Shocking Animal Cruelty

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/1219/1229523100701.html

This is sick stuff. I though travellers were supposed to have an affinity with animals, particularly horses who served them well for so many years?

This is barbaric shit.

[quote=“dancarter”]http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/1219/1229523100701.html

This is sick stuff. I though travellers were supposed to have an affinity with animals, particularly horses who served them well for so many years?

This is barbaric shit.[/quote]

Savage stuff Dan
A bit of cruelty towards the perpetrators wouldn’t go astray

WBY

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]Savage stuff Dan
A bit of cruelty towards the perpetrators wouldn’t go astray

WBY[/quote]

Agreed. Anyone who could do this to an animal is no better than an animal themselves.

One may have a grievance with another human, hardly with a defenceless horse.

Don’t worry lads rocko will be on soon enough to stand up for the travellors an tell us we are the ones that are really in the wrong in this whole affair

Shit like this is sickening.

[quote=“dancarter”]
One may have a grievance with another human, hardly with a defenceless horse.[/quote]

I’m wary of dogs.

Attacking people when they show fear - yeah, real brave.

Was the victim of two unprovoked attacks when I was younger. 1982 and 1983.
Reported the first. Dog wasn’t put down.
Didn’t bother reporting the second but the same dog attacked someone else on the road a few weeks later.

I ended up with two permanent scars. Just learned to live with them as they’re only visible if I wear shorts.

Their older brother called round the following day and killed the dog with an axe in full view of its owners and their children. Three blows. Brutal but effective.

The owners attempted to press charges but I went to the Gardai and told them that the dog had bitten me too. So nothing came of it.

The situation probably sounds shocking and horrible but it’s important to remember that these were unprovoked attacks. I was bitten outside my own house by an unleashed dog. The second guy was bitten while walking to school about 200 yards from where the dog lived. It wasn’t as if either of us had trespassed or even walked past the house.

Ultimately the dog was the instigator / aggressor in this case and had to be punished i.e the fucker deserved it.

A dog bit me once and broke its teeth. I’m hard as nails you see.

I hate animal cruelty. Id actually kill someone if I saw em being cruel to a animal. I dont see how anyone can get a kick out of torturing animals. A group of young scumbags down here killed a cat a few weeks ago, slit its legs with a razor, burned its face with fag butts and put its body in the local vets with a sign beside it ‘free cat’. Sick bastards who think there comedians.

On the issue of travellers, A fella keeps horses in a field by my house, he has a traveller workin for em. He arrived down one day to take the pregnant mare off, I saw him comin in the lorry and put no pass on em, Then all I could hear was a horse going mad and someone shoutin,Looked out the window and saw him beating the shit out of the mare with a baseball bat, who was going mad with the pain. I went out and lost my temper and rang the ispca who sorted him out with a fine. Not that a fine will change the sick cunt.

I got bitten by a dog years ago and have a scar on my shin. Fucking hate dogs, but would agree that torturing animals isn’t big or clever generally speaking.

id say more likely the dog died a slow and painful foaming of the mouth death!

sure iv seen grown men use these animals in races, pure barbaric, lads up on the horses and whipping the shit out of them to go faster

cunts. pure and utter cunts.

thats nice talk from a young lady!

I hate animal cruelty!

The brother in law is a sheep farmer in Donegal. A nice fella, and good laugh to go for a few pints with but the man just doesn’t give a fuck.

A few years ago a couple of his sheep were killed by local dogs and he approached the owners and warned them that if he sees their dogs on his land that he’ll take the law into his own hands.

A couple of days later he spots one of the dogs chasing the sheep around the field so he heads home to fetch the shotgun. By the time he returns the dog is gone so he makes his way to the owner’s house baying for blood. When he arrives dog owner’s kids are out playing with the dog. Rover doesn’t like what he sees so so he attempts to make a quick getaway. Too little to late however and he gets a tail full of pellets. The kids look on in horror as their mut goes to doggy heaven

[quote=“Fran”]The brother in law is a sheep farmer in Donegal. A nice fella, and good laugh to go for a few pints with but the man just doesn’t give a fuck.

A few years ago a couple of his sheep were killed by local dogs and he approached the owners and warned them that if he sees their dogs on his land that he’ll take the law into his own hands.

A couple of days later he spots one of the dogs chasing the sheep around the field so he heads home to fetch the shotgun. By the time he returns the dog is gone so he makes his way to the owner’s house baying for blood. When he arrives dog owner’s kids are out playing with the dog. Rover doesn’t like what he sees so so he attempts to make a quick getaway. Too little to late however and he gets a tail full of pellets. The kids look on in horror as their mut goes to doggy heaven[/quote]

Why would anyone have a problem with that?

The dogs killed sheep. Presumably unprovoked.
They deserve a taste of their own medicine. Horrible bastards. And a shotgun blast is a quicker death that one they dished out to the poor sheep.

Don’t give me any of that ‘it’s their nature’ bullshit.

No problem with shooting dog troubling livestock on your land, but going down to the neighbours and shooting the animal in front of the kids, presumably on their property is fucking wrong, never mind illegal. I’d hospitalise the farmer if he did that in front of my kid.

It’s very unfortunate that the kids had to witness it - like the kids in my 1983 axe post - but I don’t have a difficulty with someone killing the animal on its owner property.

Having said that, I can’t see myself warming to the idea of getting a dog if either of my children want one when they get older. Cats are far more reliable and you get none of this aggressive power trip behaviour that dogs can have.

Bad owners make bad dogs, its as simple as that. Dogs are brilliant pets/companions if you put the time into them. The unfortunate incidents some of ye here have encountered i would put the blame totally at the owners door.