I’ve always loved bonsai trees. I think they’re class looking. Mine is not doing well as I did not realise it needed to be in a sunny spot. A few plants make a great difference to the place.
Yes like spraying potatoes for blight.
My wife has a green thumb. She talks to dead plants and they come back to life.
Anyone ?
No hope for you mate.
Anyone have any advice on buying a greenhouse? Most of the online retailers sell ‘halls’ aluminium yokes that look a bit flimsy. It’ll be on a fairly exposed site and I’d want it to look decent
What do you want to grow in it?
And what approximate size?
Whatever is suitable for growing in a greenhouse, it’s for the cub. Peppers and tomatoes I suppose. Space isn’t a problem…10x20 roughly
Is that the space you have or the size you want?
You know that a 10x20 will set you back a nice packet?
What are we looking at
€3,000
That’s an awful shape of tomatoes
You’d want to think about this.
First the width. 10 foot is a bad width as you’re beds will be 2-3 foot wide for access. That leaves too much wasted space in the centre. 8 is a better width. 6 is tidy.
Length? Most can be added onto, so you could see how the length goes after it needed.
Base. Can’t beat a good concrete base for steadiness and keeping out the winter damp.
Glass, polycarbonate or sheet poly. You could write a book on that.
Electricity, do you need that?
Water supply?
Automatic ventilation?
Staging, wicked dear stuff.
greenhouse.ie isn’t a bad place to start looking. Free delivery.
Delivery from England will cost you an absolute fortune at the moment, so stay clear.
Correct me on this one lads if any of ye can.
The lad is only growing a few tomatoes he’s not looking to get into hydroponic weed
Besides, if I was I’d need some way to manipulate the light cycle…ideally
Thanks.
Water and electric are close by. I can put it on tarmac, a concrete base wouldn’t be a problem.
8’ wide is handier?
I suppose poly will get opaque? It’ll have to look half tidy…
I’d say drive up to greenhouse.ie in Wicklow and have a look. Consider toughened glass also.
They say if you push a greenhouse at any corner and it moves. Then it ain’t no good.
You can get UV stabilised polycarbonate that’s guaranteed for 10 years.
Autumn and the summer beds are cleared and prepped for the winter vegetables (or what we laughingly refer to as winter). Will be planting seeds directly un the next couple of weeks with seedlings for the brassicas etc to follow. We’ve actually had a fair bit of rain which has beem nive for a change. Hopefully it will actually rain over winter as it hasn’t for the last few years.