Six Nations 2009

I could bring that odious Irelands Call into it but I won’t.

Is it true Munster never lost a match when yer man Owens was reffing? Is it true that he reffed the H-Cup final last year? A Fix.

An old, old wooden ship that was used during the civil war era.

Thanks for the help WTB but I don’t think that’s what Thornley was on about

France make four changes for Scotland
Tuesday, 10 February 2009 10:05

France have made four changes to the team which started last weekend’s defeat against Ireland for Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations match against Scotland in Paris.

Julien Malzieu makes way for Cedric Heymans on the left wing in the only change in the backs.

Fabien Barcella, Nicolas Mas and Romain Millo-Chluski come in for Lionel Faure, Benoit Lecouls and Sebastien Chabal in the pack.

Toulouse prop Lecouls suffered a recurrence of a neck injury against Ireland and dropped out of the squad on Sunday.

His replacement, Dax’s Renaud Boyoud, is named on the bench, with Sale prop Faure dropping out of the 22 altogether.

Centre Florian Fritz has been cited for allegedly eye-gauging an Ireland player, thought to be Stephen Ferris, at Croke Park on Saturday and will appear before a Six Nations disciplinary committee in London tomorrow.

He nevertheless makes the starting line-up and is one of five Toulouse players in the back-line.

Chabal, whose work-rate was criticised in Les Bleus’ 30-21 defeat to Ireland, drops to the bench and will be used as an impact substitute for the second row.

France team to play Scotland in Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations match against in Paris: Clement Poitrenaud; Maxime Medard, Florian Fritz, Yannick Jauzion, Cedric Heymans; Lionel Beauxis, Sebastien Tillous-Borde; Fabien Barcella, Dimitri Szarzewski, Nicolas Mas, Lionel Nallet, Romain Millo-Chluski, Thierry Dusautoir, Fulgence Ouedraogo, Imanol Harinordoquy

[quote=“treaty_exile”]Reminded of that myself, carbon copy of his try against Argentina.
Well spotted Bandage, all that time at Dan’s heel is paying off.[/quote]

There was a definite hidden agenda and anti-O’Driscoll whispering campign being built up over the past while. People were trying to airbrush some prime examples of his greatness from history. ‘He hasn’t done anything in years’. ‘He hasn’t done anything since before the Lions tour in 2005’. It disgusted me.

I recall some interview he did last year where he proclaimed a fondness for chocolate of all things, BOD is a legend though and im delighted to see he’s overcome his addiction and shifted the weight he’s been carrying round the last few years.
His country needs him.

Might as well mention this here…

Kevin ‘crash ball’ Maggs has announced his retirement from the sport, hard to believe that he got 70 odd caps for Ireland, presume his last game for Ireland was against France when Darcy took centre stage in 2004

The Munster pack has been humiliated time and time again at international level. Truly, does anyone think that Flannery, Hayes and Horan are International Test class? O’Callaghan is nothing more than an honest toiler, and O’Connell is risibly over-rated. Furthermore, as Stephen Jones intimated recently, David Wallace is not rated at all as an open-side specialist, most notably by his opposite numbers.

Get your coat Billy, school boy error using Steven Jones as a source…the man has no credability left and is a bigger mouth peice than Hook and McGurk put together…

Good man Billy / Hugo / Evo / whoever else you want to be. Dan will be along in a while to pick up where he left off with you a few months ago.

Not sure if this was posted already or not as have lost track of some of the threads on here altogether. Good to see Darcy back anyway.

D’Arcy reveals his relief after try

Gordon D’Arcy revealed he greeted his try in Saturday’s 30-21 RBS 6 Nations victory over France as the end of a difficult year.

D’Arcy marked his first Test appearance since breaking his arm in the opening game of last year’s championship with the decisive final touchdown at Croke Park.

His comeback from the injury was delayed by complications and the way he was mobbed by he team-mates after piercing the French defence spoke volumes for his popularity.

‘There was absolute elation when I scored,’ said the midfielder, who started the match on the bench.

‘When you have had a period that has not gone your way then when you do get a break and things do start happening for you, you have to embrace them and enjoy them as well.’

D’Arcy came on as a blood replacement for inside centre Paddy Wallace in the first half and then emerged as a permanent substitution in the 63rd minute. Three minutes later he scored.

‘(Coach) Declan Kidney put a lot on the line by selecting me because I’ve not played much rugby,’ said D’Arcy. ‘It’s a pity he selected O’Gara as he was shite.’

‘Rugby is all about chances and need to take them when you get them because they can pass you by. The game unfortunately passed ROG by and some of his tackling was embarrassing.’

'Look at Rob Kearney - he took his chance last year and look what a player he is now. I can only take the chances that are in front of me.

'There are no guarantees. Paddy played absolutely fantastically until he got a knock on the head. So whatever happens I’m happy with my progress from a long injury.

‘I’m not taking anything for granted and just enjoying every game as it comes.’

D’Arcy jinked his way over from eight yards out for the score that ultimately ended France’s fightback.

‘We had done a bit of homework on them and in their 22 we wanted to suck them in,’ he said. 'I managed to get a one on one with a forward and I think the big thing is that we converted the try because we had about six or seven phases before that.

‘That’s the kind of stuff in the last 18 months that we have not put away. I don’t get many tries. I’ve not scored that many in the last two years so it was nice to get.’

The victory has significantly shortened Ireland’s odds of winning the Six Nations but D’Arcy refuses to get carried away.

‘It was great to win against France but there is still a lot to go in the performance factor,’ he said. ‘And ROG really needs to start firing on all cylinders as it’s been quite a while now since he’s performed for us.’

Quoting Stephen Jones?

Good to have you back Evo!

good man D’Arcy. about time someone told the San Diegan rebel to get the finger out.

FFS, Stephen Jones. Any chance youd root out the piece where he claimed Henson was the best player, not int he Ospreys, not in Wales, but in Europe.

I could do with some belly laughs today.

Good to see you Evo, now as Flano would say, Fuck right off

Controversial enough out of Darce :stuck_out_tongue:

Yeah I posted that up a few pages ago alright Mac but no one paid attention to what D’Arcy had to say about ROG unfortunately.

What the fuck lads?
Nice try at a WUM there.

Get it? Try? [coughing noises]

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/sixnations/2009/0209/darcy.html

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]What the fuck lads?
Nice try at a WUM there.

Get it? Try? [coughing noises]

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/sixnations/2009/0209/darcy.html[/quote]

Feckin RTE. They edit everything down.

Bunch of jokers. McGurk has a lot to answer for.

Billy, don’t mind dancarter at all - he reacts badly when posters avoid the tendency to fawn over risibly over-rated Munster born players.