The Battle for Sam 2009

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]
Lynch has some bogger head on him but is a class act alright[/QUOTE]

:confused: Best looking man on the pitch so he was.

Excellent stuff, thats how we play when the right team is picked.

[quote=“montelado”]Gooch is getting narky cos everything isn’t going his way. Didn’t kick a ball and should have been booked before he was and then should have got the line with 55 minutes gone. Jack O’Connor will need to get him back playing right. Theres no one like him when he’s interested.
Major revamp needed for the qualifiers. Why not try Kennelly at centre back. He has the breeding for it and the mobility. Has to be other options than Griifin or O’Mahony.
Donaghy back full forward, Aidan O’shea, Moran back in. Reidy out. He’s been a passanger for a long time now. Nearly cost them the all-ireland a few years ago against monaghan. Took them 60 minutes to take him off and then they started to play. Took Jack O’Connor all day to take him off today aswell.[/QUOTE]

I agree with all of that. Kennelly at CB is worth a look.
When Darren O’Sullivan was warming up I said to my housemate that it should be Cooper but it will be Sheehan. Cooper has been posting it in the last two games. Needs to take a good hard look at himself. He is undoubtedly one of the best talents of his generation but you have to work for it and you have to want it. His body language suggests neither.
Having a guy like Copper being selected no matter what must have an effect on morale. There may be people suggesting the demise of this Kerry team and I am very close to being one of them.

Cork on the other hand look like serious contenders. If they could take a full speed Tyrone is a question they’ll need to answer.

The Wexicans had a horrible start but are right back in it now.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]I agree with all of that. Kennelly at CB is worth a look.
When Darren O’Sullivan was warming up I said to my housemate that it should be Cooper but it will be Sheehan. Cooper has been posting it in the last two games. Needs to take a good hard look at himself. He is undoubtedly one of the best talents of his generation but you have to work for it and you have to want it. His body language suggests neither.
Having a guy like Copper being selected no matter what must have an effect on morale. There may be people suggesting the demise of this Kerry team and I am very close to being one of them.

Cork on the other hand look like serious contenders. If they could take a full speed Tyrone is a question they’ll need to answer.

The Wexicans had a horrible start but are right back in it now.[/QUOTE]

From my limited viewings I dont think the young players that Kerry are bringing through are all that they are cracked up to be. I know even Clare have started to beat Kerry at underage lately and I’m not sure the likes of Reidy, Young, Walsh, Moran etc are they same quality as the men they are replacing. Ive always believed that form is not easily switched on and off. That Kerry side looked a really beaten side today lacking what is the central to any successful side which is to have the stomach for the fight. Kerry didnt have that and I cant see them turning it around even though the standard aint great.

Cork are playing a nice brand of counterattacking football with a lot of support play and runners through the middle. I’m not sure though that they have players with the ability to distribute the ball under pressure and the decision making of some of their players has been proved questionable in Croke Park in the past. I’m also not sure how good really the likes of O’Connor, Goulding and Masters are when someone like McMenamin are up their holes but would happily be proved wrong. Football needs a new team to come through. I think the All Ireland is wide open this year.

For Kerry far more questions than answers. Bringing on a clearly unconfident Eoin Brosnan would suggest that there arent exactly a multitude of top players to bring in. The best bet would seem to be to try and reenergise the likes of Tom O’Sullivan, O’Mahony, the O’Se, Gooch and Declan O Sullivan who is a brilliant player but completely out of form. Midfield is the most important area in Gaelic Football and Kerry look a bit shit here truth be told. I’d drop Galvin off the panel also after another selfish red card act. Fuck him at this stage he is a liability.

Good stuff out of Kieran Shannon in the tribune today. A fairly comprehensive dismantling of the sunday games ‘analysis’ after the Dublin/Meath game last weekend.

He’ll have more material from today. O’Rourke and Pat complaining bitterly about the standard not being up that of Kerry and Cork the evening before. For fucks sake, Cork and Kerry are two of the top three teams in the country! It’s like getting analysts in for an LOI game and the analysts spend the whole show whinging about it being as good as Barcelona/Man Utd. They are a complete fucking joke.

my god that ref in the wicklow game was shocking…gave some very soft frees…

Fuck it going to miss the start of the hurling now with this shit still on.

[quote=“Watch The Break”]Good stuff out of Kieran Shannon in the tribune today. A fairly comprehensive dismantling of the sunday games ‘analysis’ after the Dublin/Meath game last weekend.

He’ll have more material from today. O’Rourke and Pat complaining bitterly about the standard not being up that of Kerry and Cork the evening before. For fucks sake, Cork and Kerry are two of the top three teams in the country! It’s like getting analysts in for an LOI game and the analysts spend the whole show whinging about it being as good as Barcelona/Man Utd. They are a complete fucking joke.[/QUOTE]

They constantly talk about whether they ‘enjoyed’ the game or not rather than analysing it all right. I was actually impressed with Senan Connell’s analysis on TV3 yesterday.

They should cut this dire shite off and put the hurling on. :pint:

Senan Connell is very good and Canavan has his moments. They are way better than some of the tools on RTE. Kevin McStay and that tool that does the Ulster matches from Donegal. Sickners the 2 of them

The basketball commentator Tim McCarthy is commentating on the Antrim and Donegal match on RTE.ie.

Donegal up a point at half time. 6 to 5. Looks as bad as the shit on telly

Antrim a point up now,just over 10 mins to play

Antrim after beating Donegal!! Goal came near the end I think.

Dans had a shave.

Wrong thread :stuck_out_tongue:

Ooops just noticed it. Thats a big shock in Ulster

Timmy McCarthy the basketball commentator was doing the live web commentary of the Donegal v Antrim game. He was clearly doing it from a studio in Montrose. The bit I saw, there was no crowd sound at all and no clock. McCarthy would go nearly a minute without saying anything. Twas like the whole production was put together by a couple of 1o year olds. Fair play to Antrim, the real final in Ulster is next week however.

Yeah the Dublin vs. Antrim game was like that as well. Ger Canning popped out for a fag a couple of times in the second half.

Saw him reporting from Ballybofey on team news etc before the Westmeath Wicklow game so I would assume he was at it.

Yea Timmy was there alright.

Up in the Nell today watching Laois and Louth. Leinster football is pants, and Louth are shocking. Laois were cruising by halftime, leading by 8 points. Second half they took foot off the pedal a bit and let Louth back to within 3 points, with Tierney pointing with last kick to push it out to 4 points.

Louth are rubbish.

The lillies up next. Bring. It. On.