It’s not just the weather. It’s the bouncy nature of the pitch. If you were to play for a draw, presumably you’d be looking to bat time and dry up runs when bowling. The ball just flies around the place there, so it’s nigh on impossible to dry up scoring. Strike rates are naturally quicker for the same reason. You can get away with playing for a draw on turgid pitches, like England did to an extent in Nagpur last year and the Windies did to England in the last Test of their series in the Caribbean in 2009. Just impossible at the WACA. And looking to do it when behind in the series, even 1-0, would send out a cripplingly horrible sign of surrender.
You’re right about the pitch of course i forgot to say that too. No they couldnt go out just protecting wickets or they would be a laughing stock, but do i think england would make early declarations if in a position too? They will have to at 2 down though
The penny finally seems to be dropping that England might not after all be going to Perth playing for a draw.
Certainly yes, in theory. I’d say the chances of the England batting line-up being able to bounce back from this debacle to be in a position to make a first innings declaration of any kind in Perth are fairly small though.
Speaking of Perth, this is the most fearsome display of fast bowling I have ever seen - Curtly Ambrose at the WACA in the 5th and deciding test in 1993.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7UOy5thUig
Australia had won the toss, elected to bat and were on 85/2 when Curtly went to work. In this spell, he bowled 7 overs, conceding 1 run, took 7 consecutive wickets as Australia went from 85/2 to 104/9. They were eventually all out for 119, Warne the last man out, run out.
No you fucktard if you could read i said theres no way they can now 2 down
This series is almost unbelievable. They are beyond rattled, can they even make 250. Who said they might win all ten ashes tests this year during the summer? The aussies will be sledging for years after this. If only the west indies would start targeting batsmens heads again and the glory days would be back.
And you were of the opinion that Australia should and would enforce it last night? Continue to ignore your retarded contradictions you fucking fool[/quote]
Maybe if you could deal with facts and what actually was said and avoid unnecessary personal abuse. Its bad enough that you’re engaging in a discussion on a subject that you know little or nothing about but it does lower the tone considerably when you’re constantly misrepresenting what other posters had to say and pedalling blatant untruths.
I didn’t express any view here on the issue of whether Australia would enforce the follow on. What I said was that England’s recent travails with the bat were such that it was likely Australia would be in a position to enforce the follow on, should they chose to do so. For the record, here’s what I actually said on the subject.
[quote=“maroonandwhite, post: 870833, member: 1406”]
And why didnt Australia enforce the follow on? you said they would yesterday, i said the wouldn’t and shouldn’t. You were just regurgitating cricket 101 from google. Have a read back through your posts, anytime i catch you out you ignore it, hit google and shout insults. Simpleton. You’re not from clare are you?[/quote]
You really have a bee in your bonnet about timing of declarations and follow ons. Maybe if you could deal with facts and what actually was said and avoid unnecessary personal abuse. Its bad enough that you’re engaging in a discussion on a subject that you know little or nothing about but it does lower the tone considerably when you’re constantly misrepresenting what other posters had to say and pedalling blatant untruths.
I didn’t express any view here on the issue of whether Australia would enforce the follow on. What I said was that England’s recent travails with the bat were such that it was likely Australia would be in a position to enforce the follow on, should they chose to do so. For the record, here’s what I actually said on the subject.
[quote=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 870915, member: 377”]You really have a bee in your bonnet about timing of declarations and follow ons. Maybe if you could deal with facts and what actually was said and avoid unnecessary personal abuse. Its bad enough that you’re engaging in a discussion on a subject that you know little or nothing about but it does lower the tone considerably when you’re constantly misrepresenting what other posters had to say and pedalling blatant untruths.
I didn’t express any view here on the issue of whether Australia would enforce the follow on. What I said was that England’s recent travails with the bat were such that it was likely Australia would be in a position to enforce the follow on, should they chose to do so. For the record, here’s what I actually said on the subject.[/quote]
What other posters you fool. Similar to the ‘we’ comment yesterday. Have you a split personality? I haven’t twisted anything, you havent offered one opinion that google didnt provide
You have sight screen forehead rating your posts now too, how tremendous.
Look at this comment. You googled the exact totals but the result you just happened to recollect. Christ. And whats with the pompous language, a thesaurus and google arent going to save you now. Its lamentable.
Very uncricketlike banter from maroonandwhite here. Steady on, old thing.
He’s so rattled, talking such utter shite and bereft of making any valid points that he even went off on a “you must be from Clare” tangent against @Manuel Zelaya.
A gentleman like Manuel from the cricketing heartland of Carlow shouldn’t have to put up with that.
[quote=“Bandage, post: 870931, member: 9”]He’s so rattled, talking such utter shite and bereft of making any valid points that he even went off on a “you must be from Clare” tangent against @Manuel Zelaya.
A gentleman like Manuel from the cricketing heartland of Carlow shouldn’t have to put up with that.[/quote]
Quite. Only Chartered Accountants should be allowed post on this thread.
Look at this comment. You googled the exact totals but the result you just happened to recollect. Christ. And whats with the pompous language, a thesaurus and google arent going to save you now. Its lamentable.[/quote]
What’s all this about google? If you want to have yourself statistically right on cricketing matters, I’d advise you to stay away from that internet, its full of inaccurate information. I have a complete set of Wisden Yearbooks - dating back to 1976, the bible of cricket and a pre-requisite for the library of any cricket enthusiast.
Look at this comment. You googled the exact totals but the result you just happened to recollect. Christ. And whats with the pompous language, a thesaurus and google arent going to save you now. Its lamentable.[/quote]
What’s all this about google? If you want to have yourself statistically right on cricketing matters, I’d advise you to stay away from that internet, its full of inaccurate information. I have a complete set of Wisden Yearbooks - dating back to 1976, the bible of cricket and a pre-requisite for the library of any cricket enthusiast.
What’s all this about google? If you want to have yourself statistically right on cricketing matters, I’d advise you to stay away from that internet, its full of inaccurate information. I have a complete set of Wisden Yearbooks - dating back to 1976, the bible of cricket and a pre-requisite for the library of any cricket enthusiast.[/quote]
Interesting point. Well if you do have those you clearly know your stuff, unlike sight screen forehead. I obviously withdraw my clare simpleton remark, but assure you having watched the game since the mid 90s and maintained an interest in the proteas fortunes, i know that perth is quick and lively and dunedin rains, despite never being to either yet.
True. Id nearly have to call myself out at this stage. Cant we all just enjoy englands collapse (not bandage of course, his female ancestors would be disgusted after centuries ‘working on’ anglo irish relations with British soldiers in Wexford)
Finally, after two days of making a show of himself, we have the surrender post above.
Unlike Clarke in the first innings, you really should have made your declaration much earlier though, moronandwhite.
[quote=“Bandage, post: 870947, member: 9”]Finally, after two days of making a show of himself, we have the surrender post above.
Unlike Clarke in the first innings, you really should have made your declaration much earlier though, moronandwhite.[/quote]
I stand by everything i said, but had no excuse for abusing the man. Im fascinated by your psyche though. Your obviously a nerdish gimp from an extremely anglacised part of the country, yet you go to celtic matches in a desperate guilt ridden attempt to hide your genes. Do you hate yourself? You were long enough backing your brother on here which speaks volumes on your character. What do you tell the lads in pubs in glasgow that you do for a living. I reckon your a bigger fraud than munster rugby fans. Dont tell me you say youre a binman.