Or CPTV
I’ve watched a bit of this recorded from last night. Maybe it’s the way it’s put together but what a crock of absolute shite.
hes the greatast irish singer
Lyricist you mean surely?
waltzing maltilda
the guy is unreal, the best. cop on kidos
BBC iplayer
McGowan is a spoofer. Highly overrated.
nonsense best of the iriish He’s unreal
Paul Brady or Damien Dempsey are far superior ffs
I thought it was brilliant. It’s some story when you see it laid out like that. Growing up between a shebeen in Tipp and a council house in London. Parents break up, scholarship to a private school. A participant and a chronicler in the birth of punk. The Nips and then the beauty, lunacy and carnage that was The Pogues. Everything since seems a little tarnished and sad but that’s hardly surprising considering what came before. A tremendous story beautifully told.
He’s like Tommy Tiernan. It’s compulsory to think he’s great.
McGowan is a poet and a lyricist who could sit alongside any of them. I’m not sure he was a good singer but the songs suited his voice.
While he could sing that is. For you can’t deal with the genius without discussing the man, and the man is an alcoholic and an addict and one who has been tolerated as such by much too many over the years. And while it hasn’t put him in the early grave many including myself imagined it would, it may as well have given the shell he is over the past decade and more.
McGowans story is as much about addiction as it is about genius. An Irish curse of sorts.
Tommy Tiernan is an awful eejit
watch your manners
do you want to keep playing this silly game? your’re a bit of a tommy t yourelf