[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 1138122, member: 1170”]As another aside, I was at the sale sharks on Saturday and a couple of lads were beside me near the bar, chatting to Danny cipriani after. He wandered off, and I thought they were salford city reds lads as one looked familiar and was clad in a silver baseball cap, tracky pants and white runners.
I asked him was he a league player.
“No mate, I play cricket”
“For who?”
“Over playing for Lancashire mate”
“Sorry”, I said, " I thought I recognised you from somewhere".
“Well I play for Australia too mate”.
Turned out it was Peter siddle. Thin and tough looking lad. Looked every inch the gimlet eyed Aussie. Seemed pleasant enough though. Had a big man hug with cipriani when he left.
On another complete tangent, cipriani is probably the most talented and entertaining rugby player I have ever watched.
He actually seemed a decent enough sort as I had a bit if a chat with him after, but apparently drink doesn’t sit well in him.[/QUOTE]
Fitzy will wet himself when he reads that. You should have asked Sid to sign your bat.
He’s off to a meeting with Strauss and Harrison now, presumably to tell him they’ll never pick him for England. Get the feeling that was the main motivation behind today’s performance, the meeting must have been arranged yesterday. I’d say Strauss has muttered the word “cunt” on more than one occasion today.
If they don’t pick him STRAUSS is a yes man and DOOOMED from word go …won’t get over this if they don’t pick him
Will always be tarnished by it …where did you see that story
I met KP in Dubai in the airport lounge he was a total gent …loved the fact I was a paddy and followed England home and away … Was so nice to us , just chatted about sport and hurling , he watched hurling was transfixed by the speed
[QUOTE=“Sean stack, post: 1138444, member: 3055”]If they don’t pick him STRAUSS is a yes man and DOOOMED from word go …won’t get over this if they don’t pick him
I met KP in Dubai in the airport lounge he was a total gent …loved the fact I was a paddy and followed England home and away … Was so nice to us , just chatted about sport and hurling , he watched hurling was transfixed by the speed[/QUOTE]
The meeting is happening right now, KP confirmed that himself. Sky were running it anyway. The purpose of it is somewhat in the realm of speculation, but hard to think what else it could be for that requires a face-to-face meeting.
[QUOTE=“Sean stack, post: 1138444, member: 3055”]If they don’t pick him STRAUSS is a yes man and DOOOMED from word go …won’t get over this if they don’t pick him
I met KP in Dubai in the airport lounge he was a total gent …loved the fact I was a paddy and followed England home and away … Was so nice to us , just chatted about sport and hurling , he watched hurling was transfixed by the speed[/QUOTE]
Cool story 'bro
Who are they going to drop from the test side for him? Ballance is solid at 3, Bell at 4 and Root at 5. Unless there is an injury. Maybe they will start off by bringing him in to the one day set up? A great knock but Leicester are shite, haven’t won a game for two years. If Petersen is back in the fold, I reckon Cook will be gone as captain. Can’t see him accepting it.
Yeah, the first thing is that there isn’t really a vacancy in the Test batting line-up at the moment except as opener, which isn’t a runner. Number six could open quick enough, wouldn’t say Moeen is nailed on with either bat or ball. If they do find another spinner though, they should bat Buttler at six and Stokes at seven. Things can change quickly though, and very well might if they lose to NZ. If KP comes back in to the Test team, it will probably be in the context of the team failing and Cook losing the captaincy anyway (possibly even sent back to Essex to get some runs too). Lose to NZ and first Ashes Test and it’s probably done for him. ODI/T20 probably more likely in the short run alright.
Nobody else scored 40 today to be fair, and even against a shit line-up not many England batsmen could put on 300 runs in a day.
[QUOTE=“braz83, post: 1138475, member: 390”]Yeah, the first thing is that there isn’t really a vacancy in the Test batting line-up at the moment except as opener, which isn’t a runner. Number six could open quick enough, wouldn’t say Moeen is nailed on with either bat or ball. If they do find another spinner though, they should bat Buttler at six and Stokes at seven. Things can change quickly though, and very well might if they lose to NZ. If KP comes back in to the Test team, it will probably be in the context of the team failing and Cook losing the captaincy anyway (possibly even sent back to Essex to get some runs too). Lose to NZ and first Ashes Test and it’s probably done for him. ODI/T20 probably more likely in the short run alright.
Nobody else scored 40 today to be fair, and even against a shit line-up not many England batsmen could put on 300 runs in a day.[/QUOTE]
The way bambi’s army have been going against any decent pace attack, he’d be practically opening the batting at three or four anyway*
Yup, during the Headingley Test in 2012. Strauss was also caught calling him a cunt when he thought the mic was off on comms in the Lord’s bicentenary or whatever the fuck it was game last year.
If Strauss is trying to build bridges with this meeting then I’d say it’s further evidence that he is just a yes-man for Graves in the job. Probably why Vaughan pulled out of the running, no way that motormouth could work as a middle manager with no decision making powers.
[QUOTE=“braz83, post: 1138479, member: 390”]Yup, during the Headingley Test in 2012. Strauss was also caught calling him a cunt when he thought the mic was off on comms in the Lord’s bicentenary or whatever the fuck it was game last year.
If Strauss is trying to build bridges with this meeting then I’d say it’s further evidence that he is just a yes-man for Graves in the job. Probably why Vaughan pulled out of the running, no way that motormouth could work as a middle manager with no decision making powers.[/QUOTE]
Strange one. Strauss strikes me as a bit of bland nerd that won’t want to forgive and forget but who knows what way it’ll play out?
Cook is rubbish captain …Trot gone time to move one if young guns up and KP slips in
Seriously this is a pivotal moment in LOTS of careers …Strauss can’t bottle this he needs to be strong and brink in the best english batsman of modern cricket
Everyone wants it bar Jimmy , Broad and Cookie …EVERYONE
A mate of mine told me the meetings been arranged a week !!! so really it was obviously set up to probablly end it for good
BUT KP knew that and doesn’t matter how shit leics are he went and gave the knock of a true legend , pressure …WHAT PRESSUE