The 45s or alternatively 25s or 30s thread

A lad left our crew never to return after a bum deal.

:joy: Was it a bum deal or a ā€œbum dealā€ though

It was a ā€œbum dealā€. He was 40 and had the 5 and he stood to win around 5 euro in 10 and 20 cent coins.

It stays in for 45 down our way too

I have played the joker left in when thereā€™s a small number playing, say 4 or so, to increase the chances of someone getting a decent card

He was dead fucking right.

people have died for less

My father and the uncle on my mothers side had a blazing row one night out the Nire when the uncle produced the joker to trump my fathers AoH. We were all loaded into the car and driven sullenly back home.

My grandfather would crucify anyone for not playing for the table, but had no qualms about taking a soft trick for himself. Led to woeful rows.

An epic final for the hamper last night, fought for gallantly and mostly fairly, but won eventually by the intrepid warrior Tommy (Scalder) Scollan. Scalder is thus known for his abrasive commentary in the course of such battles and the acerbity of his comments can be and are indeed nerve-jangling. Heā€™s relentless in the heat of battle and hereā€™s a brace from last night:

The County Councillors wife prodded him the King of trumps on his dealing trick turn and he 10.
ā€œThe 16k councillors expenses and the school bus run arenā€™t enough for yeā€™ and I only 10ā€
Scalder practically split the table with the venom he slammed down the Ace of Hearts.

A son of Killian McLoughlins erroneously beat a low man with the Jack of trumps.
ā€œYouā€™re more useless than your grandfather, he wasnā€™t fit to lift a calf out of a drain 20 years ago and youā€™re not much betterā€ and on it went until the whole table were un-nerved and Scalder scooped the hamper.The drama however was only startingā€¦

Scalder refused to take the hamper, in a fit of un-heralded generosity he proclaimed No, No, No.

ā€œI want the fucking hamper brought into Ballinamore to them poor Syrian people and tell them that the decent people of Fenagh will stand with them here in Leitrimā€ Thunderous applauseā€¦

The hamper has of course to be re-jigged to suit tastes and customs, but Scalder will be the beneficiary of a couple of bottles of spirits out of it. I told Scalder Iā€™d ring Joe Duffy about him and I thought he was going into cardiac arrestā€¦Sometimes people can surprise you.

Superb all round :clap:

:joy::joy::joy::clap::clap::clap:

Our Christmas Charity week thing in work died a death. Which means that our yearly game of 25s quietly died with it.

But weā€™ve resurrected it today. Hoping to have 8 people for an hour playing a few cards. Not sure the winner even gets anything. Meh, better than working.

Played the Christmas 5 card poker game in one of the local pubs last night.

Had a fairly eclectic bunch of characters at my table. Got no cards and didnt progress but fairly enjoyable game all the same. Hadnā€™t played 5 card in a long time.

What did the winner get?

I wasnt around long enough to see, but there was 6 tables I think, with 7 playing at some. Would have been the bones of a grand in the pot.

I do enjoy a game of 5 card but thereā€™s too much luck in it

Anyone have the rules to 110 at hand? Iā€™m gonna learn the bastards how to play at Christmasā€¦im sure I know 99% of the rules but it has been a few years.

Had 3 travellers at my table. One of them would slow count the pot and leave it short the whole time. In fairness the local drug dealer pulled him up on it most of the time.

Do you know the rules to 45 /41