The All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2012

Great news for Seanie. Heā€™ll get a heroā€™s welcome undoubtedly. Like the returning emigrant off the ship.

Seanie wont be playing. He wont even be named on the panel for the match.

[quote=ā€œtazdedub, post: 675549ā€]

Seanie wont be playing. He wont even be named on the panel for the match.[/quote]

Kieran?

Not today,

[quote=ā€œtazdedub, post: 675551ā€]

Not today,[/quote]

when heā€™s fully fit i would love to see cian o sullivan at centre back ahead of brennan but iā€™m not sure we can afford to do without him in fullback lineā€¦i just think fitzsimmons, while a good footballer, isnā€™t tight enough and worry heā€™ll cost dublin yetā€¦ Fennell, like ross mcconnell before him, is not good enough to start inhoā€¦heā€™s been given enough chancesā€¦weā€™d still have keaney playing football if he had ben given the same amount of starts by gilroy that those 2 and Oā€™Gara have been givenā€¦
B Brogan is a class act but yesterday shows why heā€™ll never be a goochā€¦he doesnā€™t bring other forwards, bar his bro, into play enoughā€¦its grand when heā€™s scoring but when heā€™s not you notice the other options he hadā€¦
if i remember correctly Gilroy started connolly at wing forward in this fixture last yearā€¦i would like to think that Gilroy is doing just enough to win these games and keep down the hype that dublin attract and by all-ireland 1/4 final youā€™ll see a team nearer to one that played in last years all-ireland final and playing with a lot more intensityā€¦last year dublinā€™s all-ireland credentials were only first seen when they mauled tyrone in 1/4 finalsā€¦
to me, more than ever teams are really setting their stall out to only be going full tilt in August/septemberā€¦kerry done it for years and other teams are copping on to itā€¦like i said in a different post teams know the system and you can realistically reach an all ireland semi final by having just one big performanceā€¦look at the draw for qualifiers, thereā€™s not really one big clashā€¦there will be a few weak teams left after it tooā€¦then youā€™ll probably have the likes of sligo, clare, meath and Down coming into itā€¦win them and your into an all ireland 1/4 finalā€¦

Taking from Scumpots post. I think Gilroy will he happy enough with yesterday.

They won after going a man down and a few guys will get a few home truths:

He will ā€œwork onā€ on B Brogan Connolly etc. and it will be much easier than if they won well.

Dublins quarter final team will be very like their AI team last year. Dublin were a bit too built up after Louth game.

Still the team to beat though.

The most frustrating thing was the amount of times the wrong option was taken. In the first half I think it was flynn was standing on the edge of the square totally unmarked and all Brogan had to do was hand pass him the ball and it would have been another goal. There was another similar chance in the second half. The attitude just seemed all wrong yesterday.

MacAuley has to start against Meath instead of Fennell, I would love to see Kilkenny get a start but I think it will be Oā€™Gara who will start against Meath (god help us) and I think Oā€™Sullivan will start instead of Brennan. Surely there is a player in the Dublin panel that can kick a free over the bar from the 21, instead of having to call up Cluxton.

Scumpot I agree with you in that I think they are doing just enough to win each game but it is a dangerous game to play and if Wexford could have taken a few scores they missed, we could have lost that match.

This is amazing stuff. Itā€™s like when everybody wanted Louth to play Meath last year and they came out of the bowl together. Now Cavan and Kildare and itā€™s happened again. Itā€™s almost liked somebody had decided to fix it. :lol:

donā€™t care what anyone says but the fact that fennell and brennan are both from Vincents helps them enormously when it comes to getting gametimeā€¦

Can we set up a Cavan supporters thread for this match? I think the whole of TFK will be behind them and wishing them luck against those Kildare Kunts.

I think its just wonderful how the the scales have falled from GAA peoples eyes and seeing Kildare for the horrible shower of cunts they truly are.

On another note, John Doyle was a pale shadow of himself yesterday, wonder is the wear and tear catching up on him.

he was shite last year too, but then McGeeney did have stuck around midfield wasting his time, or being the extra man in the backs around the half back line. I thought last year would have been his last. Shouldnt have been wasted in the middle, a man of his talent and scoring ability. But I suppose he doesnt fit ā€œGeezersā€ plans of having actual talented players kick points, just try beat teams into submission.

[quote=ā€œGman, post: 675560ā€]

he was shite last year too, but then McGeeney did have stuck around midfield wasting his time, or being the extra man in the backs around the half back line. I thought last year would have been his last. Shouldnt have been wasted in the middle, a man of his talent and scoring ability. But I suppose he doesnt fit ā€œGeezersā€ plans of having actual talented players kick points, just try beat teams into submission.[/quote]
I wouldnt have said he was shite last year by any matter of the word but I agree it was a disgrace to use him as they did last season. It does seem as if the move to midfield last year drained him a lot and as a result hes a long way off what he once was. He played most of his 50 mins in the corner or close to it and still couldnt spark, hes not even taking frees anymore. He looks shocking of late and a long way from the man he was 2 seasons ago.

I was also surprised by Kildareā€™s use of Mikey Conway yesterday. He always struck me as a creative type more suited to a deeper role but he was playing off TomĆ”s Oā€™Connor looking to pick up bits and pieces as part of a 2-man full forward line.

[size=4][font=ā€œHelvā€][font=ā€œHelvā€]he was far from shit last yearā€¦he shud be put centre forward and let roam where he wants. as shown yesterday he hasnā€™t the sprint in his legs any more to play in the the tight confines of corner forward but he still has enough of an engine to cover the open spaces on the 40. [/font][/font][/size]

[color="#5cc1e0"]Kevin Reillyā€[color="#9dd9ec"]@[color="#5cc1e0"]kevreilly1
Eye Gouging has no place in GAA. Expected more from such an experienced footballer and so called gentleman.

I thought it was more eye interference than gouging and Iā€™m not sure how much damage you could do with a gloved hand. Nevertheless it did look like it fell below the levels of sportsmanship one would expect from Dermot Earley.

sid waddellā€™s made the cardinal internet error of posting something that was already posted and discussed at length and itā€™ll take a while to recover from it. Tough times for sid - please donā€™t turn against him.

OMG. This is chastening indeed. :o