Suicide

Wow, that is some read. Equally happy and devastated for the girl.

A rough one alright

Gold Cup day saw this 11 year old from 2017 turn 18. Heā€™s about 6ā€™4 now and towers over me. The morning after I ended up driving him to the bus stop in Gorey as he was getting the bus to Dublin to go on the lash for the Scotland match with his mates. The last time I drove him anywhere was the morning his father was found hanging and I drove the most innocent looking 21 month old boy to his grandparents unable to think of what lay ahead of him in his life.

This ainā€™t about me, itā€™s about him. Heā€™s dealt with more in his 18 years than most of us will have in a lifetime. He never knew his Dad. His Mam has remarried after multiple highly emotional relationships. He has a 5 year old younger sister who he adores but she has a different Dad. He had a Dad now who isnā€™t really his Dad but likes to think heā€™s his Dad. And the poor lad has been nannied to the hilt by Aunts and Uncles because of his circumstances. And heā€™s still standing without knowing half the shit thatā€™s gone on around him for 16 years.

He has the Leaving Cert coming up and wants to do Law. He hasnā€™t a hope of getting it but sure heā€™s at nothing without ambition. He will never know the circus that went around him while he was in nappies but at the same time is a gentleman and always offering thanks even if he never knows what heā€™s thanking people for. I guess the point is that kids have ridiculous resilience. They always have a way. But lads, just ask for help, donā€™t leave a poor child in this sort of scenario. Itā€™s just not fair.

48 Likes

Hard to put words on that. The honesty and self awareness is striking. May she rest in peace

Ya I wouldnā€™t really have the intelligence to understand it but my takeaway was just to enjoy the here and now. We donā€™t know whatā€™s around the corner.

She made the right decision. There are no prizes for suffering or being ā€œinspirationalā€. There is nothing inspirational about serious disability. Itā€™s a living hell. But the media and the general public only want to hear from disabled people who are ā€œinspirationalā€. That way they can pretend they care about people with disability while conning themselves that life with serious disability is worth living. But the vast majority of seriously disabled people are not remotely ā€œinspirationalā€, most are angry and bitter - justifiably so - and full of regrets and mental torture, and many would rather be dead.

A great read, frank and hopefully will push society an inch further towards dying with more dignity when one has had enough of this earth in the future.

Sure?

Ah Jaysus

Some lads canā€™t help themselves

Just an absolute horrific case in my area. The poor girl was doing her leaving cert in a few weeks. Itā€™s mind boggling that it can come to this.

Must appear such an easy out for the poor kids that do it. We righly criticise the fire and brimstone teachings of the church but Iā€™d say it prevented a lot of young suicides.

Or hid them.

:sleepy: God help them all
@mikehunt it wasnā€™t a great approach but it seems we cannot find a balance.

Well said. That sums it up really.

I can safely say that isnt the case around me, the church caused a significant amount of suicides and attempted suicides of young people in the mid 80s.

I think @mikehunt is referring to the churchā€™s view of suicide itself being inherently sinful thus scaring people into not doing it.

Which I donā€™t agree with I must say.

no I get that, but I am just countering that even if you did take that view, the church, and how things were done in a number of ways, caused as much harm as people think they helped. And just giving a reference to one absolute prick who happened to be around our parish in the 80s, he caused direct suffering to countless young people.

And even if one didnt take the view of the damage the church did to a number of people in how they operated and what they did, much like you, I dont think you could credit the church for stopping suicides by its draconian views of it to scare people into not doing it.

To be honest with yaā€™s, coming from someone with diagnosed add/adhd, the Leaving Cert brings unnatural amount of pressure. Yeah grand I did it about 15 years ago, but all that fucking pressure in the ear, off teachers, mates, strangersā€¦ Then ā€œoh, what did ya get in the Leaving Certā€ā€¦ I did fucking useless, but to leave the exam hall after the last exam was a relief, like a weight had been lifted. Since then I went onto college and all that. But fuck me, the pressure on kids even to this day is something rotten. I dunno the girl, havenā€™t a clue where @BruidheanChaorthainn is from, I dunno the girl, but christā€¦