Test Match Cricket

No i havent been to dunedin you gimp, so in a venue that rains constantly shortening games with declarations is a bad idea in your opinion? You’re far stupider that i originally realised. And i see youve been at google again looking for inane statistics to boost yourself.

No one could have known how shite your family’s homeland are at the minute, god knows you werent predicting it. You don’t predict much though you just fail terribly at trying to be funny in numerous threads. You dont actually think you’re funny do you?

I’m not trying to be funny but I’d like to think that’s been your aim on this thread. Otherwise your self assurance despite a crippling lack of knowledge is inadvertently very amusing. You dumb bastard.

I dont run off to google to drag up how many days rain there has been in Dunedin over the last quarter. I just gave an opinion. Turns out waiting so long to declare was absolutely unnecessary but none of the so called experts here predicted such an english collapse. I didnt but i did say they were playing so poorly might as well apply pressure and put them in early.

So why didn’t they enforce the follow on?

Australia? To rub England’s nose in it. Because they know they can take 10 wickets inside 2 days. To give their bowlers a bit of a break with back to back tests coming up and tire out Englands. And just in case to have a bit more insurance in the unlikely event that England make a better batting effort in the second innings.

I was asking the above poster as he seemed sure they would yesterday, i know the rationale for not making them follow on i was the one advocating it!

There’s hardly any need to resort to google to be able to recite two very basic facts of cricket - Perth is the fastest wicket in the world and Dunedin is the rainiest test venue on earth. Anybody with even a semblance of knowledge about the game is well aware of those two facts. You clearly haven’t a clue, as you were blissfully unaware on both counts.

Good article from Vaughan here.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/cricket/international/theashes/10502535/Ashes-2013-14-Series-will-end-5-0-to-Australia-if-England-dont-improve-quickly-and-dramatically.html

And where did i say that i wasn’t? I was well aware seeing as english commentators constantly refer to perths quickness and ive been watching cricket for the best part of 20 years, hence i said it wouldnt suit england, and i was also aware that a venue on the bottom of the south island with a climate similar to ours rains heavily. But no i havent been to dunedin unlike you you pompous fool but at least i have a few original opinions, you have google.

And why didnt Australia enforce the follow on? you said they would yesterday, i said the wouldn’t and shouldn’t. You were just regurgitating cricket 101 from google. Have a read back through your posts, anytime i catch you out you ignore it, hit google and shout insults. Simpleton. You’re not from clare are you?

[quote=“maroonandwhite, post: 870833, member: 1406”]And where did i say that i wasn’t? I was well aware seeing as english commentators constantly refer to perths quickness and ive been watching cricket for the best part of 20 years, hence i said it wouldnt suit england, and i was also aware that a venue on the bottom of the south island with a climate similar to ours rains heavily. But no i havent been to dunedin unlike you you pompous fool but at least i have a few original opinions, you have google.

And why didnt Australia enforce the follow on? you said they would yesterday, i said the wouldn’t and shouldn’t. You were just regurgitating cricket 101 from google. Have a read back through your posts, anytime i catch you out you ignore it, hit google and shout insults. Simpleton. You’re not from clare are you?[/quote]

Catch me out? You’re having a laugh. You’re the clown who was saying yesterday that England would be going to Perth (the venue above all others where a winner is nearly an inevitability) looking for a draw. Today’s gem was that New Zealand blundered in enforcing the follow on in Dunedin even with a lead of 396, when it was liable to starting pissing rain indefinitely any minute. That is indeed an original opinion you came up with, don’t enforce the follow on, bat on for a lead of 650, boost batting averages all round and forget about the prospect of rain or trying to win the test.

Then there was your embarrassing carry on of saying that Clarke should have declared far earlier than the 570/9 he declared on despite the fact that in the last decade alone, Australia posting a first innings score of 556 against India in Adelaide in 2003 and England declaring on 551/6 in 2006 both went onto lose even with all those first innings runs on the board.

[quote=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 870840, member: 377”]Catch me out? You’re having a laugh. You’re the clown who was saying yesterday that England would be going to Perth (the venue above all others where a winner is nearly an inevitability) looking for a draw. Today’s gem was that New Zealand blundered in enforcing the follow on in Dunedin even with a lead of 396, when it was liable to starting pissing rain indefinitely any minute. That is indeed an original opinion you came up with, don’t enforce the follow on, bat on for a lead of 650, boost batting averages all round and forget about the prospect of rain or trying to win the test.

Then there was your embarrassing carry on of saying that Clarke should have declared far earlier than the 570/9 he declared on despite the fact that in the last decade alone, Australia posting a first innings score of 556 against India in Adelaide in 2003 and England declaring on 551/6 in 2006 both went onto lose even with all those first innings runs on the board.[/quote]

Good old google again, and where did i say that about new Zealand? Yet again as you have been doing all thread, you are pretending i said things to suit your bewildered argument, i said Australia would be right to bat again, you said they wouldnt. See can you find this thread on google as proof. Then i said looking at how the teams were playing clarke should have put the boot into england. But back to cricket 101 for you to give the same boring responses. It certainly suited new Zealand to enforce it, like it suited Australia not to. But you have a basic mantra you keep screaming.

So you are a clare simpleton! I should have guessed it with the were you ever in dunedin comment. Another fucking inbred thinking he was living the dream boring people to tears with google tidbits. You actually think throwing up more google research might yet win an argument. This is embarrassing stuff. Theres no point arguing as you make up stuff that i never wrote and ignore when i ask you something. You might think your sophisticated after a years travelling to bondi junction and dunedin. But your not, your an unoriginal simple fool incapable of forming an argument properly. Live with it, you cant develop cop on.

Just in case it gets lost in longer posts. I am well aware of the two above ‘facts’ but this retard just said i wasnt, with no proof just the sound of his own voice.

At this stage, you’re doing so much flip flopping and have such a poor grasp of basic facts, you’re mind is as scrambled as an English middle order batsman walking back to the pavillion after being worked over by Mitchell Johnson. You’re trying to tell us that you never said that New Zealand should not have enforced the follow on?

Its unfortunate for you that its there in black and white. You’re the one that said it.

Just watching the highlights there, incredible stuff from Johnson. His stare down of Anderson after knocking over his stumps was the culminating moment, Anderson has given the Aussies plenty of that stuff over the years. It’s a bit of a shame that Johnson hasn’t been able to do this more frequently over the years. He had some fearsome spells in the back to back series against the Saffers in 08/09. Think he sent a couple of the Saffer batsmen to hospital after one spell in Joburg.

England are in some disarray, to put it mildly. Putting Root to 3 instead of Bell was a bizarre decision. Pressure of captaincy is getting to Cook. There’s a clear pattern with England captains whereby their batting gets an initial boost, before falling below standard. It’s happened with all back to Atherton I think. KP is always liable to come good, think he might go big second innings if he gets some support actually. Hard to believe Prior is the same player as last year. Trott is the most obvious example, but I think the weird relentless psychological intensity Flower creates is taking its toll.

For what it’s worth, I thought McCullum batted a little too long first innings in Dunedin. Created the situation where he pretty much had to enforce follow on when given the chance, which isn’t ideal for an attack that relies on its quicker bowlers for wickets. Seems as though it was a fine performance from Shillingford, as well as Bravo and the rain, that saved the Windies. He’s proving himself to be a fine bowler/chucker.

The idea that a team behind in a series would somehow play for a draw at the WACA of all places does need to be called out as one of the weirdest I’ve seen in a while though.

Now that they are two behind theres no way tbey can play for a draw in perth, but just one down, they would have been delighted with that result.

Possibly, but playing for a draw from the outset of a match in Test cricket is suicidal at the best of times, and just impossible somewhere like the WACA. Can’t really see that they’d be delighted with a draw when trailing by any amount in a series. I know Johnson has a great record in Perth, but if they are thinking like that then they may as well just get themselves home for Christmas.

black and white. You’re the one that said it.[/quote]

[quote=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 870869, member: 377”]At this stage, you’re doing so much flip flopping and have such a poor grasp of basic facts, you’re mind is as scrambled as an English middle order batsman walking back to the pavillion after being worked over by Mitchell Johnson. You’re trying to tell us that you never said that New Zealand should not have enforced the follow on?

Its unfortunate for you that its there in black and white. You’re the one that said it.[/quote]

No, as i said above it suited nz and not Australia. There you go making shit up, yet again. It just blew up in their faces a bit with bravo. You were of the opinion tbey shouldn’t have even declared at all? And you were of the opinion that Australia should and would enforce it last night? Continue to ignore your retarded contradictions you fucking fool

The weather makes it nearly impossible to drae there, but does it not make sense to get something out of a pitch you are massive underdogs on, and make hay in Melbourne and Sydney? Obviously that cant be the case now