The Battle for Sam 2009

Jesus, do they just round up the couple of hundred SR fans from around Dublin and force them to go and watch that shite so, thank god we have a choice in Cork.
GAA people don’t just go on the piss and watch their sport on tv from a different country, most would have been involved with their “own club” this weekend at some stage, watching or being involved.

[quote=“myboyblue”]You’re spot on there HBV. Tohill is a players man completely, likes the manliness of the game, and shur it was only an aul dunt he gave him.

I’d say Tohill was a filthy cunt.[/QUOTE]

I disagree MBB - agree with his views on refs/players as enunciated on the SG but there’s no way, no ff’in way I’ve ever seen Tohill stoop to the levels of those modern toe-rags ie. McMenamin (an annual scourge) or that big thick-oh Doherty todzy.

I’d agree with that, remember him being a clean player, and a fantastic one at that. One of the best players of his generation. He’s just an out and out players man.
Didn’t see the sunda game lads, what was said about the shite in Derry yesterday?

Indeed.

And by far and away the best analyst RTE have.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Indeed.

And by far and away the best analyst RTE have.[/QUOTE]

Not sure about that, as in i couldn’t say ‘cos i don’t watch the sunday game all the time, i tend to watch matches live or go to them.
I think O’ Rourke is the most in touch with reality, and i like Brolly for his honesty, even if he is off the mark at times. Tohill has always seemed fair enough to me but a little sensitive about Ulster Football.

Tohill wasn’t dirty at all…great player…always remember he had a great technique of fieldig the ball…he rarely caught it over his head…instead he’d hang his arms out in front of him making it very hard for opponent to get a touch without going through him and fouling him… How many matches now have Monaghan being involved in this sort sit …they set out to antagonise and provocke…fcukin hate the cnts…

Christ Kev, you say you respect Brolly for his honesty and then say that TOHILL is sensitive about Ulster football.

Brolly is obsessed with Ulster.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Christ Kev, you say you respect Brolly for his honesty and then say that TOHILL is sensitive about Ulster football.

Brolly is obsessed with Ulster.[/QUOTE]

No your right, he is probably a bit the same, but i have just seen Tohill interject strongly to things been said by the likes of Davis, O’ Rourke or Spillane. Brolly also really had a go at Ferghal Doherty, who i believe is actually a friend of his, so fair play, Spillane has never done the same for Dara O’ Se. Now Spillane is a broken record and tries to be controversial, but the other guys usual give a decent reason for their opinions, and its usually obvious shite like yesterday.

I got what Brolly was saying yesterday about DErry winning and they had to resort to that shite to win. They probably had to be niggly and stand up to it, but the knee and the scrape down the back of the legs were out of order. Imagine what we didn’t get to see on camera.
But Spillane was right about the standard of football and all this backward passing, and Brolly was childish and wrong to suggest that it was Kerry that introduced that game. Wasn’t bad tv though.

Tohill while a reasonable analyst loses all credibility when he refuses to acknowledge or condemn dirty play.
Why do we need to listen to some ex footballer tell us a punch or an elbow is fine because it was out of character?

At the risk of sounding like a broken record I really can’t stand those three ‘analysts’. I just feel that each one of them is more interested in being controversial without analysing the game and when they make an attempt to do so they fail miserably.

Anyway.

I am actually looking forward to TV3’s coverage. One of the best broadcasters in Ireland in Matt Cooper. I am also a fan of Peter the Great and Eugene Magee as analysts.

Eugene McGee will definitely bring a more mature analytical approach to it than the clowns on RTE. I was talking to Martin Breheny at the weekend as well, he’d be a great addition to any TV team.

Just never feels right though, watching sports on TV3. They always find a way to fuck it up.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]
Just never feels right though, watching sports on TV3. They always find a way to fuck it up.[/QUOTE]

In fairness to them, I think their GAA coverage is quite good. Better than RTE’s anyway.

Yer man from Setanta is a decent commentator as well. Better than Canning or the little goblin.

Dear Lord above.

I agree with what you lads are saying about actual analysis though. They often just spout generic shit about teams having hunger or losing their way or something and then show a few clips of scores but don’t provide the viewer with any information on tactics or playing style or any analysis of what actually caused the result we’ve just seen.

[quote=“Bandage”]Dear Lord above.

I agree with what you lads are saying about actual analysis though. They often just spout generic shit about teams having hunger or losing their way or something and then show a few clips of scores but don’t provide the viewer with any information on tactics or playing style or any analysis of what actually caused the result we’ve just seen.[/QUOTE]

One of the reasons i don’t tune in really i’d say. Being a coach you’d always have an eye on what teams are doing and seeing what is happeneing ingames. Foolishly you’d think the former stars would pick up in things in games, but i think i see (as do many others) the patterns in play better than some of those lads.
I learned more from an interview with John Kiely, the Waterford manager, last week than what i’d have got from a year of watching the SG.

Did Anthony Tohill have trials with Manchester United once upon a time?

He did yeah.

Around the same time as Geraghty was with Arsenal.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]

I am actually looking forward to TV3’s coverage. One of the best broadcasters in Ireland in Matt Cooper. I am also a fan of Peter the Great and Eugene Magee as analysts.[/QUOTE]

Can’t stand Cooper when he does sport…he asks a question and when the analyst is answering Cooper dives in and asks the next question just when the analyst is getting to the crux of his point on the original question… showing that Cooper really isn’t listening or doesn’t have a clue about sport…

Well the Laois football team look to be well prepared and I expect them to cause a few upsets this year…

I was enjoying a quite pint in the Armada hotel in Spanish point on saturday night, watching Ireland v Canada, when in surged about 30 guys…

I knew straight away it was a team of some sorts, but by their antics I thought it was a junior soccer team away for an end of season piss up. I soon clocked a few heads though and realised it was the Laois football team and was stunned to see them, a couple of weeks before a championship match, not only downing pints, but tearing into vodka/ whiskey etc

Of course they totally took over the place, giving guff to locals, wolf whistling at anything in a skirt and every one of them (except Ross Munelley who seemed more interested in the bar man even though he wasn’t drinking) chanced the only two young wans in the bar, who can best be described as mutts(They were all blown out too)

The mic was then grabbed off the one man band in the corner and we were subjected to an hour of inaudible screeching and shouting! They were finally usherd off up to bed by management, of course each carrying 2 or 3 drinks, but i seen most of them make a dash to the function room and crash a local wedding…

Like i said, you would expect it of junior soccer team …but clearly not from a team who are not only representing their county but are on the eve of the first round of the championship.

A shocking display by both the players and management alike! I know it’s amature and I see nothing wrong with players having a pint or two to relax and release a little tension… But the subsequent piss up and display of Homo erotic carry on that we were subjected to was scandalous…

It’s the supporters, and particularly the children, you’d have to feel for in all this… Who will no doubt turn up in large numbers in a few weeks to support their heroes totally ignorant as to the real character and carry on of these chancers!

proably just high jinks CM

It’s the new swine flu…