[QUOTE=“braz83, post: 1133979, member: 390”]Geoffrey is seething.
Root is actually older than I thought. 24 - 25 in December. I’d give him the job now. Cook’s batting will get back to where it should and can be without the burden of captaincy.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/cricket/international/england/11582181/Alastair-Cook-is-so-up-himself-he-thinks-he-is-untouchable-as-England-captain.html[/QUOTE]
[ATTACH=full]2760[/ATTACH]
Both New Zealand and Australia will beat them
The NZ series promises to be very interesting alright. How much prep are BMac and the boys giving themselves? When are the big guns pulling out of India?
New Zealand haven’t translated form in the T20 or ODI’s to the test arena. Having so many of their players in that IPL nonsense for the last 4/5 weeks is not ideal preparation for the serious business of test cricket that starts at Lord’s in just over a fortnight.
England do need to sort out an opener and a spinner but Cook (with the bat), Ballance, Root, Broad and Jordan all had a decent enough series in the Caribbean and Jimmy Anderson displayed yet again how he’s the most skilful bowler in world cricket.
Peter Moores has fallen on his sword. All kinds of fun and games to follow, no doubt.
Think he was pushed onto it.
It was run through him, for the second time in his career.
Hope they give it to Gillespie, would give another edge to the Ashes. Has done a great job at Yorkshire where he worked with a lot of the young talent that will be England’s backbone for the next while. Seems the obvious choice if he’s interested.
[QUOTE=“braz83, post: 1137677, member: 390”]It was run through him, for the second time in his career.
Hope they give it to Gillespie, would give another edge to the Ashes. Has done a great job at Yorkshire where he worked with a lot of the young talent that will be England’s backbone for the next while. Seems the obvious choice if he’s interested.[/QUOTE]
The Yorkshire clique would be delighted. But he would be the best option. Better than that runt Justin Langer anyway.
I like Gillespie. He’s done a bit of work on Sky the last couple of years and he seems to talk a lot of sense. Has a relationship built up with Colin Graves from Yorkshire too.
[QUOTE=“braz83, post: 1137677, member: 390”]It was run through him, for the second time in his career.
Hope they give it to Gillespie, would give another edge to the Ashes. Has done a great job at Yorkshire where he worked with a lot of the young talent that will be England’s backbone for the next while. Seems the obvious choice if he’s interested.[/QUOTE]
Agreed. I would like to see Gillespie get the job. He’s done an outstanding job with Yorkshire, he’s a canny operator and I sense he’s interested in it too.
What the funk …train him up for the Aussie JOB …no way , Strauss won’t have that bull shit … Course he is interested two years fat contract with England and then he can take over from fat boy in Australia … ECB won’t have that shite
Plenty of good talent about …
Sounds to me like Strauss has assumed complete control of the poms. Any manager coming in would be foolish not to know this. Hope dizzy stays well away.
I’d say Graves is in charge and Strauss will do as he’s told.
I don’t even think it was his own sword. Bizarre article from Michael Vaughan in the ST yesterday. Claims that is disgusted at the treatment of Moores, but goes on to say that when the job was broached with him, after the second test in the Carribbean, it was made clear that Moores would be staying put and Vaughan ends up by saying that he could not contemplate taking the job, as he could not work with a head coach in whom he had absolutely no faith.
Seemed a bit put out , and suggests that he basically had been offered the job, and turned it down because he wasnt allowed to get rid of Moores.
[QUOTE=“Sean stack, post: 1137736, member: 3055”]What the funk …train him up for the Aussie JOB …no way , Strauss won’t have that bull shit … Course he is interested two years fat contract with England and then he can take over from fat boy in Australia … ECB won’t have that shite
Plenty of good talent about …[/QUOTE]
Langer has apparently been well lined up for the Aussie job, and openly spoken of by Lehman as his successor.
That could change if the plastic yorkie drags England up …don’t want an Aussie at all , not at this point
[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 1138053, member: 1170”]I don’t even think it was his own sword. Bizarre article from Michael Vaughan in the ST yesterday. Claims that is disgusted at the treatment of Moores, but goes on to say that when the job was broached with him, after the second test in the Carribbean, it was made clear that Moores would be staying put and Vaughan ends up by saying that he could not contemplate taking the job, as he could not work with a head coach in whom he had absolutely no faith.
Seemed a bit put out , and suggests that he basically had been offered the job, and turned it down because he wasnt allowed to get rid of Moores.[/QUOTE]
Alex Stewart same craic …bitterness it reads
[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 1138053, member: 1170”]I don’t even think it was his own sword. Bizarre article from Michael Vaughan in the ST yesterday. Claims that is disgusted at the treatment of Moores, but goes on to say that when the job was broached with him, after the second test in the Carribbean, it was made clear that Moores would be staying put and Vaughan ends up by saying that he could not contemplate taking the job, as he could not work with a head coach in whom he had absolutely no faith.
Seemed a bit put out , and suggests that he basically had been offered the job, and turned it down because he wasnt allowed to get rid of Moores.[/QUOTE]
Vaughan is too mouthy for him to ever get the job with the ECB. Plus he was in the KP camp so not sure how well that was received.
As another aside, I was at the sale sharks on Saturday and a couple of lads were beside me near the bar, chatting to Danny cipriani after. He wandered off, and I thought they were salford city reds lads as one looked familiar and was clad in a silver baseball cap, tracky pants and white runners.
I asked him was he a league player.
“No mate, I play cricket”
“For who?”
“Over playing for Lancashire mate”
“Sorry”, I said, " I thought I recognised you from somewhere".
“Well I play for Australia too mate”.
Turned out it was Peter siddle. Thin and tough looking lad. Looked every inch the gimlet eyed Aussie. Seemed pleasant enough though. Had a big man hug with cipriani when he left.
On another complete tangent, cipriani is probably the most talented and entertaining rugby player I have ever watched.
He actually seemed a decent enough sort as I had a bit if a chat with him after, but apparently drink doesn’t sit well in him.