Shane MacGowan (RIP)

Very in keeping with the man

It really was

It really was but I wanted it to never end

Just watching the rte news coverage here. It was like a state funeral. I knew Shane was popular with my generation but I’ m slightly taken aback at the sheer size of the outpouring of love for the great man today.

Its quite surreal to think of Johnny Depp, probably biggest Hollywood star, receiving orders from a local funeral director in Tipperary and Nick Cave playing the piano in the corner. I think many people tuning in from around the world would have seen an Ireland that they probably had preconceived notions about traditions and stereotypes etc.

The people on the news there who didn’t know the man personally but travelled back for today from places like Philadelphia and Liverpool was a bit much in fairness.

Bits of it.

Only catching up now via YouTube.

Lisa was brilliant. Buaile bas to her.

Nick Cave… :clap::clap::clap:

I’d say so. However, as I posted a few days ago, she was selling his book of artworks I think it was for a grand a pop specifically to pay for his care, so I suspect they were in no way well off.

Surely he makes a million or more a year off Fairy Tale?

Internet says above €480,000

200k on a normal year.
Probably double it this year.

A grand little earner

McGowan in a nutshell

I’d say himself and Paul McGrath would be the two most loved Irish men to ever live.

How popular was Dermot Morgan?

Big enough I’d say. That funeral would have been in Dublin though.

Coming down to Tipperary for the mass today amplified this one.

There’s an earthiness about Tipp. I’d imagine it has a more youthful mass goer than most of the country. Similar to West Clare in that respect.

It’s already been established that lads on here are intimidated by Tipp women’s beauty and their snipers in Cooper helmets. Now it appears to extend to funeral etiquette.

Whatever about Mass-going young people (there’s been an uptick definitely in recent times), funerals are a really big deal in Tipperary and missing one you should be at, would be an absolute “no, no”.

I’m not sure that’s the case everywhere.