The advanced gardening thread

I was rebuilding an existing boundary wall that was in tatters.
Originally I had plenty of extra stone as the stone that was dug up when I was doing the foundations for an extension was still there. I’m struggling a bit now, so can only use what I pull out of the existing wall.

@anon67715551 , do these socks cut the mustard?

Did you buy that graipe in Avoca?

@FatChops , talk to this fella.

You’ve very small feet for a grown man

What about for an non grown man?

Are you just poking holes in the ground with the fork?

Nevermind them @Thomas_Brady, your doing a fine job poking holes in the ground

Like @Thomas_Brady himself, neither has ever done a days work

Communion pants?

Never buy a fork or a shovel with a short handle. You’ll wreck your back.

About 10 lads triggered :muscle:

Sure looking good is half the battle. He’ll have the graipe begging for mercy by the end of the week

I’ll not comment on the boots or socks and the graipe will kill you, always buy long-handled implements. You’re doing a grand job, you might have raked more of the oul’ shite out of it but it is what it is. You’ll need rain or a hose to help the seeds germinate but from this juncture I’m giving you a real fighting chance.
While the future looks positive, you must consider this as the quarter-final round. There are other battles ahead, technical issues about mowing heights and frequencies etc. but we’ll guide you along. In the words of Del Trotter "this time next year… "

Thanks mate…the graipe is longer than the pic suggests… As for raking too much, the whole thing was literally just weed, the whole thing should be dug up really… whatever cunt lived here never did anything with the garden so there was 15 years worth of rot… When I dug the fork in there was next to no give, it was like hitting stone but we dug, and booted and cursed and stood on it and I’ve loosened a good chunk of it now… I might go for another round in a few days when the mini cold snap has passed. I’ve the hose on standby.

You should have hired a rotavator

Or a scarifier would have done…

@Thomas_Brady there are scarifier for sale in lidl this week for 30 quid… Hand powered but might do the job for a small plot

Link

You could do worse than a light scatter of sand over the top, twould help to naturally break up the compaction. I’d be slow to call your tool there a graipe. A graipe is a much more dangerous implement, a yoke with personality. That looks like a garden fork.

You’re a credit to yourself there by the way. I hope to see you on the Lockdown drinking thread by sundown. :clap:

Lads he’s just started learning with a rake and fork, don’t rush him.