Ireland’s best hope of getting out of the group is having a couple hundred drunk as shit plastic hammer paddies getting blown to smithereens as they are waving their shoes in the air and the boys in green (tbig) ‘doing it’ for the casualties on the field with the sheer wave of emotion pushing them on to Herculean feats.
The Threat to Euro 2016
The Euro 2016 tournament comes at a difficult time for France, still recovering from a series of deadly attacks across the country that, in the past two years, have killed 147 people and seriously injured hundreds more. France continues to support the coalition’s air campaign over Syria and Iraq, and its president, Francois Hollande, has declared on more than one occasion that his country is at war with the Islamic State.
France was singled out in a fatwa delivered in September 2014 by Abu Mohammad al-Adnani, the Islamic State’s official spokesperson and the man responsible for its international terrorist operations in Europe.[9] French intelligence agencies found it impossible to prevent the attacks that followed. Their challenges were exacerbated by porous borders across the European free travel area (the Schengen Area) where terrorists and weapons moved across countries unhindered by border checks.
In the lead-up to Euro 2016 the head of the French domestic intelligence agency, Direction Générale de la Sécurité Intérieure (DGSI), Patrick Calvar, described the threat to France in stark terms: “Clearly, France is the most threatened country … we know that Daesh [the Islamic State] is planning new attacks.” He added that whereas “the attacks of last November were carried out by suicide bombers and Kalashnikov-wielding gunmen to maximize the number of victims, we risk being confronted by a new form of attack: a terrorist campaign characterized by the placing of explosive devices in places where there are large crowds and repeating this type of action to create a climate of panic.”[10] Last month France extended its state of emergency from the November Paris attacks through Euro 2016. This national posture gives authorities a range of powers, including the ability to place individuals who are deemed a security threat under house arrest.[11]
Not only does France remain in the cross-hairs of the Islamic State, but the group has already shown a high level of intent and capability to target international football matches in the country, as was illustrated on November 13, 2015, when three Islamic State suicide bombers blew themselves up outside the Stade de France during an international friendly between France and Germany. Only one person was killed outside the stadium, but seven were seriously injured. Many more could have been killed if the attacks had been timed for when the 75,000 fans were arriving or leaving the venue or if the attackers had been able to gain entry to the stadium.[12]
France Paris Attacks Stadium
Stade de France in Paris following the November 2015 attacks (AP)
With the eyes of hundreds of millions of television viewers focused on France, Euro 2016 is an even more attractive target for the Islamic State because the group has been particularly keen to garner maximum international media coverage to amplify terror and fear. Then there is the revenge factor, which may make Euro 2016 an irresistible target; several countries taking part in the tournament have been targeting the so-called caliphate with airstrikes, including France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and Belgium.
Investigators were not therefore surprised when Mohamed Abrini, the so-called “man in the hat” at Brussels airport, told Belgian interrogators that Euro 2016 was the target of the Islamic State cell that carried out the Paris and Brussels attacks. These claims are still being assessed, but Belgian authorities believe that when key members of the cell were arrested, the remaining terrorist operatives changed their plans and attacked Brussels airport and a metro station.[13]
It is important to note that the Islamic State will be keenly aware that any attack anywhere in France by its operatives or followers during Euro 2016 will get global, mass media coverage. It does not have to attack stadiums to achieve this windfall; it can attack fan zones or other so-called soft targets not directly associated with football and still be seen as having attacked the tournament. It should also be noted that because of its recent successful attack on Paris, the Islamic State has been able to sow fear ahead of the tournament simply through rhetoric and threats. This will contribute to inevitable security scares during Euro 2016.
Al-Adnani ratcheted up threats in an audiotape released in May calling for Islamic State fighters and followers to intensify their efforts to hit the West during the month of Ramadan, which starts three days before Euro 2016 and coincides almost exactly with the tournament.[14] Last year the Islamic State had told its followers they would receive 10 times the heavenly rewards for carrying out attacks during the Islamic holy month.[15]
The Paris and Brussels attacks, which were carried out by a mostly Franco-Belgian Islamic State terrorist cell, clearly demonstrated the group’s capability to launch an attack in France during Euro 2016. As many as 9,000 Europeans have traveled to join jihadist groups in Syria and Iraq, with as many as 1,500 now assessed to have returned to European soil.[16] According to the DGSI, over 2,000 French nationals and residents are on the radar screen of French domestic intelligence for their links to jihadist networks in Syria and Iraq, with over 600 believed to be currently residing in the two countries.[c]
As DGSI chief Calvar recently noted, al-Qa
ida and its affiliates in Syria, Yemen, and North Africa still pose a danger to France. It is possible that al-Qa’ida’s network will try to organize an attack during Euro 2016 to steal the Islamic State’s thunder. A significant number of French recruits have joined al-Qa
ida affiliate Jabhat al Nusra in Syria. Al-Qaida in the Arabian Peninsula (AQAP) trained at least one of the brothers who attacked Charlie Hebdo in January 2015, and al-Qa
ida in the Islamic Maghreb (AQIM) has intensified its attacks on Western nationals in Africa.[17]
That made me LOL, have a like
I should really give the TFK admin password to someone before I leave. @gola seems like the obvious choice.
More lies out of this cunt.[quote=“Horsebox, post:138, topic:22510, full:true”]
Doubt it. Probably be seen as suicide such is the near guaranteed probability of getting blown to bits over there.
Just been sorted with a face value ticket for Sweden
If ISIS get me I leave my TFK property rights and e history to @Rocko to use as he sees fit.
Ah, that was a good post pal.
Ah this is great…all the top, top postersl heading over… I’m booked in to have my head examined on Friday, any of you lads had yours done yet?
Be no fear of you over there mate.
Fuck that, enjoy it…biggest fear is losing to Sweden on Monday…
COMMENT: Do Ireland fans really want to be known as the gobshites making a mockery of their national flag?
Check out “shit euros flags” on twitter, mate.
Some disgusting individuals defacing our flag with gimpish slogans and shit quips.
I’m seething about it.
Clickbait.ie’s guide for Irish fans travelling to Euro 2016
By Paddy Shitbeans
There is so much to remember. Here’s 20 things to make sure you do to make the most of your Euro 2016 experience.
DO:
i) Make hilarious printed flags, preferably with pictures of Father Ted kicking Bishop Brennan up the arse or Conor McGregor with the quote “we’re not here to take part, we’re here to take over”.
ii) Share pictures of hilarious printed flags on social media every day from now until Monday June 13th.
iii) Bring plastic hammers and/or plastic crocodiles.
iv) Clap when your plane lands in France, if you’re travelling by plane.
v) Talk loudly in English at French people who don’t understand it.
vi) Only drink in “Irish pubs”.
vii) Make jokes about ISIS on public transport, especially on the Paris metro.
viii) Get so drunk that you can’t go to a match, or at least get drunk enough that you don’t remember it.
ix) Shout “shoes off for the Boys In Green” at every oppurtunity, hilariously take your shoes off, while simultaneously taking a video of yourself doing this with your mobile phone.
x) Chant in an English accent.
xi) Chant something to the tune of Sloop John B by the Beach Boys, but be unaware of the actual existence of said song.
xii) Drink at least eight pints of beer every day for the duration of your trip.
xiii) Dress topless.
xiv) Get as sunburnt as possible.
xv) Make sure to “check in” on Facebook at least three times a day from wherever you are in France.
xvi) Climb onto a portaloo and dance while drunk.
xvii) Proclaim loudly how much you hate England and Northern Ireland while they are playing.
xviii) Lose at least three items of clothing on your trip - wallet and/or passport optional extras.
xix) Urinate in public as much as possible.
xx) Chant “Chase The Sun (Oi Oi Oi)” by Planet Funk and gesture with your arms, and also shout that chant about the Toure Brothers.
**The list of DON’Ts is shorter. We’ve concentrated on four key DON’Ts. **
DON’T:
i) Familiarise yourself with the layout of French cities, including where your accommodation and the stadiums are.
ii) Familiarise yourself with the public transport systems in each city.
iii) Learn widely used, practical French words such as chaussettes (socks), sortie (exit), billet (ticket), toilettes (toilets), stade (stadium), train (train) or bus (bus).
iv) Visit any places of interest or cultural significance.
The likes of that cretin Davy Keogh would have been executed years ago had he lived in a lot of other countries, the national flag desecrating bastard.
In Ireland he is a national hero.
You didn’t really use that in the right context there, buddy. Be careful not to overuse it, just keep it in the locker for the right moment and really zing me with it.
Fair play!
You already had one for the Belgium game?
If anyone is looking for a ticket for the Italian game PM me I have one spare!
That’s a cracking article above about people defacing the national flag, in fairness. Can never understand why people resort to it. Show some respect ffs. Just typical of the “look at me” culture we live in these days, sadly. There’ll be a rake of them around next week, with the sole aim of making j*e.ie
The cunts who did this should be arrested on arrival back in the country.
Best fans in the world mate. Gas men one and all. Everybody loves them.