What if markets decide ireland (for example) is likely the next to go and start betting on that? How is the impact of that arrested?
How would they bet on that? We don’t have a currency pairing for them to bet against.
[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 1093307, member: 332”]That would be the ultimate mugging off.
The Greeks have stopped paying taxes the works. Gas fuckers.
If you were Johnny Greek today you’d be emptying the bank account if you hadn’t already.[/QUOTE]
The Greeks never bothered paying taxes anyway, your average Joe Soap there didn’t bother.
You go back to sleep you fucking eejit.
I see. It won’t affect investment or a range of other issues though? Why do most commentators I’ve read suggest
If Greece leaves it will be inevitable that others leave. Italy isn’t going to miraculously catch up with Germany any more than the Greeks were.
If the Greeks had left a few years ago then yes it would have been inevitable. This is no longer the case and is the reason it has been allowed go this far. As I said, no one gives a fuck about the Greeks.
The only reason that others would follow the Greeks is if the exit went well. The ECB will do their best to ensure this doesn’t happen.
[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 1093393, member: 332”]If the Greeks had left a few years ago then yes it would have been inevitable. This is no longer the case and is the reason it has been allowed go this far. As I said, no one gives a fuck about the Greeks.
The only reason that others would follow the Greeks is if the exit went well. The ECB will do their best to ensure this doesn’t happen.[/QUOTE]
what a great European you truely are,FFS
the EU was about building a new and safe europe after the horrors of WW2
[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 1093393, member: 332”]If the Greeks had left a few years ago then yes it would have been inevitable. This is no longer the case and is the reason it has been allowed go this far. As I said, no one gives a fuck about the Greeks.
The only reason that others would follow the Greeks is if the exit went well. The ECB will do their best to ensure this doesn’t happen.[/QUOTE]
Why is this no longer the case? The competitiveness gap hasnt closed and it won’t.
glas, why the pity for the Greeks? They overspent other people’s money for years. They don’t pay taxes. They don’t pay back their debts. They’ve defaulted numerous times. They didn’t have banks fuck them up like we did
[QUOTE=“The Selfish Giant, post: 1093397, member: 80”]
the EU was about building a new and safe europe after the horrors of WW2[/QUOTE]
that was the initial vision of schumann, however it has been compromised beyond belief and now more closely resembles the vision of hitler for a strong unified german europe/dritte reich than schumann’s clappy hippy dream
- No one wins by continuing to force Greeks to live in penury. Punishing them for the past makes no sense. Moral hazard shouldn’t come into it.
- The Greek bailout came with conditions attached based on which the troika predicted greece would be grand. The troika accepts greece fulfilled all the conditions of their programme and yet greece finds itself more fucked now than when it started. Why should Greece continue to comply with their terms?
- Germany has defaulted more than Greece ever has.
[QUOTE=“The Selfish Giant, post: 1093397, member: 80”]what a great European you truely are,FFS
the EU was about building a new and safe europe after the horrors of WW2[/QUOTE]
I’m not saying that is my opinion mate*. That is the opinion of the Greeks fellow Eurozone members.
*Personally I couldn’t give a fuck about them either
The Commission presents a proposal, Greece accepts, the Eurogroup (aka Germany) edits it, Greece rejects.
Are the Germans et al retarded or what?
Hon Greece.
Did one of the Greek lads punch the head off Noonan?
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9VmgAqCEAEn9aO.jpg:large
Translation of a cartoon AVGI (who are a leftist paper aligned with Syrzia) ran a few days ago.
All credit to the hide and seeks. They had the liathroids to elect a party that will stand up for them. Noonan and Kenny an embarrassment, instead of showing solidarity with another bailout brother they are as self serving and backstabbing as the dancing baby in his bid for upward social mobility. What a creep db is, who is he to tell the Greeks they overspent with his racehorse and high spec Corolla.
Risky though. The Greek govt unlikely in that case to be well disposed to foreign home owners.
Unfortunately, still needing to borrow money hand over fist leaves the country exposed to “the markets”, however unlikely.
Not in a scenario where the ECB are backing them. They could buy every single bond the Government issued at whatever rate they wanted indefinately