[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]Great debating there WTB.
Whats your excuse for last sunday?[/QUOTE]
I particularly liked âAnd iâm not slagging Clare, if they kept going the way they were theyâd not have 2 extra All-Irelands.â
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]Great debating there WTB.
Whats your excuse for last sunday?[/QUOTE]
I particularly liked âAnd iâm not slagging Clare, if they kept going the way they were theyâd not have 2 extra All-Irelands.â
Well they wouldnât, theyâd have been blown away like they were for 89 years or whatever it was. They came up with a plan and it was very successful.
I really donât get what your on about in general though, you just make statements and back them up with nothing.
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]Well they wouldnât, theyâd have been blown away like they were for 89 years or whatever it was. They came up with a plan and it was very successful.
I really donât get what your on about in general though, you just make statements and back them up with nothing.[/QUOTE]
youâre not your
Your long post was so obviously deluded Iâm just presuming you are on a wind-up.
[quote=âWatch The Breakâ]youâre not your
Your long post was so obviously deluded Iâm just presuming you are on a wind-up.[/QUOTE]
Again, no debate.
Good luck.
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]The speed of the game is certainly faster, but to the trained eye if you look at these old games their basic skills were superb. For me the 70âs and 80âs had the most skillful hurlers overall. Cork, Tipp and KK obviously have provided alot of them, but the emergence of Galway and Offaly in the 80âs really made a huge difference. The amount of hurlers who run over the ball trying to pick it up these days is unreal. I was there is 1995, what has 8,000 got to do with it. That would be norm for Cork-Clare back then outside of a Munster final. Clares emergence then insured they would attract more people, thats natural.
But hurling wasnât great in the mid to late 90âs anyway, from a skill point of view. Offaly had great stickmen, and all the other winners like KK, Wex, Cork and Clare had some lovely hurlers, but a huge amount of âathletesâ and mullockers as well.
I think KK are slightly bringing it back to its old ways, making it more of a one man against another man again, just in 14 different parts of the field. All the bunching etc that Clare introduced meant big men were needed. And iâm not slagging Clare, if they kept going the way they were theyâd not have 2 extra All-Irelands.[/QUOTE]
Right.
If youâre so adamant youâre not on a wind-up Iâll respond.
Who has this trained eye youâre talking about. Is it just yourself? Because I have heard plenty of players and commentators alike state completely the opposite. The seventies and eighties had the most skillful hurlers overall - what are you basing this on. Hopefully not the All-Ireland Gold matches because that would be a weak defence. Yes the game is faster. But games being played at a faster pace are better spectacles - was your point not that it isnât as good anymore? If thatâs the case what youâre saying is the munster championship was better when it was worse.
The crowd level is massively relevant as it indicates public interest. Youâre quoting Tipp/Cork as a great example of how things used to be better - that was one game. Attendance at the Clare/Waterford replay a year later was less than 2,000. Would that happen now? Of course not. And if youâre claiming thatâs because both counties have since âemergedâ, well surely thatâs a sign that things are better, not worse.
Your argument that the munster championship âainât what she used to beâ boils down to your own subjective analysis of skill levels, when skills like long-range shooting, striking on the run, goal scoring, and goalkeeping are clearly miles better. What youâre saying kev, is âdonât believe your eyes, believe meâ. No thanks, youâre grand.
Sorry to interrupt what is clearly a vigorous lively exchange by well bred well read heartly individuals, but can I ask
What or Who is Liam 09?
I take it I can cross off Liam Gallagherâs fashion line yaw?
If youâre so adamant youâre not on a wind-up Iâll respond.
Who has this trained eye youâre talking about. Anyone who can look beyond the speed of the game. I personally(and this could be just taste) donât think a fast game neccessarily means a better game Is it just yourself? Because I have heard plenty of players and commentators alike state completely the opposite.I have also heard (and spoke to) ex-players who have said the game isnât as good, thats peoples opinions, they will differ, i couldnât quantify what the overall opinion of the ex-players and commentators is. The seventies and eighties had the most skillful hurlers overall - what are you basing this on. Hopefully not the All-Ireland Gold matches because that would be a weak defence.Well iâd be basing the 80âs on my own viewing at games, while i would have watched alot of the 70âs on tapes etc, your clearly basing your whole argument on watching those same All-Ireland golds, What age are you? Yes the game is faster. But games being played at a faster pace are better spectacles - was your point not that it isnât as good anymore? If thatâs the case what youâre saying is the munster championship was better when it was worse.My biggest hang up with the Munster championship is it means fuck all theses days, and teams prepare for late July/August as opposed to May-June when it was knockout. Teams are doing some serious conditioning work into May these days, the hurling is suffering. If you canât accept that then your a tool. Of course there was shite games back in the day too, iâm not saying there wasnât.
The crowd level is massively relevant as it indicates public interest. Youâre quoting Tipp/Cork as a great example of how things used to be better - that was one game. Attendance at the Clare/Waterford replay a year later was less than 2,000. Would that happen now? Of course not. And if youâre claiming thatâs because both counties have since âemergedâ, well surely thatâs a sign that things are better, not worse.I agree with you on the more competition the better, but you made my argument for me really, those counties had no success, so people didnât follow them, now they do. I can already see the those two counties crowds falling away already as they slip back, Clare more than Waterford
Your argument that the munster championship âainât what she used to beâ boils down to your own subjective analysis of skill levels, when skills like long-range shooting, striking on the run,Would argue that this is about the same goal scoring,Eh wrong, goal scoring levels are way down. FACT and goalkeepingtotally agree, the keepers are miles better now are clearly miles better. What youâre saying kev, is âdonât believe your eyes, believe meâ. No thanks, youâre grand.
[B]You have forgotten picking the ball off the ground (with the hurl of course), along with overhead skills and doubling on the ball, has gone so far back that its compareable to Junior A club hurling at times.
I loved over head pulling, both to watch and as a player, its never practiced at training anymore. Doubling on the ball is such a rarity now as well, a huge loss to hurling. Guys hitting the ball over the bar from the hurley is rare, in fairness DJ was the last fella i can remember to perfect this. Sidelines had gone to shite for a while, with all this tapping backwards etc.
There is too much emphasis on fitness still, even though itâs not as bad as a few years ago. Fitness with the ball is sacrificed for pure running, and (as a qualified Fitness Instructor) i am bemused by this, there is no need for it. I have no problem with the conditioning training, once it doesnât interfere with at least 2 nights of pure hurling, or football for that matter[/B]
Whatâd ye make of this lads? Mbb youâll be getting worried Iâd say.
Ring shocker for hurling relegation losers
By Martin Breheny
Thursday June 18 2009
THE county which finishes last in this yearâs All-Ireland SHC Cup relegation battle will get a major shock as they will be automatically demoted to Christy Ring Cup level for 2010.
Unlike last year, when Laois, who finished bottom in the Liam McCarthy Cup section, earned a reprieve after beating Christy Ring Cup winners, Carlow, in a play-off, there will be no second chance this time. Instead, the bottom team will be demoted and replaced by the winners of the Carlow-Down Christy Ring Cup final.
Four teams will be involved in the relegation play-off, comprised of the two losers from the first-round qualifiers and the two losers from the second-round qualifiers, involving the beaten Munster and Leinster semi-finalists. The relegation battle will be played off down to a âfinalâ where the losers drop down.
The change arises from a Westmeath motion which was adopted at Congress in April where it accepted that Christy Ring Cup winners deserved automatic promotion without having to play the bottom team in the Liam McCarthy Cup section.
There was confusion over the timing of the change, but Central Council confirmed that it would apply from this year on. The same will also apply to the other grades.
Carlow lost out under the previous arrangements last year, for after winning the Christy Ring Cup, they lost a promotion-relegation play off to Laois by 10 points.
The draw for the first-round qualifiers on July 4 will be made next Sunday, featuring Antrim, Cork, Laois and Offaly. The first team drawn in each pairing will have home advantage.
The two winners will head for the third round of the qualifiers where they will play the winners of Round 2, featuring beaten Leinster (Galway or Kilkenny, Dublin or Wexford) and Munster (Limerick or Waterford, Clare or Tipperary) semi-finalists.
Yep, weâre worried alright. Interesting the only two counties that objected to it.
However if weâre not good enough to stay up then we deserve to go down. Itâd be a pity to make the drop now when there are serious strides being made at underage level though.
Worth mentioning here that reports abound that James Young redone his cruciate in a Club game over the weekend.
would Young not have been suspended for Laois anyway MBB? assume he got a 2 month ban for his wild pull int he galway game.
Young would have been suspended Gman, but that doesnt make him doing his cruciate twice in 2 years any better now does it?!
nope, bad alright. but sure Darragh Ryan coped with both knees being done and maybe one of them twice, not sure. Would hear of players redoing it and never being quite right after. would be a massive blow for ye in the long run, he is a very good player.
Iâd say heâs done now, you wont see him playing intercounty anymore.
Thatâs some disaster. Hurling people in Laois deserve serious respect. If the borders were drawn a bit differently theyâd have won ten All-Irelands.
Offaly not getting goals through side nettings in the 80âs would have done. The borders are grand, wouldnt want any of Tipp Kilkenny Carlow or Kildare. Offaly are an alright sort.
Theyâll have to disown Duignan before I can go along with that.
Speaking of Offaly I watched the last ten minutes of the 94 All-Ireland again the other night. Whatever about Offaly catching fire, Limerick were absolutely shocking. Each and every one of them fell to bits when the pressure came on. They couldnât even pick up the ball. Limerick sporting pride got some dent in it that day.
Huge respect for Offaly. Small county, and still hugely competitive in both codes over the years. I have great admiration for them.
Duignan is a fool, but all countys have the village idiot.
They produced Matt Connor, Sid, John Troy, Joe Dooley, Johnny Pilkington, nuff said.
[quote=âmyboyblueâ]Huge respect for Offaly. Small county, and still hugely competitive in both codes over the years. I have great admiration for them.
Duignan is a fool, but all countys have the village idiot.
They produced Matt Connor, Sid, John Troy, Joe Dooley, Johnny Pilkington, nuff said.[/QUOTE]
Funny that
Care to expand?