The Battle for Liam 09

chasing ass more like.

Tipperary are to line out as follows on Sunday.

Cummins
P Stapelton
Curran
O Brien
Fanning
P Maher
Mahoney
Woodlock
McGrath
Lar
Callinan
JOB
McGrath
Webster
Kelly

Sheedy had absolutely no form in naming dummy teams in terms of personnel/position switches so I would fully expect this team to start in these positions.

Paul Curran starts at full back and should have far too much for the greenhorn Aisaki O Halpin. You can be as athletic as you like but a better hurler will always best an inferior one.

Pauric Maher starts at centre back. A bit of a shock selection position wise but from what we have seen so far this lad looks the business.

McGrath is an automatic pick but Woodlock again is a bit of a surprise starter. A good parnetship however.

The Tipperary forward unit is simply a cut above anything Cork can offer. O Brien, Callinan, Corbett and Kelly all offer goal threats while McGrath may play loose out the field leaving Webster and Kelly in a bit of space. It has been well known that Kelly has been an advocate of starting with Webster for quite a while so lets see how it goes.

For Cork, the likes of Cusack, O Halpin are not the players they once were. Gardner is still quality and of course Ben O Conner is always excellent. Tipp beat Cork in 07 and 08 in the Championship and in my view have passed out Cork in the greater scheme of things. Tipp have improved their team since 08 but have Cork? Iā€™d have to say No.

Lets say Tipp 3 - 16 Cork 1 -20

Is that Eoin Kelly or Paul Kelly?

Eoin Kelly.

Tisnt often Iā€™d like to see Cork win, but gwan ta fuck the rebels this weekend!

Mbb what became of that outstanding avatar you had yesterday? Thatā€™s the sort of thing that should have ended up on the lovely ladies thread at the very least. Also whereā€™s your man Tommy Fitzgerald gone for yeā€™re hurlers? Dropped?

Tommyā€™s injured, groin operation needed, huge loss. I dont think we would get within 10 points of Galway with him or anything, but if we had the likes of Zane, Tommy and James operating withing 30 yards of goals, I think weā€™d be competitive in this competition. Without them, weā€™re fucked. Weā€™re missing 16 players so far over the course of the league campaign through injury and travel, Laois canā€™t afford that. Cahir Healy is also a huge loss to our backline. Sunday and the rest of the year will not be pretty.

As for yer wan, I didnt think she showed up her Barca loyalties well enough, she was a cheerleader for the Barca basketballers. I though this was a good one, has the club motto there, but you canā€™t really read it. Might switch back./

Any chance of a double knock out or a pile of suspensions?
Come onā€¦ughā€¦Tipp?

[quote=ā€œmyboyblueā€]Tommyā€™s injured, groin operation needed, huge loss. I dont think we would get within 10 points of Galway with him or anything, but if we had the likes of Zane, Tommy and James operating withing 30 yards of goals, I think weā€™d be competitive in this competition. Without them, weā€™re fucked. Weā€™re missing 16 players so far over the course of the league campaign through injury and travel, Laois canā€™t afford that. Cahir Healy is also a huge loss to our backline. Sunday and the rest of the year will not be pretty.

As for yer wan, I didnt think she showed up her Barca loyalties well enough, she was a cheerleader for the Barca basketballers. I though this was a good one, has the club motto there, but you canā€™t really read it. Might switch back./[/QUOTE]

Galway -13 must be safe?

think iā€™ll wade into a Offaly/cork doubleā€¦Aisake to run amokā€¦

Oh yea, most definitely Iā€™d say, but donā€™t take my word for it.

It could be even verging on the conservative.

Good luck with that, youā€™ll need it.

Thereā€™s not a chance that Offaly will win in fortress Wexford Park. Weā€™ve given them some severe batterings in the league at home in recent years. Now, some people will say, ā€˜this is different - itā€™s championshipā€™ but the fact remains that we are two shit teams who will be playing at league pace anyway. Wexford comfortably.

you need luck in any bet you make taht involves the bounce of the ballā€¦think Cork are a good priceā€¦

True for ya. Last two meetings below.

Laois 0-9 Galway 1-26
Laois 0-8 Galway 6-26

Depressing reading to be honest.

Iā€™d be looking for at least 7/2 or even 4/1 about Cork before iā€™d back them to beat them in Thurles, what with their preparation and all.

[quote=ā€œThe Pukeā€]Padraig Maher, started wing back in teh league final and went Centre back when Fanning got yellowedā€¦Was full back for the 21s last year and looks to be a very good hurler in the makingā€¦
Was only wondering the same thing about Kerwick a few minutes agoā€¦[/QUOTE]
Iā€™d just like to start with this:barcasmile:

Do ye really think heā€™ll play centre though, iā€™d say heā€™ll be on the wing, would be sheer madness to put a championship debutant on Niall Mac. Iā€™d say Conor Oā€™ Mahoney will move in.
Personally i think Tipp are bluffing, if thats the team i give Cork an even better chance. Kelly isnā€™t in good shape according to my south Tipp contacts, Mullach may have a better idea. I was told only the other day that there is no way heā€™ll be playing. Someones bluffing somewhere.
If Maher was centre back it would be a real call to put Martin Coleman in goal and have him land the ball on top of Niall Mac all day.
I heard last night Aisake and Gardiner arenā€™t actually starting at all, a fairly reliable source as well.
The mind games eh:rolleyes:

Sorry now, Timmys no DJ, but heā€™s no fecking David Tirney either.:pint: