“We won a game we could have lost. We played badly. Not a single Irish player is exempt from criticism after an error-riddled display.
Well maybe one – Ronan O’Gara. It was his nerves of steel and ability to hit overdrive instantly off the bench that pulled this one out of the fire.”
Tony knows his stuff. Munster pull Ireland through.
O’Learys physical prowess, with stringers quick passing and Reddans boyish good looks to distract the opposition forwards is the best combination. We need a formula to be derived whereby we can get the 3 of them to make up 1 rugby player.
D’arcy was a mess. Himself and Drico could not pass the ball or hold the ball.
Slightly off topic but has everybody else heard Keith Wood’s rugby analysis on Newstalk in the mornings.
He is the Jamie Redknapp of rugby punditry. He just refuses to say anything negative about Ireland and even Ivan Yates called him delusional this morning.
Also when the IRFU announced the ticket prices for the autumn internationals, Woody seemed to be acting as a complete apologist for the IRFU saying how that’s the way professional sport has gone now and he didn’t believe it was a rip-off!
Probably my favourite rugby player of all time but comes across as a bit of a clown these days. Too much time on the BBC I suppose.
Ireland winger Tommy Bowe has been ruled out of contention for Sunday’s RBS 6 Nations clash with France.
Bowe, who missed Saturday’s 13-11 victory over Italy, has been omitted from an extended squad as he continues his rehabilitation from a knee injury.
Number eight Jamie Heaslip, flanker Stephen Ferris and winger Andrew Trimble have been added to a revised 33-man party, however.
Heaslip is making progress with his ankle injury and could feature against the Grand Slam champions at Lansdowne Road.
Ferris and Trimble will have their respective knee and hand injuries assessed to decide whether they can participate.
An additional eight players have been called into the squad to supplement the 22 on duty at Stadio Flaminio - Brett Wilkinson, Mick O’Driscoll, Donnacha Ryan, Mike McCarthy, Nevin Spence, Johne Murphy, Andrew Trimble and Gavin Duffy.
Ireland, who had no fresh injuries following their victory against Rome, name their team to face France on Wednesday.
Puke, as a rugby officianado, how would you rate Declan Kidney as a coach when comparing him to the likes of Bob Dwyer, Alex Wylie, Sir Clive Woodward or Sir Ian McGeechan. I know he wouldn’t have the same class of player available to him, but how would Ireland’s grand slam victory rate in a list of achievements considering the playing base it came from?.
I don’t think Ireland’s grandslam was all that huge of an achievement that you could put it up there with some of the achievements of the guys mentioned…Granted we do have a relatively small pick but that Irish team was knocking at the door for 5 years previous and was hugely experienced at the time along with some younger lads who made the step up, Bowe, Ferris & Heaslip, given the history attached to it and the fact we had to bridge a huge gap to win it it will be remembered fondly over here but I doubt too many of the rest of the rugby world will be waxing lyrically about it in years to come…It was a bit achievement to finally win it but the style of rugby in which we played to win it was nothing much out of the ordinary and Wales and England could well have beaten us that year…It also has to be remembered that Wales have won 2 grand slams while we have had a so called golden generation with rough the same pick in playing numbers…If we had actually beaten France in teh first game in Croke Park in 2007 and went on to win the Grand Slam, I think that it would have been held in far higher regard than the 2009 season, especially given the way we hammered England that year and actually played some very good rugby throughout the competition…But i do rate Kidney very highly, he is a very intelligent chap and has did wonders with Munster and so far has done a solid if unspectacular job with Ireland…He has built up a squad with far more strength in depth than was there with EO’S but in saying that there is nowhere near enough depth to challenge for a WC
Kidneys legacy will be decided in the next 2 years as this & the 2012 6 nations & the WC will tell alot…There is definately another grand slam to be won and we need a decent showing at the WC…There is actaully a decent enough chance of him getting the Lions job with a strong enough showing in 2011, eddie was odds on for the job til the WC disaster in 2007, but I have the feeling that if he keeps doing a somewaht reasonable job with England Johnson will get it given he is a lions legion…
Would have been far happier if they had left Traille at FB as he is nowhere near the counterattacking threat Poitrenaud is…Two big strong runners in midfield now…If they are in the mood and we are without Heaslip & Ferris I’d say they will beat us by 20+…I have the feeling that looking at the french backrow and midfield he will go for O’Leary at 9 but I would hope not
He can’t, we have a set of backs to take on the Frech, i know he won’t do this, but all things considered, this might be a time when it could be a good idea to go for a shoot out with them. Wouldn’t normally suggest that, but their pack will destroy us if its a slow turgrid affair.
Correct. That’s an ominously impressive team. Concentrate on sound set pieces and then take them on out wide with backs, not with forwards hanging wide.