Six Nations 2009

Just thinking back through Welsh and Scot outhalves

Jones and Hook are decent defenders
Townsend, Patterson decent defenders but Dan Parks (not great)

I think its not true to say that outhalves are generally poor defenders, good outhalves can mind their own patch.

Looking at the way we defend, Wallace and Heaslip were supposed to defend the 10 channel with O Gara pushing out one. This was to nullify the threat of forwards running at OGara. I think its the thing that lets OGara down and stops him from being one of the world’s best.

WBY

Hook is a decent defender in fairness to him but Jones is poor enough, Paterson is probably as bad if not worse a defender than O Gara IMHO WBY…

Go away out of that Puke
Jones was well able to tackle
Paterson has played lots at full back- he might be shite but he can still tackle

WBY

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]Go away out of that Puke
Jones was well able to tackle
Paterson has played lots at full back- he might be shite but he can still tackle

WBY[/quote]

We will agree to differ, have seen Paterson been blown away a good few times defensively…

Superb match. I got far more of a kick out of today’s match than I did out of beating England two years ago. That’s the best Irish performance in years. France have always been our bogey.

Hook came across as a tosser in his post-match comments and I say that as a huge admirer of Munster and as someone who likes to poke fun at Leinster (I’m a Dub but it’s a class thing). The Leinster players stood up magnificently. Heaslip will never score a better try in his career.

We should certainly win our next two matches without much trouble. I have this nagging feeling though that Scotland at Murrayfield could be a banana skin. Traditionally we’ve always found it tough there and they should have beaten us two years ago. But what a chance to get to Cardiff with a 4 from 4 record now. Don’t think Wales will be going for a Grand Slam by then, France will beat them.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]9/2 the Grand Slam, could be worth a few bob, we should definietly expect to win the 3 games between now and Wales anyway.

Thought Hookie’s comment about Ireland being “powered by Munster” was extremely disinginuous in the context of some of the individual performances today.[/quote]

Have to agree here. The leinster boys were the main men. Heaslip performed to his equivlant potential that he showed at the other grades. To move up from somewhat average (for him) Leinster performances to outgunning the French is impressive on its own. I’m slightly embarrassed with my worries on Heaslip, O’ Driscoll and D’Arcy. The two centres looked slimmer than in recent times, maybe it was the jersey or something, but they both looked 3 years younger. Kudos.

Agree with Bandage on O’ Gara, some excellent passing, but poor game management and kicking. One thing this game showed is that we have the ability to play flatter if we want, Ireland can mix the style of play and we don’t have to have O’ Gara playing at 100%.
Special mention for Luke Fitzgerald and John Hayes, opposite ends of their careers, but both tackled like they weren’t ever going to play again. O’ Driscoll is going onto another level for making big tackles and was very unlucky more than once not to rip balls off the French, but he slowed ball very well.
Kearney has gone ahead of Lee Byrne until at least tomorrow for Lions full back spot. Could be some battle for that position.
Thought they could have brought Stringer on with about 15 to go, even though Tomas done well for D’Arcy try.

Great game, excellent performance from Ireland.

Far from convinced about England, gifted a few trys and Italy are crap. Would expect to beat them both handish.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]What a load of shite. Reminds me of what people used to say about Paul Scholes - ah sure he can’t tackle but he is still a class midfielder.
O’Gara’s inability to tackle means that he is less of a player. Wilkinson was a 10 as well and was a monster in the tackle.[/quote]

One of the best players of his generation. What the fuck are you on about? Your comparision actually made O’ Gara look better to me.

Read the fucking post - it is pefectly clear.

Couldn’t care less if you agree or not.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Read the fucking post - it is pefectly clear.

Couldn’t care less if you agree or not.[/quote]

Whats clear is yo compared O’ gara to Paul Scholes. I’d say thats a very favourable comparision.
Zidane wasn’t a great tackler either.

I don’t think anyone can question O’ Garas commitment, he’s just a shit tackler and is quite small compared to alot of his fellow professionals. Not much he can do about that.
He wasn’t fantastic today, but some guys love an easy cheap pop at O’ Gara.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Whats clear is yo compared O’ gara to Paul Scholes. I’d say thats a very favourable comparision.
Zidane wasn’t a great tackler either.

I don’t think anyone can question O’ Garas commitment, he’s just a shit tackler and is quite small compared to alot of his fellow professionals. Not much he can do about that.
He wasn’t fantastic today, but some guys love an easy cheap pop at O’ Gara.[/quote]

The essential point really. When you have a Frog three of four stone heavier then you bearing then at you full speed, tackling technique is largely irrelevent.

who was the Irish player wilkinson picked up and just dumped on the ground in Lansdowne the time England stood in the wrong place for the national anthems?..can’t remember who it was but wilkinson fcukin threw him around like a rag doll…

would that not be when technique is most relevant?..because your not going to bring him down with strength…

Was it O’ Gara? Could have been alot of guys though, he’s a bit of an animal.

Thing is though Johnny fucked his own career because of his crazy tackling.

Your right here. But this is a result of Irish schools rugby. The out half is so protected in the Schools cups that he is bred to not tackle or get used to contact.

i’m posting this without having read other posts. A certain cork poster ridiculed my biasness when i selected my team a few weeks back with heaslip at 8. All i’ll say kev is that u were wrong and i was right. The man was a class above anyone else today. Twas brilliant to see 3 leinster players scoring tries but if we continue to kick ball up the middle we’ll get riddled. Half backs weren’t great today. D Wallace was anonymous for a change. First time that i can remember an ireland game where not a single munster player stood out. Completely outshone by the pale players. Also can’t believe heaslip was born in israel!

No lack of guts in fairness.

He is just too small, 16 stone hits 13 stone at pace there will normally be just one result

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]What a load of shite. Reminds me of what people used to say about Paul Scholes - ah sure he can’t tackle but he is still a class midfielder.

O’Gara’s inability to tackle means that he is less of a player. Wilkinson was a 10 as well and was a monster in the tackle.[/quote]

Yep, Wilkinson knew how to put it about alright. Thats why is so respected by his peers.

Ended up costing him his career though. He would have been better off minding himself a bit. He had, what Giles would have called, moral courage

The same Paterson you were picking for the Lions a few weeks ago? :smiley:

Jesus that was a great game.

A Leinster tour de force, Heaslip was power charged. He made more ground from the back of the scrum than any other player I have seen, new rules were made for him. Thought myself it was a marginal call but he is in pole position now.

Great to see BOD and darce on the scoresheet. Vintage BOD for his try, some great tackling.

Scotland can do us a big favour now

Scrum half is a very hard position to play. It was a crazy decision. Even very good backs would have struggled to slot in at 9, at any level, let alone international standard.

I would be confident I would have done better myself, and thats not saying much