt notice it.

Paul Simon, Nick Cave and Bruce Springsteen seen together in Nenagh an hour ago. Is the funeral going from Dublin to Nenagh? That’s some removal walk

Has Bono turned up yet?

Oh he’ll be there I’m sure.

GB news are showing it imagine @Cheasty

Fuck Bono,McGowan is a magician compared to that hack.

That’s a bit unfair I think.

U2’s early stuff was very good @Fagan_ODowd

You have to give him some credit.

Bono has written better songs than MacGowan.

Achtung Baby is one of the great albums.

On today of all days, I beseech you to retract and come again another day. Out of respect to the dead.

I think Bono would be best known for his voice than his songwriting abilities. Achtung baby and joshua tree were good albums musically speaking, but the lyrics MacGowan wrote would be like comparing Roy Curtis with Dostoyevsky.

Today is Sinead’s birthday, one for the I just learned thread.

MacGowan’s best stuff is well beyond Bono’s and well beyond nearly every other artist.

Hansard has directed the musical element of the funeral.

Sigh.