The Anti Rugby Football Thread Pt 2

They lead with their head in NFL due to a false sense of security that the helmet is both a protection and weapon. Those boys on the line of scrimmage are bursting head first into each other from.ths age they start the game to when they’re 300lb monsters.

There is a.line of thought where if they remove the helmet, fellas would be less inclined to lead with their head as they’d bust themselves up more noticeably rather than repetitive rocking of their brain

Would you say he needs his head examined?

Couldn’t do any harm anyway

What’s a walk through ?

Isn’t the average career of NFL player only two or three years ?

There wouldn’t be much to boxing if you took away the whole pucking a fellas head off him aspect out of it.

I do feel there’s a small element of cop out from the players in all of this as well. I’m sure England or whoever could have put lots of protocols in place, but if you’re in a daze after every scrum session and seeing white dots in your vision, that is your own body telling you that you shouldn’t be doing this.

Jesus that’s a tough read on Thompson. I heard Bennett Omalu interviewed once saying kids should play nothing but basketball. Hard to disagree.

What’s the point in scrums anymore?

Would ya stop, Jonny Sexton was destroyed as a human being by Schmidt.

You’d have to say rugby as we know it is finished.

They’ll need to take the collisions out of it.

Parents won’t let kids play it

Parents should be arrested for allowing their kids play it. The GardaĂ­ should be around every rugby pitch this weekend.

The guards are busy making sure lads aren’t trying to get away with having 8.50 worth of food with their pints

You need to Elsa it.

Totally agree. Look at poor Neale Richmond and his squashed head FFS. Fair play to the Blueshirts for giving him an outlet.

I’m not very convinced by this. The problem isn’t damage to the body, it’s damage to the brain. Is there evidence to show that better conditioning reduces shock to the brain? Did Mohammed Ali lack conditioning?

As regards other sports, I don’t know about NFL but for boxing you can just reduce the players to 2 fights per year and stop headshots during training and that makes a big difference. For rugby I’m not sure how you could reduce the damage because tackling and scrummaging are the heart of the game and have to be trained.

You could modify it so that each player wears cloth strips attached by velcro to their shorts, and instead of tackling the opposition try to rip the strips from the ball carrier.

No comment from @dancarter as of yet. Telling.

there once was a time when rugby players in possession of the ball ran away from the opposition,now they run into them and go through the phases …

Tag Rugby is the last avenue for workplace sexual harassment. It won’t last long

• Phase 1 (No response)
  • Phase 2 (Generalised response)
  • Phase 3 (Localised response)
  • Phase 4 (Confused - agitated)
  • Phase 5 (Confused - inappropriate)
  • Phase 6 (Confused - appropriate)
  • Phase 7 (Automatic - appropriate)
  • Phase 8 (Purposeful - appropriate)

And introduce members of the fairer sex to the teams to mix it up

Joe Schmidt ruined the sport.