I’m enjoying a whiskey here on the 14th floor looking out on Berlin.
Bizarre sport. Rugby League for fat simpletons. It’s all about the “razzmatazz” apparently.
I can’t understand the obsession with it, fucking concussion city.
This thread is like shit to Muldoon flies, lolz.
They need simple sports for their simple brains and lash out at anything complicated.
They’re looking for checkers while the more evolved posters are after chess.
I’d like to argue that hurling is a far more difficult game to play pal.
Bar the Quarter back what do the fat mullockers acheive running into each other?
About $6 million a year
Banging cheerleaders 3 at a time ??
How many wide receivers / running backs/ tight ends/ corner backs/ secondary are fat? You haven’t a notion what you’re on about, which is not at all surprising.
Other then the QB and a couple of runners…its a game of attrition pal.
I dont see the technical football skills in it.
Try watching the game you ape, then ask intelligent questions.
Lads like you Harry make my debate a lot easier.
While your at it, how many good hurling games has there been in the last 4 years?..your shit stinks too bro… Playing the auld paddy card.
Thats classic deflection pal.
My question 3 posts back was on techncial skills…but the broader theme of the thread is the sheepish bandwagon following that a US game has in this country all of a sudden since it has been the cool sport to follow…and how the superbowl can mean so much to them…thats a joke.
I find it fucking nuts.
The same lads were big into F1 a few years ago. They are just the classic oirish Bandwagoner
No different than the premiership. You’ve lads bleeding Manchester and Liverpool likes it’s normal…
As far as skill goes, I would agree with you. You simply can’t hand a hurl to an athlete from any other sport and expect them to play at any decent level, never mind intercounty. On the flip side, any decent athlete could play soccer, rugby, gaelic etc. to a reasonable level with a bit of coaching. Hurling is more like ice hockey in that respect, you wouldn’t expect a lad, no matter how good an athlete he is, to put on a pair of skates and have a go.
Where your argument falls down is sport as a spectacle. American football, while physically brutal, is a cerebral sport. Unless you’ve watched it a lot, you can’t really understand what’s going on, the battle of wits between the offensive and defensive sides of the ball. It’s actually mesmerizing to try and anticipate the plays that are going to be ran, and how the defense set up to stop them. As @ChocolateMice says it’s chess versus checkers, and the only game that’s better as a spectacle, if you understand what’s going on, is baseball, but you need to see a lot of games live to appreciate it.
I jumped on the American football bandwagon when it was first shown on RTE in the eighties. I fully understood the rules / plays etc etc After a few weeks of pretending I was enthusiastic about it, I admitted to one of my mates that I thought it was the greatest load of shite I had ever watched. He was very happy about this and we left the group who would incessantly talk bollocks about it. I just think it’s an incredibly boring sport, in the same way rugby league and union are.
Each to their own, I’m sure it does something for many forumites and good luck with it lads (though it has to be said that @Chucks_Nwoko is counted among you, a poor reflection of course). I just think it’s a very very silly sport.
I have btw lived and worked in America. On the other hand, I love baseball, the game itself, the tradition, the statistics, the culture around it. That is a cerebral sport, in the same way cricket or hurling are.
Hurling isnt a cerebral sport. Bogmen lashing the ball upfield as hard as they can.shinty has more tactics
then how do you like aussie rules and soccer?
Mate I know that Sigerson Cup legends like you in the Gaelic Football Gahliban look down on Hurling as you view it as a girly, intelligent expression of fundamentally socialist and libertarian values. For soft lads like me though, it isn’t just a sport, it’s a religion.
You should jump on our bandwagon in Wexford, I’m surprised you haven’t already.