The Battle for Liam 09

Arsene Wenger doesnt believe in it. Think he has a point.

I thought Canning was a bit disapointing from general play. I dont think he caught a high ball in the game.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]What?

Again - what?

Jesus Christ did it ever dawn on you that by scoring well he is being a leader? The reason that they lost both matches was not down to Canning’s lack of leadership. His heroic performances have gotten them within striking distances of matches, without which they wouldn’t have gotten within an ass’ roar of Cork/Kilkenny.

Talk about begrudgery. Yeah he has scored 2-9 and 2-12 but really he should be beating the likes of Kilkenny and Cork by himself.

Ridiculous.[/QUOTE]

Bang on, the shite from the KK folk about Tommy, Joe Canning and yellow/red cards is embarrassing.
He should be dropped, its only Cody that will sort him i’m afraid, the ref’s are afraid of KK.
Does Pat Mac ref hurling by any chance lads?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Bang on, the shite from the KK folk about Tommy, Joe Canning and yellow/red cards is embarrassing.
He should be dropped, its only Cody that will sort him i’m afraid, the ref’s are afraid of KK.
Does Pat Mac ref hurling by any chance lads?[/QUOTE]

why are refs afriad of KK?

Best question you ever asked, i don’t fucking know, but they bottle big decisions with them all the time. I think its a big team mentality. Its happened with Kerry in football and Cork, and Tipp in hurling in different periods as well.
It seems to happen in alot of sports.

Of course there is the argument as well about creating your own luck, but i think KK get away with murder.

Ok, the more I think about it the more obvious it gets.

Take the following example.

You are Raphael nadal.
You are the world number 1 after the French open.
You won some grand slams the previous year.
The next event is Wimbledon.
You win Wimbledon.
Between Wimbledon and your previous event there were a few smaller tournaments but you skipped them.

What are the chances that you are still world number 1 after Wimbledon?

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]Ok, the more I think about it the more obvious it gets.

Take the following example.

You are Raphael nadal.
You are the world number 1 after the French open.
You won some grand slams the previous year.
The next event is Wimbledon.
You win Wimbledon.
Between Wimbledon and your previous event there were a few smaller tournaments but you skipped them.

What are the chances that you are still world number 1 after Wimbledon?[/QUOTE]

Thats an individual sport you spacer, hardly a logical comparision.

Look KK have the best “Team” in the country, for 3 years now, and they are pulling further and further away from the rest. That doesn’t mean they have the best individual playing for them. That for me is Joe Canning.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Thats an individual sport you spacer, hardly a logical comparision.

Look KK have the best “Team” in the country, for 3 years now, and they are pulling further and further away from the rest. That doesn’t mean they have the best individual playing for them. That for me is Joe Canning.[/QUOTE]

Well you walked into that one didn’t you, Joe canning and Eoin larkin were on the same field the other night and there was only one award for man of the match. Did anyone catch who got it?

And did everyone get to vote on that, no, Micheal Dumbass Duignan did i believe. If your going to take him for everything he says your in big trouble.
But of course i wouldn’t be judging it on one game, and Larkin is a brilliant player, and was superb the other night. He is not as good as Joe Canning though, and he also has 14 better players around him. Galway are very fit, all heart and have generally a good attitude, but are still more or less a one man team.
I believe Joe should have been giving a break from JJ the other night, maybe go out and make Tennyson play further up the pitch.
A player of JJ’s caliber would always win some of the battles.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]And did everyone get to vote on that, no, Micheal Dumbass Duignan did i believe. If your going to take him for everything he says your in big trouble.
But of course i wouldn’t be judging it on one game, and Larkin is a brilliant player, and was superb the other night. He is not as good as Joe Canning though, and he also has 14 better players around him. Galway are very fit, all heart and have generally a good attitude, but are still more or less a one man team.I believe Joe should have been giving a break from JJ the other night, maybe go out and make Tennyson play further up the pitch.
A player of JJ’s caliber would always win some of the battles.[/QUOTE]

Where was that one man team when the game was in the balance? Maybe it’s on McIntyre, maybe not.

So who would you have given the MOTM to?

Larkin was the clear MOTM in most people’s eyes not just Duignan and not just mine. When the game was in the balance he came up with 0-4 and laid on multiple hand passes to put other players in scoring positions and by doing so dragged his team to a win.

Canning was, apart from the early goal, largely anonymous from play. Canning was held by a make-shift fullback and has yet to even play in an All-Ireland Quarter Final and until he proves it on the biggest stage he is not the best hurler in the country.

Nobody has ever won an All-star on Club championship form, college form or in recent years even league form doesn’t help.
Sport is a fickle bitch. GAA is a particularly fickle bitch. Championship hurling is where you get the accolades.
Not league, not club, not college.
The winning teams gets the MOTM nod, the glory, the medals, the All-stars and HOTY. In some cases it can be argued the other way but not in this case. Larkin is still the man to beat.
And as we all know to be the man…[spoiler]Wooooooo!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjW9UXoKU2s
[/spoiler] you gotta beat the man…

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]Where was that one man team when the game was in the balance? Maybe it’s on McIntyre, maybe not.

He was out at CHF trying to get ball because he’d been starved of possession for 20 mins up to that point.

You’re very hard on him just because you think it weakens KK to strengthen him.

[quote=“myboyblue”]He was out at CHF trying to get ball because he’d been starved of possession for 20 mins up to that point.

You’re very hard on him just because you think it weakens KK to strengthen him.[/QUOTE]

I don’t think that at all. He is an excellent player but he has only really been tested in Championship hurling twice.
Once he delivered massively and could not be contained by a genuine championship contending defence, the other time he delivered some but was eventually contained. And both times his team lost.

I think the team that many have been described by many as the greatest team of all team deserve more credit on an individual level. Larkin has been the standout player in the last year delivering performance after performance in last years Provincial and AI Series and again on Saturday.

I dont think anyone here had a go at KK, they were just pointing out the quality of the game and the fact that Galway put it up to KK but couldnt overcome them.

People like stars, and Canning is a star. Larkin is a fantastic hurler, hurler of the year, I think that shows people rate him.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]I don’t think that at all. He is an excellent player but he has only really been tested in Championship hurling twice.
Once he delivered massively and could not be contained by a genuine championship contending defence, the other time he delivered some but was eventually contained. And both times his team lost.

I think the team that many have been described by many as the greatest team of all team deserve more credit on an individual level. Larkin has been the standout player in the last year delivering performance after performance in last years Provincial and AI Series and again on Saturday.[/QUOTE]

Larkin was superb in the 2nd half, and look it wasn’t a bad call or anything. Canning was breaking his balls from what i could see, he just didn’t have the guys around him. He was also fouled for a few of those frees, so you can’t just disregard the 2-09. The penalty is rarely scored in hurling these days as well, he made Ryan make a super save, but then buried the 2nd one.
Again, Larkin feeds off other super hurlers, but could never do some of the things Canning does.
Take the KK glasses off, your achievements are well feated, and deservedly so. Canning is the better player for me, no matter what you say.

[quote=“myboyblue”]I dont think anyone here had a go at KK, they were just pointing out the quality of the game and the fact that Galway put it up to KK but couldnt overcome them.

People like stars, and Canning is a star. Larkin is a fantastic hurler, hurler of the year, I think that shows people rate him.[/QUOTE]

Agree totally with above.

I think Galway made some serious strides forward anyway. They had a good attitude and workrate but struggled to win possession in their forward line in the second half. The team spirit seemed to be a lot better than in recent years. Their subs didnt work out and I think Farragher in particular should have been brought on as he is a genuine scoring threat and can score from distance.

Their goalie isnt good enough and inspires zero confidence.

Joyce struggled with Fogarty’s pace and his best days are behind him I’d say. I’d move Moore back there.

Kavanagh was seen as a serious weaklink but I thought he performed really well.

Canning did well generally although Brennan beat him to a couple of high balls and should have buried that chance.

Moore struggled big time with Larkin’s movement in the second half but he competed well in the air anyway. Lee really came into it well in the second half and held the centre together well. Cullinane aint good enough imo.

Lynch did well midfield. Hynes was unlucky to be caused ashore as Tierney was absolutely useless and as for Murray;)

Smith and Callinan worked very hard but arent really scoring threats and that worked against Galway in the second half. I was really impressed by Donnellan’s pace and energy. If he improves his striking he will score more too.

Hayes started really well but faded. I felt he should have been brought out to the half forward line to run at Tommy Walsh. Canning scored a great goal but didnt win too much hard ball really and I thought he would bring his other forwards into the play better. Healy looked sharp and will be a major danger in Ennis.

Still Galway have some silly faults like their defenders soloing with the ball when there is no need to. When KK had dropped their half back line deeper their midfield and half forward line should have had the confidence to score from distance. Instead they often overplayed the ball. Larkin and Shefflin had no problem having a pop and that was the difference I felt.

People may like stars but he is being burdened with unrealistic expectations. I’m just trying to be more realistic.

No you weren’t, you were trying to tell us he isn’t the most talented hurler in the country, and that Eoin Larkin was better, because he has won more. If thats your belief then i’ve no problem whatsoever with that, i just disagree.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Eoin Larkin is some hurler.

Second best hurler in Ireland at the moment which says a lot.[/QUOTE]

Nope Kev, this all started with this post from Farmer.
Most talented in my opinion implies potential.
You are moving the goalposts.

The best hurler in Ireland at the moment in my opinion* is Eoin Larkin.

People like Larkin, Mullane and Noel McGrath this weekend must be delighted with the amount of attention Joe takes away from them. It probably motivates them too.

[SIZE=“1”]*My opinion is based on performances at the highest level[/SIZE]

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]Nope Kev, this all started with this post from Farmer.
Most talented in my opinion implies potential.
You are moving the goalposts.

The best hurler in Ireland at the moment in my opinion* is Eoin Larkin.

People like Larkin, Mullane and Noel McGrath this weekend must be delighted with the amount of attention Joe takes away from them. It probably motivates them too.

[SIZE=“1”]*My opinion is based on performances at the highest level[/SIZE][/QUOTE]

:pint:

They are all super hurlers, he’s the best (as in Canning).

Canning is a fine hurler no doubt but considering he has only played two meaningful championship matches it is far too early to say he is the best around at the moment…

Thought he was nothing more than average at the weekend, but tthen again an inside forward is only as good as the ball he is getting, if anything i was more impressed with Richie Power and the damage he did with little or no ball into him…he has a superb touch and showed great vision for Eddie Brennan’s goal