Indeed, the truth hurts I’m afraid. I wouldn’t be au fe with all the intricacies of scrummaging etc, but when a bloke who is supposedly one of the top 2nd rows in the world can’t even catch the ball, a basic function in professional rugby, then one has to call a spade a spade.
This guy led a tour of 4 combined teams on a tour of South Africa and he can’t catch the ball?
Maybe some of the self appointed experts on rugby can explain this phenomenom to me.
This guy led a tour of 4 combined teams on a tour of South Africa
explain this phenomenom to me.
You’d be respected more (well not much, a little) if you made an effort to acquire knowledge on your own behalf and not have others spoodfeed it to you constantly. :rolleyes:
It’s a pity that people can’t see the obvious limitations of some members of the Irish rugby team, fair enough if they went to Paris gave it their best shot and were beaten by a better team, but the way they gifted score after score to the French is unforgivable for a team of experienced professionals.
Paul O’Connell fumbled 2 catches and knocked on at least twice, aside from getting his arse handed to him by Lionel Nallet and Pascal Pape,time to give superman his underpants back I think.
For a lad who earlier admitted to not understanding the basics of the sport, you’re a fair ol fella to pontificate on it MI. :rolleyes:
Strike 1!!!
Strike 2, you post on here to get respect? yeah good one,:rolleyes:,
the old spelling correction while being unable to spell oneself.
I said I wasn’t au fe [size=“1”]fait [/size] with the intricacies of scrummaging, there are a lot of backs playing the game that would be in the same boat. It seems obvious after last Saturday that we have people representing our country that can’t even perform the basics of the sport.
The irony of you with 21000 posts, posting about anybody pontificating!!!
Strike 3, my work here is done.
Ouch!
All that needed was a “FACT!” and you were done.
Still trying bless you ol man.
I bet England beat the French in Paris. I bet.
Good point, well made.
I’d put England’s success over the years against the French down to the organisational ability and inbuilt superiority that having an Empire brings. We’ve never had that. They get to a World Cup Final, we don’t. They’re the big boys, we’re the little fellas. It’s simply the natural order of things. We need to realise that.
Agreed. I tipped England from the start. When it comes to the highest level and players are looking for a bit of guidance from those in charge, the Irish must feel fair short changed when they look at Kidney, What did he ever do on the field of play? Martin Johnson, on the other hand…
“Ireland” & Kidney have been found out at the highest level.For years these ‘legends’ have got away with being exposed at International level by playing the old “I love Munster so much” card - They pulled off some three card trick in fairness to them - They had a look at International level, realised they were never going to make it and decided to concentrate on a lower level. i.e provincial representative level, better still to reach the top in this code they would only have to beat club teams distracted by other competitions. This aul craic of “we always reserve our best for the red jersey” is some cop-out, true legends will want to prove themselves at the highest level, like when England won the World Cup a few years ago. But sure look it, they have found enough fools to believe this fairytale and pay their wages so g’luck to them.
They also do the simple things well like catching kick-offs etc.Oh for a Steve Borthwick in the Irish set-up.
What age is Bob Casey now?
Bob’s 30. Born in July 1979. Ironic how he is considered “too old” by people here, and yet Simon Shaw at 36 was arguably the best second row in world rugby over the last year. We could do with somebody like him too.
It’s been agreed on here that if Casey was eligible for England he’d walk into their team alongside Shawsie. Then the caveat from the likes of Pukey- “that’s not saying much”. Remind me again which team got to the last two World Cup finals and has beaten the French the last four times in a row?
Thats a lie right there anyway.
Check it out.
That’s an amazing record from England, 2 of those wins in the Stade as well, yet rugby experts on this site talk up Ireland and say the England team is shite.
Sid, in your opinion, how are the Irish able to go to Twickenham and beat England yet shit themselves when they hit Paris in the spring?
It’s amazing alright, a real “tale of two cities”, and a puzzle of the mind. Psychologically the Irish team are like little boys lost in a big city every time they go there.
People are far too emotional about rugby on this thread. All it has done is provide a national profile to a class of mainly privileged, private school kids who play an elitest sport which claims an international dimension because France and seven or eight former British colonies compete in it. It’s does nothing but erode local identity across the country from what I’ve seen. Of course this isn’t surprising since identity is so important to them they won’t even sing the national anthem. Small gaa clubs in east clare for example that took massive community pride in the achievments of their hurling teams are suffering massively at the hands of the Munster/Toyota juggernaut who buy the kids off their parents for the summer to immerse them in this red and blue bullshit.
You know what, if they’re going to persist in this horseshit marketing illusion of a representative organisation, could they at least steer clear of organisations that actually do contribute to the fabric of Irish society. And before anyone points out that the GAA had no problem in taking the rugby money I say you are right. I would have made them play in Twickenham where they fucking belong.
[quote=“Watch The Break, post: 427755”]
People are far too emotional about rugby on this thread. All it has done is provide a national profile to a class of mainly privileged, private school kids who play an elitest sport which claims an international dimension because France and seven or eight former British colonies compete in it.[/quote]
I really hope there isn’t an implied criticism of the Schools Cup there. I really hope not.
It’s does nothing but erode local identity across the country from what I’ve seen.
It seems that you would consider it the Irish sporting equivalent of the Wal-Mart effect? This could be a most interesting sporting/business parallel.