The advanced gardening thread

Nothing cheap these days …did ye do it from scratch had ye anything there before

Done from scratch. I’ll put a few photos in the Landscaping sidegroup tomorrow

I took up the wooden decking and put down granite. The wooden decking is a scourge when wet and needed an amount of maintenance. Composite is supposed to get very hot in the sun. I don’t know. Because there was a base under the deck I had to put in step down to the granite, but it’s a better job altogether and I’ve no regrets.

Ya lot of people say composite dose when hot but id say that’s a bigger issue in span or somewhere

I’d have to put a step down as well into a patio but it would be far lower maintenance than the decking which is absolute pain in the hole

The composite can get very brittle if it gets full sun. You’ll get what you pay for I suppose, but make sure it’s UV protected.

I’d get he printed concrete myself if I had the money.

I too can put a photo into the landscaping sidegroup if that would help.

Won’t hurt anyway!

You could plant a native wildflower garden and put in a pond for the wildlife?

I could. Il add that in as option 17

And a few wolves.

Dahlias and Zinnias from the garden. Great having cut flowers in the house.

I did a job on the potted Buxus Sempervirens yesterday. 8 large pots on the veranda with box plants, pretty much all grown from cuttings. They look deadly together.

Last two years my hostas never came on properly. I think slugs or bugs were getting them as they were coming out of the ground. Surrounded them in coffee grounds since February and now they are up fine and strong.

I had the same thing with a Cyclamen in a pot. Coffee grounds and no problem since. I can’t grow hostas here, too hot, they’re a great plant though.

Had the first bit of the purple sprouting broccoli there. Jaysus, I am nine months tending to the plants, pulling caterpillars and slugs off of them, putting up nets over them, watering them in dry spells. And for what - it is absolutely gorgeous. Sweet and nutty raw. Won’t even bother cooking it. Worth every second of care that I put into it.

NoMowMay is here lads.
Ye can put the lawnmower away for a month…

I just need to tidy up the lawn first.
We’ll mow for it then…

I suspect this post should bring @the_selfish_giant out of hiding.

The caenothus bush in full flower…

Jaysus, there isnt a single blossom on my one yet.

Can’t imagine what county has the weather conditions for that