Six Nations 2009

Lord jaysus, horse you’re dead right. Tis fair fuckin risible.

[quote=“dancarter”]terrible team.

Gas gone for power over panache! If Jamie Noon is panache them Im a fucking mexican.

Droppinig Foden for Hodgson? Hodgson played no game last week but has still leapfrogged the great English hope? That makes no sense?

tait and flood on the bench and he cant find room for Cipriani? Who would cover from 10-15?

Flutey/Sheridan the only two that would get in the irish team, at a push.

Keep it up Johnno, after years of fucking killing us your finally giving it a bit back to the rest of the 6 nations[/quote]

This is the key Dan
Hopefully Johnno won’t have realised his mistakes by the time we play the Sasannachs.
You could see a situation though where Cipriani makes it onto the team just in time to wipe our eyes in Croker. I know he’s flash but he’s such a seriously talented lad that if he had the inclination he could practically beat with limited support from the other planks

WBY

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]This is the key Dan
Hopefully Johnno won’t have realised his mistakes by the time we play the Sasannachs.
You could see a situation though where Cipriani makes it onto the team just in time to wipe our eyes in Croker. I know he’s flash but he’s such a seriously talented lad that if he had the inclination he could practically beat with limited support from the other planks

WBY[/quote]

Do ye really rate him that highly. Personally he has alot more to do to convince me.He certainly wouldn’t beat that irish team of last saturday on his own. He does have talent, but he struggles in the Premership at times. Hardly JW or DC standard.
Johnson is the prototype for great player not being great manager…so far!!!

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Do ye really rate him that highly. Personally he has alot more to do to convince me.He certainly wouldn’t beat that irish team of last saturday on his own. He does have talent, but he struggles in the Premership at times. Hardly JW or DC standard.
Johnson is the prototype for great player not being great manager…so far!!![/quote]

I do ya to be honest. Iv seen him coming through for a good few years, he was a talking horse as they say, played a couple of U19 world cups.

The lad is 21, and has only recently recovered from a serious injury. Going through the old difficult second season (more like his third though you know what I mean).

He can do things on the pitch most can only dream about, his pace is frightening, he is big, great vision and is generally a good kicker.

For some reason his ability to kick the ball seems to have deserted him in the last few months and this has had a ridiculous knock on effect on the rest of his game. He doesnt go hiding though. Even when Leinster whopped Wasps he played well, he played well in Thomond last year in terrible conditions, where many many more experienced 10s have crumbled.

He destroyed Ireland last year in Twickenham having been dropped for disciplinary reasons for the previous match. Dont know if you remember Wasps V Clermont in Wasps home leg last year, he played as well as anyone Iv ever seen in the first half, absolutely ripped Clermont apart.

I think he is outrageously talented. Hes not in JW/DC class yet, but he has never played in a team as dominant as either of them, both played in the best team in the world at the height of there games.

I think its nuts not having him in the squad. Id give him a couple of games at full back for his club to get his mojo back and then unleash him again. Not in Irelands interest I know to have him playing but he is one player I would go out of my way to pay to see.

[quote=“dancarter”]I do ya to be honest. Iv seen him coming through for a good few years, he was a talking horse as they say, played a couple of U19 world cups.

The lad is 21, and has only recently recovered from a serious injury. Going through the old difficult second season (more like his third though you know what I mean).

He can do things on the pitch most can only dream about, his pace is frightening, he is big, great vision and is generally a good kicker.

For some reason his ability to kick the ball seems to have deserted him in the last few months and this has had a ridiculous knock on effect on the rest of his game. He doesnt go hiding though. Even when Leinster whopped Wasps he played well, he played well in Thomond last year in terrible conditions, where many many more experienced 10s have crumbled.

He destroyed Ireland last year in Twickenham having been dropped for disciplinary reasons for the previous match. Dont know if you remember Wasps V Clermont in Wasps home leg last year, he played as well as anyone Iv ever seen in the first half, absolutely ripped Clermont apart.

I think he is outrageously talented. Hes not in JW/DC class yet, but he has never played in a team as dominant as either of them, both played in the best team in the world at the height of there games.

I think its nuts not having him in the squad. Id give him a couple of games at full back for his club to get his mojo back and then unleash him again. Not in Irelands interest I know to have him playing but he is one player I would go out of my way to pay to see.[/quote]

I’m with Dan on this one. He’s a truly truly top class player. That Irl/Eng match last year would have been funny if we hadn’t been playing. Was it his second cap? Him vs O’Gara and Cipriani took him to school. If you’d been told O Gara had two caps and Cipriani had been playing for years you would have believed it.
He’s doing the going slightly off the rails piece at the moment- Kelly Brook, the trans-sexual and one of the cheeky girls. When he gets his head down again he’ll be a world beater.

WBY

Cool, i wouldn’t have seen as much as you. I do remember the Irish game unfortunately. He was brilliant that day.
Maybe i’m just super wary of all the Sky sports shite as well. But if he doesn’t get it together before the end of the season i would genuinely worry for him.

I don’t think he’s all that to be honest. Decent player, good potential, played well against Ireland on a day when we were truly brutal and he was very good, not outstanding. I’d still have him in the English squad because they’ve fuck all else but I don’t think he’s all that special at the moment.

Cipriani seems to have taken his eye off the last while…as previously mentioned his kicks have been blocked more times than the apprentice boy’s march …You’d worry for a fella that keeps making the same mistake time and again…it could suggest he’s all coaching and struggles to think for himself?..

Thats an interesting point. I would have thought the exact opposite of him though, that it was all instinct and maybe he was uncoachable.

Same team picked again anyway. Same bench too.

Good stuff. No reason to change anything imo.

[quote=“dancarter”]FFS, Stephen Jones. Any chance youd root out the piece where he claimed Henson was the best player, not int he Ospreys, not in Wales, but in Europe.

I could do with some belly laughs today.

Good to see you Evo, now as Flano would say, Fuck right off[/quote]

Is this the same Stephen “Grand Slam” Jones from last year?

The same chap what ran rings around ogara and crew in Croker last year?

Roll on Cardiff…Wales have a proper Rugby tradition and will beat Ireland by 20.

[quote=“tipptops*”]Is this the same Stephen “Grand Slam” Jones from last year?

Roll on Cardiff…Wales have a proper Rugby tradition and will beat Ireland by 20.[/quote]

Out of your depth here Tipptops, move slowly backwards!

[quote=“tipptops*”]Is this the same Stephen “Grand Slam” Jones from last year?

Roll on Cardiff…Wales have a proper Rugby tradition and will beat Ireland by 20.[/quote]

Su - FUCKING - perb.

I hope tipptops* monumental fook up here won’t be held against those of us, like me, who make valid criticisms of Munster Rugby on an ad hoc basis.

How many Grand Slams have “Ireland” won?

To be fair to Tipptopps he holds it against all rugby in Ireland, not just the mighty men of Munster.

I couldnt give a fuckin rats, now stop trying to change the subject!

I hope so too Bandage son. :rolleyes:

I’m just lazy, bitter and twisted.

As an avid sports watcher, I have to admit to having watched a serious amount af different codes down the years.

In Smugby, Georgia '07 was the one that got away. Georgia were 6 inches away from burying that fucking sport in this Country for once and for all.