Suicide

They say 1 suicide will lead to a number of others, especially in younger lads. I wuld imagine that with the tightening of belts and loss of jobs that there are a lot of people that can’t see a way out of the spiral that they are in.

A friend of mine lost her brother to it, I had a great conversation with her 1 night about it, she had done all the councelling and everything and explained the whole thing to me, it’s not 1 thing that will drive someone to do it, it’s a combination of things, most people can let things go but if your in a spiral things build and build until they finally get too much and then they decide to end it. It’s usually the time between when they decide to do it and actually doing it that they are at their happiest, that if you see someone that is depressed and suddenly (for no apparant reason) is in better form that is a sign.

All car crashes should be reported as follows:

1 - Detail of injuries suffered
2 - Speed travelled when impact occurred
3 - Alcohol level of driver(s)
4 - Seatbelt analysis
5 - Likely reason for accident

No exceptions.

[quote=“nlgbbbblth”]All car crashes should be reported as follows:

4 - Seatbelt analysis

No exceptions.[/quote]

No dice.

[quote=“nlgbbbblth”]All car crashes should be reported as follows:

4 - Seatbelt analysis

No exceptions.[/quote]

Would it work?

Kevin Myers the prick, had a article on suicide in the independant last week. He suggests that people who commit suicide are criminals and branded them selfish etc etc. Totally disagree, if someone kills themselves their obviously desperate and in deep emotional pain and I seriously doubt they take any satisfaction in knowing how their family and friends will never get over it.

There still is a massive taboo in this country on the issue of mental illness. Its a quite frightening issue, I know a few people who died through suicide and there the people you’d least expect to have done it. My cousins husband for example killed himself last year. Had everything going for him, had a 1 year old child, had his own business which was doing well and then killed himself. The thing is nobody knows what anyone else is thinking, people can put on the brave face and let on everything is rosy in the garden but you cant tell whats really goin on in peoples heads. The Government is a disgrace for not putting more support into mental health services, really feckin annoys me.

Its scary how unexpected it seems to be. Know of at least 3 or 4 instances where there was genuinely no sign whatsover that lads were even depressed, never mind suicidal. Myers must be getting pretty desperate if he has use this to get attention.

I was reading a different article yesterday that mentioned Myers’ article and I think yer man said suicide was a criminal act in this Country up until 1993. Is that right does anyone know? foley?

Yer man was saying that the correct term is complete suicide. People commit murders, commit burglaries etc but they complete suicides.

[quote=“tipptops*”]I was reading a different article yesterday that mentioned Myers’ article and I think yer man said suicide was a criminal act in this Country up until 1993. Is that right does anyone know? foley?

Yer man was saying that the correct term is complete suicide. People commit murders, commit burglaries etc but they complete suicides.[/quote]

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/society-not-pharmacy-is-key-in-suicide-prevention-1551678.html

Does anyone know the story with the funding for and availability of mental health services now? There was a really sad case at home a couple of years back where a young mother was urgently seeking to speak to a counsellor or psychiatrist or some relevant professional anyway one Friday evening and contacted the care doc and local hospital and was basically told to call back on Monday morning at 9am. It was too late by then for both herself and her children. Is there 24-hour access to mental health services now or is it still the same?

What the feminism influence they keep referring to?

I dont htik it has changed Bandage, what with the 2 family suicide cases in Monageer and Clonroche since then which again highlighted the need for change, but again left with nothing.

dont know how suicide could have been considered a criminal act, I mean, how can you punish someone who has done it? and if you dont do it then you havent completed suicide? sounds silly.

I know quite a few lads who have done it around the area. I was at about 5 funerals in the space of 6 months when i was in college a few years back. I still consider it a selfish act, but I know the person mustnt be right to do something like that, and there should be means there for prevention and help for them. Its a huge problem in this country, but people seem to want to cover it up and are almost embaressed by it.

i knew a girl (neighbour) who worked the phones for samaritans.
number 1 reason for young guys topping themselves(in her opinion)…
homosexuality.
guys cannot get used to society’s stigma of being gay

[quote=“tipptops*”]I was reading a different article yesterday that mentioned Myers’ article and I think yer man said suicide was a criminal act in this Country up until 1993. Is that right does anyone know? foley?

Yer man was saying that the correct term is complete suicide. People commit murders, commit burglaries etc but they complete suicides.[/quote]

i think it was a remnant of the holy catholic ireland era, and repealed recently enough. the amendment in 93 repealed the “crime” as per a 1936 justice act.
(i’m always a little surprised watching reeling in the years to find out suicide, contraception and homosexuality were crimes in the late 80s, early 90s)
along with unmarked graves for unbaptised children, that has to be one of the most insensitive laws/practices ever inflicted on us.

My brother died by suicide. I hope never to have to deal with anything so difficult again. Watching my mother trying to come to terms with losing him was one of the hardest parts.

There were certainly no signs of any mental illness or depression. One theory out there is that some can experience black moments whereby a massive wave of depression descends but the person usually snaps out of it again after a few seconds, especially if in the company of other people etc. However if this person happens to be alone and decides to act upon their feelings, they may contemplate suicide.

I do believe there is some kind of domino effect though. The company for which my brother worked had lost 2 employees to suicide. The area in which they were from lost 6. All these lads knew each other, all between ages 18-23 and all dies within a few months of each other. After those 2 died, the company did arrange for counselling services which my brother attended and the topic was discussed at home.

Tipptops - you are correct with the use of the term “commit”. I hadn’t heard of “complete” suicide - the term we were advised of was “died by suicide”.

There is definately a domino effect O Malley…Last year in Clonlara we had a double tregedy when a young lad took his own life and less than two months later his sister committed suicide…

Sorry for your loss O’Malley.

I think its still the same Bandage. I remember I saw it in the local paper last year I think, that story and how nothing has changed since it happened and how it can easily happen again.

Jim McDaid is another prick, branding people who die by suicide ‘selfish bastards’. How about take a pay cut there Jim and donate some money to Aware or somethin ya selfish bastard.

[quote=“O”]

Sorry to hear about that O’Malley. You wouldnt wish that sort of thing on your worst enemy. Hope you’re all ok now. Would definitely agree on the domino effect and mentioned something similar in one of my earlier posts. Out of interest, if there are any counselling services you would recommend would you mind sending them to me by PM?

[quote=“Gman”]
I still consider it a selfish act, but I know the person mustnt be right to do something like that,
.[/quote]

Certainly isn’t always. The person may want to put their loved ones out of the misery of dealing with their perceived failings. Someone people just aren’t “good at life”, if you know what I mean. When things get on top of you there mustn’t seem like a way out. I don’t think selfishness or unselfishness comes into it in such a situation.

In carrer guidance last year in school we got a leaflet from spunout with all councelling services on it but I dont where tis now, I looked up spunout there Mac theres a good few here

http://www.spunout.ie/help/