TFK Fun Runners Thread 2024

One of the admin women at work is gone stone mad into it. She used to be a heavyish woman but came back to the office post COVID a new woman, fair play to her.
One of the school mums I meet at school drop off was telling me sheā€™s doing it too. The two of them went to some competition in Dublin a few months ago. A bit of a cult vibe to it?

@Wexford1996 only catching up here. Brilliant stuff man :+1:

Not sure was it on this thread or somewhere else, but was on a TFK catch-up earlier

Good man @Batigol, weā€™ll convert you to a funrunner yet.

One of the crĆØche mams does Hyrox in the gym & a gang of them
go on weekends away for Hyrox races in Ibiza & far flung party places.

Touching my phone screen of weekends away, Iā€™m off to Lisbon on Saturday morning for the half marathon on Sunday. Iā€™ve built back up gradually after being injured for 6 weeks in the summer & still feel short of fitness (plus Iā€™m portlier).

Easy running in August, a weekly workout in September to add to easy miles & building up the weekend long run distance week to week. I was 99:XX for a half in March but my training paces are around 15 seconds/km slower than the spring. Not sure if itā€™s old age, dodgy post injury hip mechanics, fatness or subconsciously holding back but Iā€™d say Iā€™ll be doing well to run 105 minutes.

Plus itā€™s likely to be warm & Iā€™m mainly happy just to be running (that Dublin Port Greenway is a terrific addition btw). Iā€™m tempted to treat the whole thing as a casual jaunt as part of a nice break rather than push myself.

@fenwaypark, any thoughts on what might be a realistic time target based on above info if youā€™re still doing pro bono running consultancy work?

Go out and enjoy it pal and have a hape of Super Bock afterwards.

Go out at an easy pace and if youā€™re feeling good push on in the second half. Enjoy it!

Agreed. Take it handy for the first half anyway. Youā€™ll do enough races where youā€™ll be pushing your limits. Enjoy it

Most local GAA & soccer clubs have decent gyms that are probably not being used near enough. Makes sense to do some form of classes for members and the thing that is attractive about Hyrox is that half of it is running so that can be done on the track outside with the other half inside.

Itā€™s easier than CrossFit for sure, every big town seems to have a CrossFit gym with all sorts of shenanigans attached to it.

A Hyrox class is effectively a circuit training class except itā€™s called something else and people will pay 3 times the price for it. Tis like people buying iPhones

And the burrito joints became doughnut shops

Fair play. Id say take fenners advice and get out and about though. Iā€™m a funrunner at the moment. I run with the dog on the beach in the mornings if Iā€™m wfh. Also, the last 3 weekends weve done a few savage runs in howth. Savage scenery and all the extra benefits of nature. I always love that.

Come on @Bandage, give us a Lisbon race report!

Iā€™ve been sampling the delights of Lisbon over the past 2 days.

1hr 57, just the 18 minutes slower than my last half marathon in March.

A few things conspired against me:
Probably setting off too quick for my current level of fitness (but thought it was reasonable to try to follow 1hr 45 pacer & allow a 6-minute fall off),

Starting on the Vasco da Gama bridge (longest bridge in Europe!) where it was exposed & chilly/windy initially masking how humid it was,

Being hit with that wall of heat & having a headwind to contend with when we got off the bridge after around 6km & commenced the straight run into the city centre.

Had an unsustainably high heart rate from early on due to a combination of all that. I didnā€™t enjoy the route or the logistics (had to queue for an official race bus from the train station to get to start line & arsing/standing around on the bridge for ages before starting).

The bridge part was unique, I guess, but there was unexpected early elevation that had me working harder than I hoped so soon & the picturesque run into town along the waterfront never materialised - we were a few streets over & travelling in alongside warehouses/factories & the likes. There was a little section after 11-14km where you doubled back on yourself & I kinda chucked it mentally after that.

I ran/walked a good bit of the final third but last 1.5-2km was nice when you got to commercial district, completed a lap & intersected with marathoners for first/only time in last 200m approaching finish area from the other side of the city.

That was my first race abroad & I wouldnā€™t be rushing back to do that one. The lads who did the marathon didnā€™t enjoy the A to B - Cascais to Lisbon - element either. Like running from Wicklow town to Dublin & calling it the Dublin Marathon according to the ray of sunshine that is @Cesc4.

Iā€™m racking up the negative race experiences these days compared to early in my fun running days when everything was new & a PB. But the solutions lie within me - sleep/recovery, diet, focused training etc etc!

My two pence, just do easy aerobic runs for foreseeable. Build up your general fitness and supplement with 2 to 3 strength and conditioning sessions aimed at runners.

That will set you up nicely for 2025

Treat that as a pre season friendly pal. You went abroad, had a nice time, and did a bit of running.

Well done for battling through pal. Iā€™d follow what fenners has said and build up your strength. itā€™ll help with the niggles and injuries too and breaks up the monotony of just pounding the roads every day. And if youā€™ve a chance to take in some woods or trails for your runs too itā€™d do you no harm.

Iā€™ve started S&C classes as a break from just running all the time. The bastarding Plantar Fasciitis isnā€™t going away so need to change things up a bit. S&C is tough going! Youā€™d be in ribbons after an hours class :hot_face:

A wise man once told me the quickest way out of Plantar is a bit of essy barefoot running on grass. Helps strengthen the sole of the foot and landing more naturally. Iā€™ve never tried it but give it a shot!

Land more naturally on what part of the foot?

Will all due respect to @fenwaypark this is bollox. He has taken you as far as he can and now youā€™re sinking way below your best again. What you need is to go into a dirty hole of a gym, look for a fella who is ripped but stupidly muscular and demand PEDā€™s off him there and then. Steroids, creatine and a bit of speed to moderate the ups and downs. Youā€™ll be elbowing women in their 50s off the parkrun course in no time.

Do a 210kg beltless deadlift and then do a 5k thatā€™s no faster than your first one. Thatā€™s what i did