The archaic and/or regional slang thread

Cat melojin( ???) As in my spelling of that is cat melojin… ie terrible…often shortened to just cat in north tipp as in Jesus we hurled cat tonight … or that yoke I shifted in the ragg last night was cat. Stook as in fool would be an old one from down around kk . Probably have the spelling arseways there as well…

Transmonglified meaning very drunk.

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 1113755, member: 246”]FAO @farmerinthecity[/USER] , [USER=189]@massey ferguson[/USER] and [USER=48]@thedancingbaby

I stove him with the fucking graipe Your Honour…Please explain.[/QUOTE]
You stuck him with a pitchfork,they haven’t a clue what a graipe is down here boxty,I get called "pall " “bud/buddy” at work inside in town or “mush” back west

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 1113755, member: 246”]FAO @farmerinthecity[/USER] , [USER=189]@massey ferguson[/USER] and [USER=48]@thedancingbaby

I stove him with the fucking graipe Your Honour…Please explain.[/QUOTE]
They also don’t know what a stork is or a hoggett or a shaker or a linkbox

A variation of that in Limerick would be ‘be wide’ - Be wide there kid and I stick the skins. It could also be used to let someone know they were in your general space without invitation, as in some fella is all hands telling a story- Be wide you cunt i’m sticking the skins.

It’s Melodeon, the instrument, though pronounced Melojin in most places.

i’d have heard stook used also. a lad prone to bad luck or who just a pitiable woukd be refered to as " bit of a mi-ath" pronounced me-awe. not sure how widespread that one is.

It’s a general be careful. Be wide of that fella couldn’t be up to him.

Shelligabookie. A snail.

Hole. Did you get your hole.

Shades - the gardai
Grade - money
Feek - geting the ride or a hot bird
The dip - getting the ride
Gomi - a fool
Fein - young lad
Sneer - a laugh
Kid - can be a male of any age
Haunty wans - hot young ones

[QUOTE=“The Most Infamous, post: 1114021, member: 1783”]Shades - the gardai
Grade - money
Feek - geting the ride or a hot bird
The dip - getting the ride
Gomi - a fool
Fein - young lad
Sneer - a laugh
Kid - can be a male of any age
Haunty wans - hot young ones[/QUOTE]
All traveller slang surely

Hes dead wide - you wouldn’t catch him out easily.

Dublin slang

Galoon mush - Ah man
Nante Mush - No man

Limerick/West Limerick slang

Mush is a pure West Limerick word, mainly around Askeaton/Rathkeale area

‘sconce’ - Keep a sconce out there a second (Keep a look out)

A muggy boy/Innocent boy/dirty innocent boy/clever boy/dacent boy - All meaning a youngfella who might be a bit innocent/goodie two shoes/squealer/not one of “the boys”. All widely used around NCW.

John - Another NCW word, townies and wannabe townies use it for any male ie; 'Well John, hows tricks?!" even if the lads name is Mikey.

Country fellas just use ‘boy’ or ‘lad’. No fussy stuff. “Well lad, whats the story?” or “Hows things boy?!”

Another NCW one is “Gatt” meaning drink/alcohol.

Another feature of the NCW slang is sticking ‘Will you’ into a sentence twice; “Will you go waaay John will you, you dirty innocent boy”.

‘A rev of liqour’ is a good country one for a good session.

A rake or pile are also used.

@Fagan ODowd is ‘gowl’ used much down Waterford way? A great word which Limerick folk use regularly.

If you were really irked you’d fire on a ‘bag’ at the end of it- Look at that fucking gowl-bag over there with the cons - faggot.

Leading me onto the old Limerick favourite for trainers/sneakers - Tackies. I met a South African once who claimed they used the same word so no doubt a binman or docker brought it back after a rugby tour… ‘The state of his tackies’ - Why is that guy wearing non nike/adidas footwear. ‘Nawful smell of your tackies’- The pong emanating from your footwear is making me want to retch.

My in laws will say about someone that theres no “fear” or him wheres as I would say theres no “loss” on them meaning their grand

Gabhal / anglicised gowl is a limerick word. Women dont appreciate it so much when explained to them as cunt

Did you get the" rinse " (the ride) was one bandied about in my school days not sure where it came from…and haven’t ever heard it since . I quiet like it though.

Scones (pron "sk-ons) - as in did you get your scones last night. Another word for shift or kiss a bird. Widely used around KK City in the early 90s not sure if it still is.

Did you get the rattle - did you have sex?
schillacci - can be used to greet someone “howya schillaccci” or referring to a scumbag “he’s a bit of a schillacci”