The Battle for Sam 2009

The Championship starts this Sunday in Gaelic Park, New York where Mayo are strongly fancied to overcome the home side.

All opinions relating to this year’s football championship to be put on this thread.

Connacht Championship 2009

Round 1

New York V Mayo - 10/05/09

London vs Galway - 24/05/09

Leitrim vs Roscommon - 31/05/09

Semi Finals

New York or Mayo vs Leitrim or Roscommon - 20/06/09

Sligo vs London or Galway - 28/06/09

Final - 19/07/09

Leinster Football Championship 2009

Round 1

Carlow vs Louth - 17/05/09

Longford vs Wicklow - 24/05/09

Kildare vs Offaly - 24/05/09

Quarter Finals

Dublin vs Meath - 07/06/09

Wexford vs Kildare or Offaly - 13/06/09

Westmeath vs Longford or Wicklow - 14/06/09

Laois vs Carlow or Louth

Semi Finals

Dublin or Meath vs Westmeath or Longfors or Wicklow - 28/06/09

Wexford or Kildare or Offaly vs Laois or Carlow or Louth - 28/06/09

Final - 12/07/09

Ulster Football Championship

Round 1

Fermanagh vs Down - 17/05/09

Quarter Finals

Derry vs Monaghan - 24/05/09

Tyrone vs Armagh - 31/05/09

Cavan vs Fermanagh or Down - 06/06/09

Donegal vs Antrim - 14/06/09

Semi Finals

Derry or Monaghan vs Tyrone or Armagh - 21/06/09

Cavan or Fermanagh or Down vs Donegal or Antrim - 27/06/09

Final - 19/07/09

Munster Football Championship 2009

Quarter Finals

Tipperary vs Limerick - 24/05/09

Waterford vs Cork - 24/05/09

Semi Finals

Clare vs Tipperary or Limerick - 07/06/09

Kerry vs Waterford or Cork - 07/06/09

Final - 05/07/09

Kerry.

Lock the thread.

Anyone know what price Down are for Ulster ?

Despite Tipperary’s good run in the League and Limericks not so good run, I am still very confident that Limerick will contest this years Munster final, possibly against Cork.

reckon Clare will catch ye in the long grass, rumour has it Martin Daly is coming out of retirement

I’d fancy Cork to possibly mug Kerry, but there’s no way Limerick will upset Tipp.

You don’t really reckon that.

get to fuck DB

Cork will be shitting themselves :smiley:

According to Paddy Power odds Limerick are still favourites @ 10/11.

I wouldn’t be backing them at that price but I still think they will win.

no but said i might as well try and wind you up about it, Clare’s biggest problem this year is that the Kilmurrey Ilbrikane boys have returned to the panel and they are universally hated by the rest of the football lads…

They are a right shower of contrary cunts altogether

[quote=“The Puke”]no but said i might as well try and wind you up about it, Clare’s biggest problem this year is that the Kilmurrey Ilbrikane boys have returned to the panel and they are universally hated by the rest of the football lads…

They are a right shower of contrary cunts altogether[/QUOTE]

Kilmurray Ilbrikane seems to breed em that way alright.

It’s great to see all ye Munster lads revert back to the GAA !!

I think Kerry will win Munster handy enough. Due to play Cork in Killarney which will be a big factor.

they could do woth getting some cream for their rednecks

[quote=“thedancingbaby”]It’s great to see all ye Munster lads revert back to the GAA !!

I think Kerry will win Munster handy enough. Due to play Cork in Killarney which will be a big factor.[/QUOTE]

They’ll owe Cork for last year I guess. Cork are a serious outfit now though, better than last year.

Ah you’re probably right, Cork shit themselves in front of the green and gold.

they could do woth getting some cream for their rednecks[/QUOTE]

more like polish for their brass necks and the county/Munster medals that they all have*

*De La Salle won the Munster hurling club championship this year. Clonlara didnt even make the final and people wonder why Clare hurling is in the state it is :smiley:

I think Kildare have a great chance of winning Leinster this season. I actually expect them to beat Wexford in the quarter final and that makes me sad.

[quote=“KIB man”]more like polish for their brass necks and the county/Munster medals that they all have*

*De La Salle won the Munster hurling club championship this year. Clonlara didnt even make the final and people wonder why Clare hurling is in the state it is :D[/QUOTE]

Early days yet KIB, unfortunately we are only a small village and haven;t the pick of three towns like ye, but I reckon we won’t be too far off retaining our title this year, injuries permitting

Dublin at 6/4 to win their fourth Leinster title in a row is the value bet of the year or any other year. More of a certainty than KK to win the hurling all Ireland.

Kildare maybe for a cover bet. With Matty Forde injured they are a certainty to beat Wexford. I think they are around 10/1 so a decent cover bet.