Swimmix

Silver strand between salthill and borna. It’s only over the road. Was closed over the weekend for pollution. All the second hand sushi.

Could run on this surface

Like that out our way today too.

High Rock was besutiful* this morning.

Is it safe to swim in?

Yes. I think the stink off me is unrelated.

The waters practically warm

“How does father Mathew stick it”

Delighted to give that the important no25. You’ve probably no idea how lucky you are to have a 90 yr old parent in this health. Vaguely miraculous.

A lot of positive mental health derives from physical activity throughout one’s life

By night

Im just back from high rock with the kids. Lovely swim, marred by some scumbags out trying to start fights. Resorted to throwing stones down at people for 10 mins after they left. You wouldnt get that at the 40 ft.

Last time I was at the forty foot there were about 20 odd teenagers with a massive speaker on a wheely trolley. At least they weren’t throwing stones at anyone. I decided I won’t go back there til the autumn.

Ah you get it at the 40 ft alright, but I haven’t seen it bad in a while. Mrs. Fran and I turned up one day about 10-12 years ago and the place was covered in battered scumbags, blood and Gardaí. It was absolute carnage.

It’s a real shame when you make the effort to bring the kids and it’s ruined by cunts like this.

One question that came to mind tonight is why do they (scumbags) always wear runners in the water when they’re swimming?

It’s mildly irritating for a year round swimmer when you can’t get parking with all the fair weather swimmers out. The young fellow and the guide dog were pissed off too with the crowds and break in routine. They like having it more or less to themselves.

Had to dump the car at Dower’s Pub in Ballymacaw. Ballymacaw was rammed and a bit of a rough element there too. Headed along the cliff walk towards Rathmoylan. Went down the steep path from the top of the cliff to Portavodda Cove. Lovely spot and we had it all to ourselves.

Had planned to cycle out to high rock on Saturday afternoon for a swim but thought it might be full of toerags and that post confirms it. Would it be grand enough early in the morning?

There would be gangs of young lads on top of the shelters at the 40ft regularly enough but I’ve never seen them be more than just annoying and loud trying to outdo each other in the McGregor stakes. There’s never anything like that at Seapoint which is why I prefer it but it’s shit at low tide and also the water isn’t as clear as the 40ft.

Yes. Toerags dont get there till later in the day but it’s all cyclical. I swam there this morning (pic above) and it was glorious and still and uncrowded.

You’d only get that behavior in Dublin. What the fuck is wrong with ye?

Dublin only? Of course it is…

2 year ago :joy: