The archaic and/or regional slang thread

in an era of homogenisation of all things slang related where expressions of London and New York slang become the norm across the English speaking world a thread to remember and celebrate slang expressions from one’s youth and/or homeplace.

1. Dag. “I’d give her a dag”.
  2. Gowl. “She’s some gowl”. “Stop gowling around”
  3. Gadhar. “Brother Prunty is some gadhar”.

Latchico - he’s a latchico meaning an eejit

The literal translation is wonderful
A man who sniffs bicycle seats after female cyclists have gone into mass.

Sciortan - used to be used in Connemara a lot. A tick. Not “a thick”.

That’s gift _- meaning That’s really good.

Gobdaw

From Galway.

Feek-meaning to kiss or shift. I’d feek the face off her.

Corb-also meaning to kiss or shift. I corbed the face off yer wan last night.

Fiend-meaning a lad you don’t know. Who are those fiends over there?

Lushing-meaning drinking. I was lushing down de arch last night.

A hallion.

A Northern term for a generally unscrupulous person.

[QUOTE=“Horsebox, post: 1113338, member: 1537”]From Galway.

Name and shame the cunt from Galway that uses this.

Old school, KP. When we were teeny boppers.

Lushing-meaning drinking. I was lushing down de arch last night.[/QUOTE]

I can smell the campfire off a couple of these

feek and fiend are tinker “cant” are they not.

@Horsebox were you known for knacker-ridin in your youth

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1113325, member: 2272”]Latchico - he’s a latchico meaning an eejit

The literal translation is wonderful
A man who sniffs bicycle seats after female cyclists have gone into mass.

Sciortan - used to be used in Connemara a lot. A tick. Not “a thick”.

That’s gift _- meaning That’s really good.[/QUOTE]

I would have said Latchico was more of a messer/waster/boyo than an eejit.

Gombeen.
A harmless fool.

[QUOTE=“fucked out, post: 1113500, member: 1495”]I can smell the campfire off a couple of these

feek and fiend are tinker “cant” are they not.

@Horsebox were you known for knacker-ridin in your youth[/QUOTE]
Don’t lave the mucky stuff in me, bass.

[QUOTE=“Bad Winner, post: 1113513, member: 2406”]Gombeen.
A harmless fool.[/QUOTE]
Didn’t start out that way. I think the gombin man was the local moneylender/slumlord/ businessman/shark.
A shrewd but ruthless individual.

Lushing-meaning drinking. I was lushing down de arch last night.[/QUOTE]

Feek means the physical act of love, or a lesser act as you have said, it can also describe a female who is attractive in nature. How could you omit bure? This refers to a female in general, here we can see feek change to a verbal phrase when accompanied by bure, ie I’d feek that bure, or it can be used as an adjective, that Bures a feek.

Corb means get in trouble.

Fiend can mean any lad really.

Only townies say lushing. It usually signifies you are too urban or unkempt to get served in a bar at the age of 15. And is therefore a revealing statement.

Mong is a term of un-endearment.

Beak or mace is to steal something.

Grade is money.

All the above is Galway City/ traveller slang. Go five miles outside of town and you’d be looked on condescendingly for using it. Not too many real slang words in county Galway, just a lovely accent and pacy rate of delivery.

[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 1113553, member: 1170”]Didn’t start out that way. I think the gombin man was the local moneylender/slumlord/ businessman/shark.
A shrewd but ruthless individual.[/QUOTE]

Correct

Gombeen vs Gom?

[QUOTE=“maroonandwhite, post: 1113556, member: 1406”]Huh?

Feek means the physical act of love, or a lesser act as you have said, it can also describe a female who is attractive in nature. How could you omit bure? This refers to a female in general, here we can see feek change to a verbal phrase when accompanied by bure, ie I’d feek that bure, or it can be used as an adjective, that Bures a feek.

Corb means get in trouble.

Fiend can mean any lad really.

Only townies say lushing. It usually signifies you are too urban or unkempt to get served in a bar at the age of 15. And is therefore a revealing statement.

Mong is a term of un-endearment.

Beak or mace is to steal something.

Grade is money.

All the above is Galway City/ traveller slang. Go five miles outside of town and you’d be looked on condescendingly for using it. Not too many real slang words in county Galway, just a lovely accent and pacy rate of delivery.[/QUOTE]
Yeah I omitted bure because it is not just Galway slang-also used in Cork and a few other places plus it was not an exhaustive list. Forgot about grade-haven’t used that in years. It’s beeg not beak for stealing. Mong is not just a Galway word and it is a word I abhor. Many of these words would be widely used in Menlo, Barna and a few other places outside the city.

:oops:Corb. I do apologise. Brainfart.

[QUOTE=“Horsebox, post: 1113563, member: 1537”]Yeah I omitted bure because it is not just Galway slang-also used in Cork and a few other places plus it was not an exhaustive list. Forgot about grade-haven’t used that in years. It’s beeg not beak for stealing. Mong is not just a Galway word and it is a word I abhor. Many of these words would be widely used in Menlo, Barna and a few other places outside the city.

:oops:Corb. I do apologise. Brainfart.[/QUOTE]

Menlo and Barna aren’t outside the city pal

Yeah sorry read your post wrong-won’t quibble about it but Barna would be considered outside of the city by most Galway people I know. Plenty of people from out Furbo and Spiddal way would use some of that slang too.

Mush

I’m only rising you. That slang would be used by wannabe townies in a few locations I think.

Not slang but is the numbers on bottles of Bucky purely a Galway thing too?