I got return flights to Oz for 650 all in, delighted.
I wouldn’t get caught up on which airport you go to. They are all serviced by the train, and which ever station the train brings you into you can just hope on a tube to camden. London is so easy to get around.
ah feck.
Its only to make sure i don’t get asked too many questions at the airport.
ah you’ll be grand at the airport. just make sure you dont look Asian or have any food or animals in your bags. make sure to watch some ‘Border Control’ before you go to know what they check for.
Ah i’m not bothered at all. I really am only going for a longish holiday and seeing if i like it etc. Will definitely look around at work and whats going on in a couple of the cities, try and meet some companies etc. Could just as easily move onto NZ or Canada as well.
I don’t look that irish though, but certainly not Asian.
I watched it one night there recently, and some of the people stopped are awful mongs altogether.
Don’t go over and back on the one day, bad idea.
@ Runty - let’s watch it in the Blind Pig in the East Village, Mrs. T is around this weekend too so we can make it a double date.
Get yourself to Maloney & Porcelli for a nice meal after the proposal.
Great EUR/USD FX rate at the moment for the ring purchase and you may be able to avoid sales tax too.
Hope the proposal goes well.
Heathrow - you can get the Tube into the city center with a Zone 1-6 ticket or get express train.
Gatwick - Southwest trains to Victoria and tube elsewhere
Stansted - Stanstead express to Liverpool St. Station and tube elsewhere
Luton - never had the pleasure of flying in there
They’re all easy to navigate, once you’re on a tube line it’s easy. I tend to go through Gatwick and Stansted most. Stansted express can be pricey though.
Just to go back to the engagement ring thing, you get way more bling for your buck in the states Runt, although I fear for your lotto winnings while ye are away. I got engaged myself when I was a student, whats 3 months of 0?
Why? Im not going on a sightseeing tour. I just want to get in, get the job done and get out before they know I even called…
luton stansted and gatwick cost bout 30 return on train to central london plus underground fare, whereas heathrow will only cost you bout 8 quid for underground. 30 quid you should consider when booking flights.
The underground can take the best part of an hour in from Heathrow though so if time is of the essence then the express from Heathrow is the best option as its only 15 mins or so.
cheers mac, great to have that out there on this forum, the heathrow express is faster than the underground which is in turn cheaper than a black cab which is one option for choosing cabs, alternatively you may want to go down the hackney cab option but rememeber no side of the roads pick up with the hackneys, oh no they have to be pre booked so factor the cost of a phonecall into your calcualtions
tantalising travel tips by mac the insufferable bore
FOAD
Glad to be of assistance mate
Would 10k be about the ball park for a ring these days? A few years ago it was around 15k but things have calmed down thankfully.
I was thinking of going to Antwerp to get the stones, then have them mounted by my local goldsmith.
I’d say 10k would be close alright, give or take 7 or 8 grand. You saving up SS?
I have 14k saved but I’m hoping to get away with 10k for the ring.
On a related note, I see an ex girlfriend of mine has liked ‘money’ on Facebook. There’s also a tagged shot of her on a speedboat ffs :lol: Lucky escape?