Ah he wouldnât
Inistioge publican Johnny (57) Johnny lived simply and gave generously
Dark clouds hang over Inistioge following the very sudden passing of the hugely popular Johnny OâDonnell of OâDonnellâs Bar (The Spots), Inistioge.
Ah he wouldnât
Oooooft.
Fair play to Ben. I knew a neighbor of his in Crecora who farmed along side him. Most lads wouldnât survive 11 shots of jagermeister never mind the bullets. An example of why more country lads are needed in the force.
Yer a nawful man Fagan
Historian John A. Murphy
He had a nice book on twentieth century Irish history which was one of the best of its type
He was very much a Redmondite and John Bruton type when it came to his reading of history. Met him before and he was a sound man, not a bit like the person youâd see on tv arguing a contrarian position. R.I.P.
Judge Peter Smithwick has died at the age of 85. A descendant of the famous brewing family he was President of the District Court for 17 years. He was living in Inistioge and itâs unclear whether he was acquainted with lapsed poster @THE_LINK_WALSH or the licensed premises known as The Spots.
Youâre a fair man for digging up the news around the country.
I had to Google âThe Spotsâ as the local pub there was called The Spotted Dog years ago. I was friendly and went to school with a lad whose father owned it back then. But he sold it around that time and I think it became known as the Castle Inn.
Anyway my search told me that it has since been taken over again by the son, my old friend Johnny OâDonnell. Unfortunately it was an obituary for Johnny where I read it. Only 57âŚ
A lovely obituary, if there ever is such a thing. RIP Johnny.
Dark clouds hang over Inistioge following the very sudden passing of the hugely popular Johnny OâDonnell of OâDonnellâs Bar (The Spots), Inistioge.
Iâm touched by the lovely obituary and offer my condolences on the loss of your old friend.
Iâve never been to Inistioge but we had a poster from there who regaled us with tales of nocturnal escapades in and around the Spots.
If I might point you in the direction of the thread âIâm off to Leinster House in the morningâ youâll get a flavour of the characters that frequented your late palâs hostelry.*
A gas man was The Link alright.
Mesef and around 20 die hard Fianna Fail heads from around my way are away to visit the Dail at 11am in the morning from outside the spots,ive never been in Leinster House so im looking forward to the visit.Bobby Aylward is our man for this job and hes promising a fun filled day of walking around the place and a few beers in the Dail bar,ill be amazed if we get into the Dail bar but they say its going to happen. Im a bit of an outsider on this trip as most going are signed up members/activists,âŚ
The Link and his brother were beside themselves with grief over Johnnyâs passing as were many in Inistioge, Iâm reliably informed.
A sad time for all down there when it should have been a better time.
Pete St John
Iâd say the writer of Fields of Athenry and Dublin in the Rare Old Times is a celebrity.
RIP
I beg to differ but anyway.
Iâm sure God will forgive him for The Fields of Athenry.
Magic,
âFor you stole Trevelyanâs corn, so your young might see the mornâ
Thanks farmer. Iâd say the forumites who have never heard the Fields of Athenry before will really appreciate you posting that.
There you are again with the snide comments.
Go fuck yourself.
The FOA is a grand song but it is clouded thanks to all the drunken butcherings in pubs & awful renderings in sports stadiums
RIP Pete St John
Ah youâre right. Itâs a fine song but much like Fairytale of New York, it suffers from its overexposure. Hardly poor oul Peteâs fault.