Six Nations 2009

Apologies Puke, I was taking some misinformed eejit over on Boards ie at his word. Care is indeed in the senior squad. :smiley:

Tis alright Turenne sure we all make mistakes

[quote=“dancarter”]Quick edit there of the Alan Ruddock Puke :smiley:

Their mother is Irish, hadnt thought of the other angle but that may well be the case.

I saw one of them playing for Ireland before, might be wrong about this but pretty sure the other fella has played for Wales underage before, would be a good coup to rob a player off the taffs.

David Kearney is Robs brother alright, was a star schools player last year, the bulb off hisolder brother. A full back as well. Doubt Sexton is any relation as he plays for Old Belvo, his brother is St Marys, northside southside divide is hardly conquered at that young age!

Of the other backs I have seen a lot of Conor Murray the scrum half, he played senior with the Coookies last season and was the driving force behind them being promoted, quality player, will defo have a munster contract within a few years. Hardy as fuck as well, as youd expect from a Cookie scrum half.

Andrew Burke is supposed to be very good too, cant say Iv seen him playing too often, once maybe in a schools game.[/quote]

SExton is no relation to Johnno-
This Sexton was the captain of the mighty victorious SCT winning team of Belvedere College SJ. An flanker/hooker. He’ll end up as hooker though because he’s not big enough for back row.

Kearney will be lucky to be fullback as the other star of that Belvo team is Michael Keating who was I believe Irish schools fullback last year. A truly class act at school’s level.

Think the Ruddock’s played for us last year already.

WBY

Ciaran was playing last year for Ireland, Rhys was playing for Wales U-18.

Kidney names his team today lads, who d’ya think is gonna make it:

My team would be

Kearney
Bowe, O’Driscoll, Fitzgerald, Earls
O’Gara, O’Leary,
Wallace, Heaslip, Ferris
O’Connell, O’Callaghan
Horan, Best, Hayes

but I think he’ll pick something like:

Kearney
Horgan, O’Driscoll, Fitzgerald, Bowe
O’Gara, O’Leary
Wallace, Leamy, Ferris
O’Connell, O’Callaghan
Horan, Flanney, Hayes

I’d like to see Paddy Wallace start at 12.

There, I fucking well said it.

My team would be

Kearney
Fitzgerald, BOD, Wallace, Bowe
ROG, TOL,
Wallace, Leamy, Ferris,
POC, DOC,
Horan, Flann, Bull.

I think he’ll start Best though, and fair enough, not much between them these days. He could do anything with the wings, not much between Fitz or Earls.

You know what, I think I’d agree with you MBB - Wallace is the best 12 in the country at this stage. The sports media said he has 3 big calls to make at 2, 6 and 8 and ignored the backs!

Exactly, Wallace is the best out and out 12 we have at the moment, he survived the Caketin, I think he deserves a shout. Considering Kidney had him at 12 for the U19 WC win, I’d like think he has a soft spot for him still.

Ferris has to start at 6, Heaslips form has been poor this year, but Leamy’s only just back, its a 50/50 call, whichever he goes with, I’ll have no truck with. Same goes for no 2.

Cant believe there’s no debate about our backline considering how much some players have gone off the boil, and how good our young players seem to be.

Surely there is no call at 6, Ferris is tha man in form, cant see that being anything other than Ferris.

I think he will pick Munster pack + Ferris

TOL
ROG

wings
Horgan/Darcy
Bowe

centre

BOD
Fitz

FB
Kearney

I agree with ye both, Id pick Wallace and BOD in the centres, failing that BOD and Bowe, or BOD and Earls. Dont think Fitz has impressed there, taking him out of centre would allow him to be includedon wing where he would make a big impact

If Shane Horgan is picked on the wing I will have no faith in Kidney any more. He’s shown nothing this season. Mark McCrea, in one game delivered more than Horgan has this season. Cant believe there’s people saying Darcy should start in the centre too. Unless he’s showing something major in training he should be sent down to the A squad to get some game time.

[quote=“Mac”]Kidney names his team today lads, who d’ya think is gonna make it:

My team would be

Kearney
O’Gara, O’Leary,
Wallace, Heaslip, Ferris
O’Connell, O’Callaghan
Horan, Best, Hayes

but I think he’ll pick something like:

Kearney
Horgan, O’Driscoll, Fitzgerald, Bowe
O’Gara, O’Leary
Wallace, Leamy, Ferris
O’Connell, O’Callaghan
Horan, Flanney, Hayes[/quote]

The picking of Heaslip shows up your bias Mac, he hasn’t been playing well, and Leamy has. Both at their best there is nothing in it. Flannery is also playing much better this season, again with both playing well there is nothing in it, but either are great guys to bring on with 25 to go.
If DK picks Shane Horgan i will have lost all faith in him, despite everything he has achieved. It will be very clear to me then that DK is no longer his own man and is bowing to pressure from outside influences, and is more interested in not falling out with Leinster than picking the best Irish team at the moment.
My team would be.
Kearney
O’Gara, O’Leary,
Wallace, Leamy, Ferris
O’Connell, O’Callaghan
Horan, Flannery, Hayes

Paddy Wallace may be playing well lads, but that is HC and ML, its another huge step up, and apart from one game in last couple of years i can’t remember PW being up to it.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]The picking of Heaslip shows up your bias Mac, he hasn’t been playing well, and Leamy has. Both at their best there is nothing in it. Flannery is also playing much better this season, again with both playing well there is nothing in it, but either are great guys to bring on with 25 to go.

I don’t think so Caoimhaoin. You could say your arguement shows up your bias! Leamy has been out injured for most of the season. He’s only just back recently and I think its a big ask of him to come into an International match like this on the back of so little game time this season. Heaslips form hasn’t been great but I still think he’s the best natural number 8 in the country. If Leamy was to be picked I’d prefer to see him at 6 with Wallace or Ferris at 8/7 in whatever order suits.

And its not biased to say but I think that if both are playing at their best then Heaslip is in a different class to Leamy. The problem is that he hasn’t been producing it this season and when he has done it he’s been let down by those around him.

Did he not star at 12 in the tour down under last summer?

Ah he did well on the summer tour to be fair. Hes worth a go anyways.

Fucking awesome French team, wasnt expecting it to be thiis strong!!

France: Clement Poitrenaud (Toulouse); Julien Malzieu (Clermont-Auvergne), Florian Fritz, Yannick Jauzion, Maxime Medard (all Toulouse); Lionel Beauxis (Stade Francais), Sebastien Tillous-Borde (Castres); Lionel Faure (Sale), Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Francais), Benoit Lecouls (Toulouse), Sebastien Chabal (Sale), Lionel Nallet (Castres, capt), Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse), Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier), Imanol Harinordoquy (Biarritz).

Replacements: Benjamin Kayser (Leicester), Nicolas Mas (Perpignan), Romain Millo-Chluski (Toulouse), Louis Picamoles (Montpellier), Morgan Parra (Bourgoin), Benoit Baby (Clermont-Auvergne), Cedric Heymans (Toulouse).

Lads I would not be one bit surprised to see Kearney on the left wing due to ourlack of options on the wing…I hope he is picked at full back but I reckon he could well give Geordan Murphy the full back slot…Earls will start in the centre if fit…

Scored the only try against New Zealand if I remember correctly (pikeipedia)

[quote=“Mac”]I don’t think so Caoimhaoin. You could say your arguement shows up your bias! Leamy has been out injured for most of the season. He’s only just back recently and I think its a big ask of him to come into an International match like this on the back of so little game time this season. Heaslips form hasn’t been great but I still think he’s the best natural number 8 in the country. If Leamy was to be picked I’d prefer to see him at 6 with Wallace or Ferris at 8/7 in whatever order suits.

And its not biased to say but I think that if both are playing at their best then Heaslip is in a different class to Leamy. The problem is that he hasn’t been producing it this season and when he has done it he’s been let down by those around him.[/quote]

:D:D:D
Heaslip is a talent, i’m not going to say anything but. But different class to Leamy? Wha the fuck??? Doing something at Schools or U-21, ML and actually doing it in HC finals, big games over a number of years is a different thing. What Heaslip has is athleticism and skill Leamy has in agression and toughness, both physical and mental. Heaslip can go missing.
You could call me bias on the Flannery call, as i think its so close, but just to keep the Munster front 5 would be the way to go IMO, but wouldn’t blink twice at Best being in there.

Despite all the banging on about it, Leinster (from an Irish point of view) haven’t really made any progress with their pack, as Heaslip is really the only one really near top International standard, and he hasn’t even being showing that of late.
I think Kidney will probably pick Heaslip and Best though.

England picked Andy Goode? I know he’s scoring well in France, but what a step backward IMO. Martin Johnson doesn’t seem to be going very well so far. I think all going well we could hockey them again.

[quote=“dancarter”]Ah he did well on the summer tour to be fair. Hes worth a go anyways.

Fucking awesome French team, wasnt expecting it to be thiis strong!!

France: Clement Poitrenaud (Toulouse); Julien Malzieu (Clermont-Auvergne), Florian Fritz, Yannick Jauzion, Maxime Medard (all Toulouse); Lionel Beauxis (Stade Francais), Sebastien Tillous-Borde (Castres); Lionel Faure (Sale), Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Francais), Benoit Lecouls (Toulouse), Sebastien Chabal (Sale), Lionel Nallet (Castres, capt), Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse), Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier), Imanol Harinordoquy (Biarritz).

Replacements: Benjamin Kayser (Leicester), Nicolas Mas (Perpignan), Romain Millo-Chluski (Toulouse), Louis Picamoles (Montpellier), Morgan Parra (Bourgoin), Benoit Baby (Clermont-Auvergne), Cedric Heymans (Toulouse).[/quote]

Poitrenaud, Malzieu and Medard that is some back three, Heymans on the bench…Strong and all as it is there are weaknesses Beauxis and Tilous Borde are inexperienced, Chabal is not an international lock while Jauzion isn’ the player he was 2 or 3 year ago…

Maybe its not biased but I think its incorrect to say hes different class. Both are fine players, but completely different syles. Dont think there is much of a gulf in class between them and Id imagine geography dictates who most of us favour.

Leamy is a 6 though and not an 8, your right about that. Still think Kidney will pick him at 8 though, Heaslip offers a bit more off the bench than Leamy does