Stage Dublinness -a Roy 🐐 Curtis education

Dublins a great town for a few pints.

I was yhere on sunday too. Had coffee and a toastie in the peoples park. I’ll go back.

It is and not just because of the venues, proper Dublin barmen should be on some sort of UNESCO list. The lad behind the bar in Thomas Clarkes on Saturday was at the very top of his game.

A good barman is worth a fortune to a pub. You’d see it in London. They haven’t a clue.

It’s the same up here as well, bar staff assessed on how fast they can fire out the drink. On Saturday Frank was providing history lessons, medical assessments and dubious GAA trivia while keeping everyone watered - that’s what makes it a great drinking town.

It’s becoming harder to get proper bar staff as the older generation either hand on the reins to hipster sons or nephews or sell up altogether.

The late Nealie of Abbey Bar fame was probably the last of the true professionals in that he could move seamlessly between the clubs chances in the championship, the up to date Mart info, provide solid advice on problems ranging from gout to heartburn, the prospects of the local Deputy’s re-election, the real value of a 94 Mitsubishi (nil - Scalder thought he was a gobshite) and any other topic that might be raised.

His finest moment came when he outfought Jim Gannon, the local expert on all matters, on the natural habitat of crickets. It was a tour de force in the @Il_Bomber_Destro mould, dogged resistance to facts or reason leading to a culmination.

They won’t pay a barman any more. So no one can make a career out of it

Sure I can get some young fella to do it for minimum wage, why would I pay you €20 an hour or whatever.

But of course a good barman is worth 5+ useless cunts. They should be paid €50 an hour easily.

There are plenty staff out there, you just need to pay them

A good barman will take 3-4 orders at any time, still have time to chat away and stick a bet on for Auld Sean in the 815 at Fun-Dalk

These one order at time lads are stone cold useless

A good bar man will bring in customers,a bad one will lose the owner customers.

No it does not

Youve obviously never been to any of the worlds great cities.

I know you’re from Limerick so it’s sort of understandable you’d think like this, but you shouldn’t wrongly assume everybody is ashamed of where they come from.

Yes it does. Checkmate.

Yeah, it sure does beat Manhattan.

Be as proud as you like. My point still stands.

Without doubt. Manhattan is a flat island. It was basically a mud flat in a boring river estuary. There’s nothing very interesting at all about New York’s natural setting.

Exactly. One of our local publicans was the most useless fucker to ever run a pub. Pure lazy. But he held a big day drinking crowd for years because he was great craic.

Agreed. Serving a bit of grub however as most pubs do now can mess up bar service completely.
As mentioned, even when food is finished Irish pubs seem to be going more towards the useless standard of bar men in the UK. The idea of taking more than one order at once is becoming a lost art even in Ireland now

A lot of pubs haven’t reverted since covid where food was essential.

I know one or two pubs that’ll be opening in Dublin soon and they are drink only trying capitalise on a gap in the market.

It turns away a lot of good barmen too. Food is awkward compared to just drink.

the bay of Naples…