TFK Fun Runners Thread 2024

The other one I see very regularly is My Run Results. A Raheny Shamrock chap owns that business. He does running as well as the event management & chip timing etc.

:astonished::astonished:

https://www.instagram.com/p/C2C7n1OMN7F/?igsh=bng4bngzMWhyNnc1

Got off yesterday for the first time in more then a month. Major struggle but can’t be any worse for the year.

I chatted with a man yesterday after the Parkrun in Tramore Valley Park; 77 yrs young! Brilliant, keep going is all I said. I was in awe of him.

I was out on a forestry run with a group from the club this morning.

There was a fella who came running up a hill quicker than we were running it down. Turns out its former Olympian Shane Healy, who last week got the world O55 record for the 3000 metres and followed it up yesterday with a 2:02 800m world record.

I read about him a few months ago: Irish Olympian finds long-lost sister after 50 years

I didn’t realise there was a documentary made about him a few years ago so I must give that a listen some day: https://www.rte.ie/radio/doconone/1155259-shane-healy-back-on-track

@Locke, I finished the run today with a lad who turned 70 in October. He said he had to lay off the speed sessions as he was picking up niggles from trying to keep up with lads half his age.

Did the Tom Walsh 10k in Caherconlish this morning, first competitive run of the year and it showed😀 Got the pace badly wrong at the start and thought I was going to have to call it quits after 4k!! The dirty fuel seemed to clear after that and the recovery was solid if not spectacular. Will keep tipping away with training but will come down again for the Milford Hospice 10k and see if lessons have been learned.

A heads up. If you’re on some of the Irish Life health plans, they’ll give you €50 back on things like sports club membership, sports massage and I recently got €50 back for a new sports watch.

@fenwaypark :slightly_smiling_face:

https://twitter.com/movementcoachkm/status/1751010937136452092?t=zDiBabj-8IiLJAmWpHU42w&s=19

Eh, didn’t he often say, if you train slow you’ll run slow?!

That’s my recollection.
I believe himself and Fenners had a few “debates” over it.

You should run hard all the time, jogging is a waste of time

Were he still posting here he’d claim this is only the advice for down days or rest days and they’re really not beneficial for speed, or something like that. So by posting this you’re basically saying he’s right

You only need to run 3 sessions a week. They should be good sessions. Do away with shite miles

We did.

Was at the doc for the NCT during the week and by the by I said to him I’ve a bit of an ache in my knee after a run, hasn’t really died down even after ice, etc. He knows his stuff sports wise so pressed his thumb into the side of the knee and I nearly hit the roof. A meniscal tear was his call. Has anyone ever come across that before? Anyway the high up and low down is a red card from running until I get a mri and see the knee specialist. I can keep tipping away on the bike but it finishes the plans for the marathon in Limerick in May.

Bad luck, that is very unfortunate to do that without contact.

Just wear and tear he said I could be lucky and it might be minor enough at this stage. I suppose it’s the price I must pay for an elite career spent scaling the dizzying heights of junior b hurling and division 4b soccer

Any running clique members racing the Raheny 5 tomorrow? They got 5k entries & closed it off at that point - first time ever they capped it apparently.

So a huge field & it’ll make for a hectic starting area/pen - there’s no staggered start or pacers to act as a reference for people lining up. It kinda relies on folk sorting themselves out but you’ll always get people starting too high up & causing congestion in the first km.

I did a stint in Raheny Clubhouse today as part of the human chain passing black rubbish sacks full of goody bags to be loaded into vans ahead of transportation to finish area in the morning. Delighted to report that the bags are compostable & there’s even a keep cup in there.

I was also in St Anne’s Park & the turnaround point is very clearly painted & has been quadruple checked after the debacle a couple of years ago.

Best of luck. I had an entry but transferred it to a clubmate as still trying to get back from injury.

Best of luck with it @Bandage. A few club mates heading to it but I can’t understand why it’s so popular when there’s other races on the doorstep down here.

We all hope it measures properly tomorrow!