[quote=āThe Pukeā]Barry Nugent had a fine game for Eire Og i hear, more or less cemented his spot on the teamā¦Colin Ryan and Dave Barrett looked decent enough for Newmarket while Damien Browne wasnāt up to his usual high standards the same nightā¦
Tomy Carmody didnāt hurl against us the weekend, conlon was his usual bussling selfā¦
Heard both gilli and morey were poor enough for the bridge[/QUOTE]
Whether itās a suitable guide to form or not is another thing. Iāve often seen Clare forwards on fire for the clubs in the run up to championship and it meant fuck all to their county performance. What the hell is up with Carmody? I must make enquiries.
[quote=āThe Pukeā]It is, I am resigned to losing it at this stage but hope that Mac has the foresight to at least blood a few of the young lads rather than stay with the older lads who are out of formā¦
Mike Macās days appear to be numbered though, so Iād wonder if heāll be thinking long term development. The league wouldnāt suggest so. What do you think heāll need to do to save his job puke?
A decent enough performance against tipp and a couple of wins in the qualifiers(quarter final stages at the minimum)ā¦Have the feeling he wonāt achieve this and the son of a powerful county board member will be paracuted in next season and set the county back even further
I would have thought a win over any two of waterford/kilkenny/galway/tipperary/cork would be the target. No way should he be left in the job if he falls short of a big performance at the QF or SF stage. As for next year I canāt see that happening puke. Sheer madness.
Jaysus Puke, as an unmitigated Clareman, is that the best you can offer? Youāre developing a Des Dolan /Dipstick Morrisson attitude already.
'Tis champo lad, brave hearts and fire, fooks sake, while knowing f/all about the Munster scene this is white flag stuff already. Ger Locke would have you outā¦poor form:eek:
[quote=āBoxtyeaterā]Jaysus Puke, as an unmitigated Clareman, is that the best you can offer? Youāre developing a Des Dolan /Dipstick Morrisson attitude already.
'Tis champo lad, brave hearts and fire, fooks sake, while knowing f/all about the Munster scene this is white flag stuff already. Ger Locke would have you outā¦poor form:eek:[/QUOTE]
Boxty I have heard so many stories about the set up/panel this year it is very hard to find any optimism, I am a realist at the end of the dayā¦the likes of Nickey O Connell, Domhniall O Donovan, Damien Browne, Gary O Connell, Conor Cooney, John Conlon, Enda Barrett et al all needed serious game time during the league and none of them got it, our big name players are either completely out of form or not on the panel and morale seems to be fairly low, I would say this year will be roughly the same as 2007ā¦
We have only a small chance against tipp and need a hell of a lot to go our way the same day
A chink of light at the end of the tunnel, Clare beat Limerick in a challenge match last night and the team that played actually had a decent shape to itā¦
[quote=āThe Pukeā]A chink of light at the end of the tunnel, Clare beat Limerick in a challenge match last night and the team that played actually had a decent shape to itā¦
Bring on tipp to fuck![/QUOTE]
Mixed reports on the standard. Weāll take what we can get at this stage though. Conlon play much of a part?
Got a run in the second half I believe, the team that started is over on clarehurlers and seems to have a decent shape to it, wouldnāt mind see it start against tipp
I wouldnāt go with it myself but there are things to like about it. First of all Iād feel myself that JC and BOC would be a match for any midfield in the country if theyāre used properly. Iād actually have preferred to see Clancy with Lynch and BOC at centre back but maybe this is more forward thinking altogether. I presume Mac was at full-back because of Cooney getting injured, because Iād be worried about Markham competing for puck-outs at wing back and it would be foolish to hand Tipp an option in the one area they are fierce weak. You wouldnt know then with Barrett at full and Ryan at wing forward. Will they be able to battle and win their own ball? Fuck it they should be able to finish anyway I suppose and thatās something.
Whatever happens weāre going to have to smother the life out of Tipp for the first half and hour and if we get our noses in front who knows what might happen. On another note I hope their 21ās win tonight. Thereās only one team we want if we get over Limerick.
I would have no worries about Dave Barrett winning ball, really like the look of him, he had a good league last year and got injured in the run up to the championship and never got a look inā¦Well able to mix it and take a score, would rather him starting than Carmody or Griffinā¦
Good hurler alright but I think heās a bit hot tempered. Youāll always get plenty of it from a Tipp full-back line and either you can shrug it off or you can give it back. Iāve seen Barrett pull some awful stupid belts on lads that he hadnāt a hope of getting away with. Wasnāt it last year he got sent off against Galway after less than sixty seconds on the field. If he has the maturity for it heāll be grand. Ryan is definitely better off out there as well. The more ball he sees the better heāll play. No point leaving a young lad in the corner on the likes of Conor OāBrien. Youāre dead right on Griffin and Carmody.
As a proud backs man myself though Iād have to ask whether we have the fire and brimstone at the rear to beat Tipp. Demoralising the Tipp forwards always was and still is the way to beat them. You know yourself puke the first three balls is when you bury a forwards confidence. If they let the Tipp lads know there are no soft scores coming very early on weāll expose that soft centre everyone thinks is there. If they donāt Iād itās all the same what forwards they pick.
I would agree with all of that to be honest, whether the aggresion is there is the question, they will be bulling to get a go off tipp but whether they get it right is another questionā¦
We really need the half back line and midfield to start wellā¦if tipp start winning handy ball they will win pulling upā¦GOG and Vaughan will hold up well in the corners, while James Mac is tough out, whether he has the hurling for full back is another question(would rather him than Cooney at this moment in time)ā¦
BOC will probably sit deep and look to cover the space that the tipp half forward line will try and make by coming out the field and coming off the wings