I mean, I know I have a few underage county medals and a coveted West Championship but I wouldn’t even call myself GAA aristocracy
How did this become about you pal ? I was referring to Brolly and Kelly telling us how to process this news .
OK, my one was just a joke
Of the poor Clares.
To paraphrase P Flynn, you try running two cars on a RTÉ salary
This whole thing from the start until now reminds me of the batshit stuff that was being shouted around 2009/2010 after the financial crash. I’m pretty sure there were people genuinely shouting that the Government jet should be sold and the Taoiseach should take Ryanair flights to international summits instead.
That guy ranting on the Frontline was a harbinger of how society would go. Back then he was a nine days wonder. Now a non-insignificant cohort of society have genuinely turned into him, ranting like morons, only ranting because they hate seeing anybody be successful at anything, only wanting to cut people down for nothing.
This whole story is the media, egged on by social media, reporting on trivialities to do with the media. As a story it’s as removed from the real issues facing society as the Roy Keane Saipan debacle was.
The phrase “value for money” really bugs me as well. It’s always been code for cutting back stuff to the bare bones, resulting in shite services.
I’ll say this for RTE. I have my pet dislikes about the organisation and its output like anybody else, but overall, we’re very lucky to have it as a national broadcaster, as it’s an excellent one overall. It could be better, like anything, but it could be a hell of a lot worse. Like there are nihilists in Britain who want an end to the BBC, there are nihilists in this country who want an end to RTE for batshit ideological reasons. Fuck that. We have commercial media in this country and it is mostly shite.
Fair fucking play to Tubs for getting the money he did, fair play to Marty for getting the use of a Renault, and as for dinners before U2 at Croke Park and the likes…honestly…who gives a fuck?
I strongly suspect this is also occuring in ireland. Dig into the hse and NGOs after rte is stripped bare and rebuilt as a public service
https://twitter.com/TheKevinDalton/status/1677305540064727040?t=_P706bXNcoO-VjJs2Ufxug&s=19
The ‘Sex Lives of College Girls’ came on after Champions League there one night, I was very upset with whoever commissioned and scheduled that.
100% it is happening
We know the hoteliers and aramark are profitting anyway
I think if RTÉ was financially in a sound place, perhaps there would be less public outrage about this, but at the end of the day it still smells of a bit of nod and wink corruption (Marty knew too well what he was doing for example) that as an organisation, they’ve been getting away with for decades. I appreciate the commerical expenditure arguments as long as there is transparency there. But it’s a rotten organisation. Lots of issues around bullying and morale from discussions I’ve had over the years. I’ve done bits and pieces of work for them and have generally dealt with decent people but the pay has been crap. Anything remotely niche gets fuckall resources. They treat some of their contract workers so poorly (a friend does wardrobe stuff and I’ve got some of those horror stories).
To me, they’re trying to do too much in order to keep everybody’s nephew and soon to be retiree fed and watered.
Why are there 17 radio stations?
Why are they commissioning terrible programmes from America no one watches?
Why are using their slice of GAAGo as a quasi license fee increase?
Where did all that money from the sale of the land go?
Why does everyone that works there seem to be related to someone prominent there?
I really enjoyed the Biden visit, like most of their current affairs stuff (although they are not balanced in their coverage)
Think they need to reign it all in and continue to do the stuff that they do well.
Economics.
RTÉ has been buying programmes from the States since it launched to pad out the schedule. They could show Dragnet for something like £20 for an hour. It would have cost them 200-250 to make an hour themselves. At the time, the BBC had a budget of £2500 per hour
Joe Rogan should be running RTÉ
We’d never have seen cheers, wonder years, hill street blues, WKRP in Cincinnati, Mr Belvedere…,., Jesus I could go on all night
Kerry radio at 9 am this morning was unreal.
They opened with an audio of Marty’s best commentaries.
First caller in was some lad that said the three most important things in his life were the church, gaa and Rte and he’s been badly let down by all three.
Correct. But the primary reason it was done was financial. They couldn’t afford to programme a full day of their own original programming. They still can’t. Sometimes deals have been cut where to buy licensing to a big US programme (for example, Friends back in the day), you might also need to take some shitty sit-com from the same distributor.
Could they not go into their archive and broadcast something worthwhile?
Is there not a duty as a public service broadcaster to put on something decent on your second channel at 9pm and 10pm at night rather than something totally inane?
Why are they doing all of the ridiculous stuff like RTE Gold, when they can’t fill primetime slots on their 2 showcase TV channels?
I think structurally, they are all over the place. They aren’t fulfilling what should be their primary purpose.
I didn’t realise that btw, its very interesting.