Is Tucker Reillys not a Press Up type spot?
Is Tucker Reilly not a right wing shock jock on Fox News?
Its a âbarâ more than a pub and Rake The Ashes really ought to bite the bullet and go back to their spiritual home of Cassidys across the road.
Nails it
He has a great knack of putting into words what people are feeling but they canât articulate it.
Us mere mortals just donât have what Roy has.
Chat GPT will be scrambling to add âvomiting inanityâ to its library tonight
If Declan McBennett ran a pub heâd have Sky Sports News on and music blaring. Itâs what the people want.
Does Roy have any prose for the Parnells story? Or does his bigotry prevent him from giving a fuck about anything on the Northside?
ChatGPT gives you tweets in Royâs style, but alas not the man himself:
Parnells GAA Club â the glittering giant of Coolock â brought to its knees not by scandal, but by sheer, staggering ineptitude. A monument to mismanagement, where ambition outran arithmetic. Lavish dreams, empty coffers. The crash was inevitable; the shame, immeasurable. #GAA #Parnells
Roy writes about @bandage
The Redemption: One Manâs Journey from Couch to 5K (and Beyond)"
There was a timeânot long agoâwhen the only thing I ran was the bath. A time when my idea of cardio was frantically patting the pockets of my anorak in search of a rogue fig roll. My gut, a sort of soft emotional support cushion, accompanied me faithfully through manyâs a lazy Sunday.
But life, like a reluctant pub quiz partner, eventually gives you hints. And one day, staring into the bathroom mirrorâa mirror strained by the acreage of my foreheadâI asked myself: bandage, whatâs it all for?"*
Thus began a pilgrimage. Not to Santiago. Not to Croker. But to the footpath of Fairview Park, where middle-aged men go to sweat, to suffer, to reclaim lost prideâand to find themselves.
I started running. Badly. Like a fridge with feet. Calves screaming. Lungs burning. Forehead glistening like the deck of an oil tanker in July. But every kilometre I earned was a quiet act of defiance. Against the years. Against the couch. Against the quiet, nagging suspicion that my best days had passed.
Now? I run four times a week. Iâve a Garmin watch. I say things like âeasy paceâ and âthreshold effort.â I drink beetroot juice like itâs holy water. I still sweat like a butcherâs apron. But Iâve found somethingâsomething noble in the grind.
So I say this: to all the men with soft bellies and hard memories of their youthâlace up. Take to the road. Let your forehead catch the wind like a proud sail. Run like your life depends on it. Because in a way, it does.
TFK #WexfordRunner #ForeheadAndProud #BornToSweat #MiddleAgedMileage
Iâd say not. There probably isnât a pint on with Clucko but heâs not going to close the door on it either.
I think there could be a series in this @Bandage
The Boy, the Race, and the Revengeâ
It was a Sunday morning soaked in the kind of coastal mist that clings to the soul.
The sort of weather where a man might question his decisionsâhis choice of shoes, his mileage plan, his past forty-two years of carbohydrate abuse.
I was toeing the line of the Kilmore Quay 10K, a humble local race with delusions of grandeur.
Beside me stood teenagers. Lads with legs like breadsticks and the heart rate of a sleeping monk. And thereâamong themâwas Him.
The Rival.
Fifteen, maybe sixteen. A smug sliver of a boy wearing Vaporflys and the unearned confidence of youth. I overheard him whisper to his friend something less than complimentary about my dome shaped head.
I said nothing.
The gun went. He darted ahead like a calf let loose from the mart. I lumbered after him, all knees and gritted teeth, the rhythm of my strides a stubborn poem to middle-aged defiance.
Kilometre four: he was still ahead.
Kilometre seven: he began to fade.
Kilometre nine: I passed him. Not with grace. Not with speed. But with the sort of grim inevitability that tax forms and winter come with.
As I thundered across the finish lineâcheeks ablaze, nipples in crisis, forehead now its own microclimateâI turned, gave him a nod.
No gloating. Just the quiet, dignified joy of a man who has suffered and come through it.
Afterward, he shook my hand. âFair play,â he said. âDidnât think you had that in you.â
I looked him in the eye and replied, âNeither did I, lad.â
TFK #MiddleAgedVengeance #WexfordWindbreaker #10KAndRising
This is a text book case of âhammering the hammerâ. Youâre now doing unto me via ChatGPT, as Iâve consistently done unto The Porter Laureate.
Will ye think of the environment here lads?
Write a song in the style of the well known Irish sportswriter Roy Curtis. The song is called âParnells: The Uncrowned Kings Of Dublinâ. The song is about the Dublin GAA club Parnells, who in 2008 received âŹ22 million from a land deal. Over the next 16 years, Parnells proceeded to squander the proceeds of this deal with extreme financial mismanagement, such as signing inter-county players who were past their best and paying them lavish expenses. These players, far from improving the Parnells team, made their team much worse. Parnells is the club of the great Dublin goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton, who was deeply unhappy with the way money had corrupted his club. Eventually in 2025, the Parnells club was liquidated. In the song reference the lines âthey flew too close to the sunâ, âthe Tiger roaredâ, âthe money was just resting in the accountâ. The song should be full of humour and whimsy in Roy Curtisâs trademark style.
ChatGPT said:
Sure! Hereâs a whimsical, Roy Curtisâstyle song called:
Parnells: The Uncrowned Kings of Dublin
(To the tune of a rousing Dublin ballad, somewhere between âThe Rare Auld Timesâ and âSeven Drunken Nightsâ)
Verse 1
Oh gather âround ye Gaels and scribes, Iâve got a tale to tell,
Of marble halls and golden dreams, that all went straight to hell.
'Twas Parnells of the capital, with plans both bold and grand,
Who swapped their pitch for riches deepâa tiger-fed demand.
Chorus
They flew too close to the sun,
With boots of gold and brains of none,
The Tiger roared, the cash it flowedâ
Till every cent was overblown.
âThe money,â they said, with a cheeky pout,
âWas only resting in the account!â
Oh Parnells, the uncrowned kings, now gone without a crown.
Verse 2
They signed auld lads with creaking knees, who once wore county blue,
And paid them more for playing bad than some lads earn at UCDU.
âExpense sheets long as Stephenâs kickouts!â cried the lads on Hill 16,
âWhile young bucks rotted on the benchâwhat does this madness mean?â
Chorus
With dreams as bloated as a bun,
The Tiger roared, and roared some moreâ
Till all that roared was Revenueâs door.
And whispers came from dressing rooms:
âCluxton hasnât smiled since June!â
Oh Parnells, the uncrowned kings, now gone without a crown.
Verse 3
Stephen Cluxton, silent knight, stared at the falling rain,
Each cheque a dagger in his back, each loss a moral strain.
Heâd seen the glory, earned it too, with boots laced up in pride,
Now watched as corner-forwards played like theyâd just come from Brideshead Revisited on the southside.
Bridge
Oh they bought a cryo-chamber, sure, and two espresso bars,
They paid a man from Kerry just to stretch out lads in cars.
They built a gym with granite floors, and photoshopped the pastâ
But none of that could win a match, or fix a hopeless pass!
Final Chorus
Like Icarus on the clubmanâs run,
The Tiger roared, the lights were grandâ
But now itâs weeds on Parnellsâ land.
The pitch is gone, the dream is spent,
The golden days? A bounced rent.
Oh Parnells, the uncrowned kings,
Who danced while fiddles burned the stringsâ
Now ghosts in sky-blue blazers haunt
The grave where glory went.
The county holds its breath