Social Networking Sites

Someone shared a post there on facebook warning about a scam; it went something like this.

Just a warning to everyone to be vigilant. I received an email from ESB telling me I was due a refund for €98.19. I was suspicious as I didn’t have an account with ESB (only suspicous like :joy:), but I clicked into the link to see further details (I shit you not). It all seemed fairly legitimate, but when they asked me for my bank details I thought the better of it. Anyway I rang ESB and they told me it was a scam!!! So lucky I didn’t put in my details. Be careful everyone!!!

Where do you even start.

Must be some amount of money taken off absolute idiots every day.

As it turns out I got that email also.

I’d say older folk get cleaned out like this more often than not. One fella rang my mother once claiming to be from HP and telling her there was a virus on her machine, that he needed her to turn on and allow him to link up to. As it turned out it was at the time I had her machine taken apart on the desk as I was replacing the hard drive so she realised to tell yer man to fuck off, but she did admit she cant be sure what she’d have done had it not be the case.

The majority of people have absolutely no idea when it comes to IT security. None.
That’s why spam is still so popular, because people are still so stupid.

No one ever really gets prosecuted for it either, so the risk reward is pretty good.

I was rang by a indian sounding lad telling me the same once. I was at home bored so i played along for 5 minutes with a panicking voice asking how could i get rid of this awful virus and did I need to pay him for his help. I could almost hear him rubbing his hands together . Just as i was about to hand over my details I laughed down the phone for a solid 30 seconds before calling him a simple cunt and a few more things. I have to admit it really did make my day.

Ah RTT, you should have kept him going for about half an hour.

I’ve been wanting these “tech support” guys to ring me for ages for that very reason. I’d keep them going for ages.

A lad I barely know ballhopped a scammer once, it involved another friend of mine, it was one of the greatest of all time, and it went like this.

Lets call him john x was sitting at his desk in sydney one morning when he received an email, this poor unfortunate was in desperate need of funds to pay for a relatives medical treatment, and was willing to repay any donations with interest!

bored, John X said he’d play along, started emailing yer man back, saying he was sorry for his trouble, he really wanted to help, but was concerned that he was being scammed. How did he know yer man was in australia, (as the poor divil claimed he was) in order to prove it, yer man had to send him a picture of a local landmark, yer man obliged with a picture of the sydney harbour bridge.

Ok John X said, but that could easily have been googled, can you send me a picture of you near a sydney train station, no problem was the reply he got, and john x soon received a picture of a young brown skinned man near a station in sydneys suburbs.

ok John X replied, I almost fully believe you, I have the money here to help, and I hope you can pay me back with interest in the next few months, but to prove its you, not a picture off someones facebook, you’ll have to send me a photo that verifys it.

an aside, our mutual friend is called cathal, someone once called him chaz messing, over the years that developed into chazmund as a rarely used but ridiculous nickname.

So John X said, send me the personalised photo following my exact instructions, and I’ll wire the money instantly…so he did, at which time john blocked the emails

in case ye think this is bollox, here’s the photo

THANK YOU, MARK ZUCKERBERG, for your forward-thinking generosity! And congrats on becoming a dad!
Mark Zuckerberg has announced that he is giving away $45 billion of Facebook stock. What you may not have heard is that he plans to give 10% of it away to people like YOU and ME! All you have to do is copy and paste this message into a post IMMEDIATELY. At midnight PST, Facebook will search through the day’s posts and award 1000 people with $4.5 million EACH as a way of saying thank you for making Facebook such a powerful vehicle for connection.

LIKED & SHARED

THANK YOU, MARK ZUCKERBERG, for your forward-thinking generosity! And congrats on becoming a dad!
Mark Zuckerberg has announced that he is giving away $45 billion of Facebook stock. What you may not have heard is that he plans to give 10% of it away to people like YOU and ME! All you have to do is copy and paste this message into a post IMMEDIATELY. At midnight PST, Facebook will search through the day’s posts and award 1000 people with $4.5 million EACH as a way of saying thank you for making Facebook such a powerful vehicle for connection.

Liked & shared please pick me. I wud luv this

Mark
Zuckerberg has announced that he is giving away $45 billion of Facebook
stock. What you may not have heard is that he plans to give 10% of it
away to people like YOU and ME! All you have to do is copy and paste
this message into a post IMMEDIATELY. At midnight PST, Facebook will
search through the day’s posts and award 1000 people with $4.5 million
EACH as a way of saying thank you for making Facebook such a powerful
vehicle for connection.

Probably fake but had to share it anyways just in case ha ha

You can never b 2 careful lol

I nevar win anthing like this haha, sure feck it :joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy:
How are all the family, all in Blake house say hello

Stop girl I’m the same. :smile: :smile: All gr8 here. Hope all is wel dere.
Must meet up soon hun xoxox Happy christmas to ye all.

People are absolute whopper cunts

Can’t say it enough…Many people think that a suicide attempt is a selfish move because the person just does not care about the people left behind. I can tell you that when a person gets to that point, they truly believe that their loved ones will be much better off with them gone.This is mental illness not selfishness.
TRUTH: Depression is a terrible disease and seems relentless. A lot of us have been close to that edge, or dealt with family members in a crisis, and some have lost friends and loved ones. Let’s look out for each other and stop sweeping mental illness under the rug. If I don’t see your name, I’ll understand. May I ask my family and friends wherever you might be, to kindly copy and paste this status for one hour to give a moment of support to all those who have family problems, health struggles, job issues, worries of any kind and just need to know that someone cares. Do it for all of us, for nobody is immune.
Hope to see this on the walls of all my family and friends just for moral support. I know some will!!! I did it for a friend and you can too.
You have to copy and paste this one, no sharing. To copy simply hold your finger on the text and the copy option will appear. Click on it. Then click on your status and paste will appear. Thank you.

:anguished::gun:

:clap::clap::clap:

Bullet points please @Chucks_Nwoko