The Battle for Liam 09

The Munster Hurling Championship is fucked, but not Munster hurling. At peak performance there is still 3 or 4 very good teams in Munster.

I don’t think anyone called Tipp-Cork a classic, it was a good game of hurling, without ever reaching the heights.
If Munster Hurling is in trouble then hurling itself is in trouble, it also begs the question that if Munster Hurling is so poor does that devalue the achievements of the current KK squad as leinster hurling is shit at the moment also.

This ‘oh the munster championship is gone’ talk seems to only have come along in the last few years. I’d say you could pop it into the ‘I Demand to be Entertained’ Sky Sports generation box. Cop the fuck on and talk about hurling.

But it is gone. The teams don’t prepare for it the way they used to, simple as that. The standard has dropped alarmingly and i blame the focus of the etams on later in the year, with teams only starting “hurling” 3-4 weeks before a game.
They are turning into League games with big crowds.

Munster hurling me arse.

Going off topic, there has been some shocking penalties in this years championship. Didint want to start a new topic so left it here, but Offaly missed 2 penalties against Wexford, Gooch missed one awful penalty against Cork and the Wicklow player yesterday took another dreadful penalty. Has there been any other misses I left out? O’Connors yesterday was well struck and accurate, but another inch and it would have been another miss.

:rolleyes::clap::D:clap:

even kilkenny have realised that you can’t peak for every game of the championship.
kerry are masters at it, and i guarantee will be a different team come mid-august.

this notion of “the poorest munster championship game ever” is absolute drivel of the worst kind.
ask any blaa who witnessed the defeat to kerry in 93 what he thought of it.

a couple of games into the championship and one of those teams on display yesterday will be unrecognisable.
hopefully limerick.

even kilkenny have realised that you can’t peak for every game of the championship.
kerry are masters at it, and i guarantee will be a different team come mid-august.

this notion of “the poorest munster championship game ever” is absolute drivel of the worst kind.
ask any blaa who witnessed the defeat to kerry in 93 what he thought of it.

a couple of games into the championship and one of those teams on display yesterday will be unrecognisable.
hopefully limerick.[/QUOTE]

Come off it. Of course a blaa is gonna say it was shite, they lost. The Kerry lads are gonna think it was the greatest game of all time.
What do the neutrals think? That match yesterday was as bad a Munster Championship match as I can remember.

And yeah I want to be entertained, so shoot me. [queue smiley]
Do you not want to be entertained WTB?

[quote=“cluaindiuic”][queue smiley]
Do you not want to be entertained WTB?[/QUOTE]

Hurling always entertains me. This clowns farting on about not being not being like the old days need to take out an old video. It’s a ridiculous ‘consumer centered’ culture that needs to fuck right off.

Get out the Cork-Tipp 1991 draw and replay and come back to me. That was Munster Championship hurling. Or Limerick-Clare in 1996. The stuff these days is shite, nothing else but shite. I watched Cork-Tipp '91 shortly after the Cork-Waterford 2004 Munster final. For all the talk about that waterford game, it still wasn’t a patch on '91.

Maybe your too young to remember those games, or when it was totally knockout, but the standard has dropped, no doubt.

there are only about 6 counties in Ireland that play hurling you fuckin idiot:D so if munster have 4 good teams then its strong:D:D

what you are basically saying is hurling is dead:D:D

[quote=“north county corncrake”]there are only about 6 counties in Ireland that play hurling you fuckin idiot:D so if munster have 4 good teams then its strong:D:D

what you are basically saying is hurling is dead:D:D[/QUOTE]

Ya, its goosed. I’ve been saying that for 6 or 7 years now though.
Guys can’t coach it anymore.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ya, its goosed. I’ve been saying that for 6 or 7 years now though.
Guys can’t coach it anymore.[/QUOTE]

its not the coaching-its kids dont want to play it - why has it never been popular throughout the whole of Ireland- if the GGA dealt with that rather than all the smug self praising about their silly little game it wouldnt be such a minority sport

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Get out the Cork-Tipp 1991 draw and replay and come back to me. That was Munster Championship hurling. Or Limerick-Clare in 1996. The stuff these days is shite, nothing else but shite. I watched Cork-Tipp '91 shortly after the Cork-Waterford 2004 Munster final. For all the talk about that waterford game, it still wasn’t a patch on '91.

Maybe your too young to remember those games, or when it was totally knockout, but the standard has dropped, no doubt.[/QUOTE]

I honestly don’t agree. You got the occasional classic but you still the occasional classic. There are average games every year and there always was. I was at the Clare/Cork game in '95 and there was 8,000 in the crowd, and there was nothing said about it. I don’t dispute the fact that the qualifiers have had an impact but neither do I buy into this ‘the old days were best’ craic. All Ireland Gold disproved that long ago.

The speed of the game is certainly faster, but to the trained eye if you look at these old games their basic skills were superb. For me the 70’s and 80’s had the most skillful hurlers overall. Cork, Tipp and KK obviously have provided alot of them, but the emergence of Galway and Offaly in the 80’s really made a huge difference. The amount of hurlers who run over the ball trying to pick it up these days is unreal. I was there is 1995, what has 8,000 got to do with it. That would be norm for Cork-Clare back then outside of a Munster final. Clares emergence then insured they would attract more people, thats natural.

But hurling wasn’t great in the mid to late 90’s anyway, from a skill point of view. Offaly had great stickmen, and all the other winners like KK, Wex, Cork and Clare had some lovely hurlers, but a huge amount of “athletes” and mullockers as well.

I think KK are slightly bringing it back to its old ways, making it more of a one man against another man again, just in 14 different parts of the field. All the bunching etc that Clare introduced meant big men were needed. And i’m not slagging Clare, if they kept going the way they were they’d not have 2 extra All-Irelands.

Based on two games? :smiley: One average one and one played in a downpour?

Bollocks. Lets not act like prima donnas, the quality of teams and matches vary from year to year, talking nonsense about Munster Hurling is dead if just that, nonsense.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]The speed of the game is certainly faster, but to the trained eye if you look at these old games their basic skills were superb. For me the 70’s and 80’s had the most skillful hurlers overall. Cork, Tipp and KK obviously have provided alot of them, but the emergence of Galway and Offaly in the 80’s really made a huge difference. The amount of hurlers who run over the ball trying to pick it up these days is unreal. I was there is 1995, what has 8,000 got to do with it. That would be norm for Cork-Clare back then outside of a Munster final. Clares emergence then insured they would attract more people, thats natural.

But hurling wasn’t great in the mid to late 90’s anyway, from a skill point of view. Offaly had great stickmen, and all the other winners like KK, Wex, Cork and Clare had some lovely hurlers, but a huge amount of “athletes” and mullockers as well.

I think KK are slightly bringing it back to its old ways, making it more of a one man against another man again, just in 14 different parts of the field. All the bunching etc that Clare introduced meant big men were needed. And i’m not slagging Clare, if they kept going the way they were they’d not have 2 extra All-Irelands.[/QUOTE]

Great debating there WTB.
Whats your excuse for last sunday?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]

I think KK are slightly bringing it back to its old ways, making it more of a one man against another man again, just in 14 different parts of the field. All the bunching etc that Clare introduced meant big men were needed. And i’m not slagging Clare, if they kept going the way they were they’d not have 2 extra All-Irelands.[/QUOTE]

Kevin you’re a gom. Kilkenny go out of their way to keep their half backs close to goal with the mid fielders just in front, and half forwards just in front of that. Exactly what Davy is getting lambasted for.

They do it perfectly and are the best hurling team in the world.

They stick to it and eventually the crowd their playing against clog up their forwards by marking the kk half backs and leave them selves 3 on 3 in acres of space the back.

[quote=“Appendage”]Kevin you’re a gom. Kilkenny go out of their way to keep their half backs close to goal with the mid fielders just in front, and half forwards just in front of that. Exactly what Davy is getting lambasted for.

They do it perfectly and are the best hurling team in the world.

They stick to it and eventually the crowd their playing against clog up their forwards by marking the kk half backs and leave them selves 3 on 3 in acres of space the back.[/QUOTE]

they create one on one battles, they are stronger than most teams and far better hurlers, so this suits them. They pull players back on puck outs, to create these one on ones.
Anyway its far less tactical than many of the more recent winners.

Davy is getting lambasted for being a media whore from what i can see, as well as having questionable tactics. Trying to copy KK (if thats what he’s doing) with the hurlers at his disposal is suicide. But there is no tactics or anything that can excuse that 2nd half performance the last day. The players have to ship alot of that blame, they were cat. I don’t know what any of them were doing, but i doubt Davy told them to go out and play it like a challenge game.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]they create one on one battles, they are stronger than most teams and far better hurlers, so this suits them. They pull players back on puck outs, to create these one on ones.
Anyway its far less tactical than many of the more recent winners.

Davy is getting lambasted for being a media whore from what i can see, as well as having questionable tactics. Trying to copy KK (if thats what he’s doing) with the hurlers at his disposal is suicide. But there is no tactics or anything that can excuse that 2nd half performance the last day. The players have to ship alot of that blame, they were cat. I don’t know what any of them were doing, but i doubt Davy told them to go out and play it like a challenge game.[/QUOTE]

Ok in theory you’re right, in that if 6 on 6 (in their defensive end)was divided by 6 it would indeed be 1 on 1 but in reality it doesn’t work out like that. Its a “hape”, like sheep in a “hape” as the great man* from Ardfinnan used say.

*Who was his usual deluded egotistical self on Today FM’s gaa show in Sunday morning.