Six Nations 2009

I believe you did read my post but just wanted to have a pop, but i suppose leinster get so little to have a real pop at Munster i’ll let you have it. I said it was a Leinster powered vistory.
But then you go and ruin your moment of glory with a ridiculous comment that i highlighted above.Your rugby cred is gone back down again Mac, because of your bias. The whole MUnster front 5 had very good games, with O’ Connell, Horan and Hayes standing out. Your inability to see a forwards performance and just see the open play performaces of a No. 8 and of the backs shows exactly what you are Mac, a sunshine supporter.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I believe you did read my post but just wanted to have a pop, but i suppose leinster get so little to have a real pop at Munster i’ll let you have it. I said it was a Leinster powered vistory.
But then you go and ruin your moment of glory with a ridiculous comment that i highlighted above.Your rugby cred is gone back down again Mac, because of your bias. The whole MUnster front 5 had very good games, with O’ Connell, Horan and Hayes standing out. Your inability to see a forwards performance and just see the open play performaces of a No. 8 and of the backs shows exactly what you are Mac, a sunshine supporter.[/quote]

Jesus lad, I thought you understood sarcasm.

Your post didn’t indicate that whatsoever. In fact you stated you hadn’t read the other posts. So wha da feck are you on about. I read it again, even after you saying it was sarcatic, and no i don’t get it.

It would have been sarcastic if you came out and said Heaslip was shit and i was right about wanting the in-form Leamy in instead. And the Munster players saved our bacon, or something along those lines. But you didn’t, you instead stated the obvious about the Leinster players performance.

So i believe your back tracking.

[quote=“dancarter”]No lack of guts in fairness.

He is just too small, 16 stone hits 13 stone at pace there will normally be just one result[/quote]

Dan

That’s too easy an excuse Dan. At that rate of going Strings wouldn’t have bothered lacing up his boots. You don’t expect OGara to dump a guy but you don’t want him to let fellows run over him. His tackling is v poor, he just tries to go with the fellows momentum and drag him down. There seems to be v little taking the tackle on his terms. No forward momentum from him into the tackle.

Dan, IMHO Wilkinson’s tackling was part of who he was, he approched it the same way he did everything else, at 110% intensity. I don’t think he is/was capable of rolling back on one element of his game and leaving the other parts at a high level

One thing that really annoyed me yesterday was the stupid music that they kept playing after we scored a try. Very fucking annoying.

WBY

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Your post didn’t indicate that whatsoever. In fact you stated you hadn’t read the other posts. So wha da feck are you on about. I read it again, even after you saying it was sarcatic, and no i don’t get it.

It would have been sarcastic if you came out and said Heaslip was shit and i was right about wanting the in-form Leamy in instead. And the Munster players saved our bacon, or something along those lines. But you didn’t, you instead stated the obvious about the Leinster players performance.

So i believe your back tracking.[/quote]

I was having a pop at you and at the other Munster supporters who tend to usually talk about Munster carrying the Irish team forward. You also said I was picking Heaslip due to a Leinster bias there a few pages back. Maybe sarcasm is the wrong word but I think I’m still a bit drunk from last night.

Usually when Ireland play well there will be stand out performances from at least one Munster player. The front 5 were decent last night. O’Connell mopped up a lot of line out ball and put in a fair amount of tackles as did Hayes but the other 3 weren’t at that level. Wallace has been a stand out player in every game he’s played this season but seemed very quiet last night and for a change was outshone by a Leinster back row.

O’Leary and O’Gara were either under instruction to kick pointless ball up the middle or else both were taking the piss but both their kicking was below par. And TOL must’ve been under instruction to keep playing slow ball which annoyed the fuck out of everyone. The few times we played quick ball we either scored tries or really threatened.

O’Garas tackling was shocking and it meant that a poor French team were still in the game until Darcys try. I counted at least 3 or 4 times where the French made the bones of 60 yards because of missed tackles.

And for your future reference, posts made by me at 4.35am will usually contain a hint of a wind up.

;)Reference noted. Didn’t take any notice of time.

Correct on O’ Gara and O’ Leary, thought Stringer was needed on though to kill game.
On a normal day O’ Connell would have been battling for MOTM, with about 4 others Kearney, O’ Driscoll, Fitzgerald and Hayes. But Heaslip was well out on his own. It was a performance for the ages. Hayes defies logic with the way he plays. I think what Hook was getting at with the Munster thing was that the front 5 played like they do for Munster, the lineout was like it was a couple of years ago, almost perfect, and Ireland attacked very well from it. Even the Leinster boys out the back will tell you its all down to quick ball.

There werer so many pleasing things.

1. The defending when under the cosh.
  2. Not panicing when things weren’t going well, O’ Leary getting called for the slow put in, same with Flannery.
  3. To be ahead of France after being battered for 30 mins of opening half. That would normally be the other way around.
  4. The line outs.
  5. O’ driscoll looking like a Lions captain again.
  6. The slick and innovative back moves.
  7. Jamie Heaslip. Played like a South African at their best.
  8. The bench and the way it was used.
  9. Declan Kidney, his managment, and his grin after the game. His ability to get the best out of players shines through again. I’m sure leinster have alot to do with it, but he must have given D’Arcy and O’Drscoll some extra faith in some way. They were hopping yesterday. Cotton wool now for a few days please. Their conditioning seemed to be better yesterday than it has been for a good while.

kev seething again it seems

Morning NCC. Hope all is well boy.

I’m not prepared to buy into any kind of Grand Slam talk. Far too premature.

I was in the Upper Hogan and there was a shit load of French there. I was really surprised by their numbers. They made a decent racket as well.

Kearney was excellent but made a terrible mistake for France’s second try. He had no business coming for a Garryowen that was dropping very short. He sprinted out to catch it and completely missed it and it bounced around into Harinordoquy’s hands and the middle of the pitch was without a full back.

It was an excellent victory, Heaslip’s try was a wonderful team try. His step was majestic. Great to see Driscoll score too. Better again to see him score in traditional Driscoll fashion.

One of the better games that I have seen in the last few years. Still too much aimless kicking and overuse of the Garryowen but not as bad as the Argentina game which was very tedious.

I just don’t know what we learned in the context of the tournament as a whole. A largely experimental French side rattled us at times. As Mac said 3 or 4 times France broke free from a missed tackle and gained huge yardage. How good are France? That’s my biggest question.

good afternoon Kev

Indeed, it is the afternoon.
Off to training for me now. Cork hurlers then, its going to be a cold afternoon.

A few observations from Mick.

1. O’Driscoll is a savage, one of the best players I’ve ever seen and I’m nearly 50. Munster muck savages knocking him over the past few years, watch him play the game ye fuckers.
  2. Rugby commentators / pundits by a large a shower of tossers. Hook and McGurk anyone? Tony fucking Ward and some knob on RTE2 radio this morning… fuck off.
  3. How the fuck does the Bull keep going?
  4. Recession is now over after winning a rugby match. Eamonn, there was no need to cry after all.
  5. Ireland will probably fuck up a game yet, though if they keep winning then Leinster may beat Harlequins and Munster will probably win the HC again.
  6. Kidney and Heaslip both came across as fairly sound skins in interviews.
  7. If we fuck up v Georgia on Wednesday, is the recession back on?

O’Gara too small to tackle?
FFS. How is it that someone like say Darcy about 5 foot 6 or so is well able to tackle a lad?
And Humphries was an alright tackler-often remember him on the edge of offside taking a lad out of it as he just received the ball.

Someone said there also that he can’t be excellent all the time?
IT’s been quite a while now since he’s done the business for Ireland whatever’s up with him.

To say “ah he wasn’t great alright but his passing was excellent” is funny to me too. Passing should come naturally to a player in his position.
Be like saying Ronaldo’s good at making the ball move with his foot, or Phil Taylor is good at hitting the dartboard.

Simon Webster just made a thunderous tackle on Martin Williams. Webster came out the worst and looked to be knocked out as he fell to the ground. Still playing on though he appears to be out of it.
10 minutes gone in this game and it’s riddled with mistakes. Wales applying all the pressure so far.

That was a fairly sickening looking injury alright, don’t blame the ref for ordering him off.

I have backed Wales -5 here, hopefully they keep the pressure up.

That will do nicely.

Cross was some tard there. Obvious yellow card and gets himself ktfo in the process.

[quote=“Pikeman”]O’Gara too small to tackle?
FFS. How is it that someone like say Darcy about 5 foot 6 or so is well able to tackle a lad?
And Humphries was an alright tackler-often remember him on the edge of offside taking a lad out of it as he just received the ball.

Someone said there also that he can’t be excellent all the time?
IT’s been quite a while now since he’s done the business for Ireland whatever’s up with him.

To say “ah he wasn’t great alright but his passing was excellent” is funny to me too. Passing should come naturally to a player in his position.
Be like saying Ronaldo’s good at making the ball move with his foot, or Phil Taylor is good at hitting the dartboard.[/quote]

Look O’ Gara should tackle better,. no doubt about that. But i do know he can’t really put on the weight that other guys have, so he is at a slight disadvantage. His technique should be better though, no doubt.

re: ireland v france, simple details such as the correct players playing in their best positions.

Just a quick observation after reading through the posts here.

Disappointing that after a great result like yesterday, people need to break it down the Munster/Leinster thing.

Ireland won, it was an Irish team, it was 15 and more men from this island standing up for their jersey and their tradition.

Munster/Leinster didnt come into it yesterday. Lot of people obsessed with the provincial thing, yet not much mention of some great contributions made yesterday by Ferris, Bowe and to give Wallace his dues, he never shirked a tackle.

An Irish win.

In Kidney we trust.