The Boat Race 2018

Does it go through Shannon or what ?

I’ve got up to some shenanigans in said place over the years but this sounds like it was on another level entirely. :clap:

Joe has a tendency to embellish stories but some serious shit went down that night and has taken on mythical proportions over the years.

The following year, we hosted the Sigerson in Trinity, and managed to persuade the Boat Club to hand over their cherished, historical premises to us for the weekend.

The banquet had been cancelled after the Con Murphy incident, so how bad could it be? In hindsight, we probably shouldn’t have hired a republican band for the entertainment. Likewise, manning the bars with players and supporters of the Trinity team might - on mature reflection - have been incautious.

It all began when a young man in a Coleraine University top stopped to examine a large oil painting of the founder of the Boat Club. " F*** me lads," he shouted, “it’s that orange b****** Edward Carson”. At which point he pulled the portrait off its moorings, and pulled it down over himself, his head and body ripping through the ancient canvas. He stood there, with the remnants of the portrait hanging off him like a grass skirt. As the band played “Armoured cars and tanks and guns”, the place bounced like an early Sex Pistols gig.

The barmen - all full - were now handing out bottles of spirits. A boat was dragged out of the sheds onto the Liffey, with a Jordanstown lad on board, who will remain nameless in light of his successful confidentiality claim in the High Court earlier this week. When the gardaí tried to coax him back to shore, he roared, “I’ll take my f***ing chances.”

Sadly, during the evening, the priceless oars from Trinity’s great Henley Regatta winning year were taken, last seen out the side windows of the Coleraine bus as it drove through Drogheda, the boys shouting, “Heave, ho, Heave, ho.”

That was the last ever Sigerson weekend, which is a source of pride to all of us who were privileged enough to be there. As the inimitable David Hanly said on Morning Ireland on the Monday morning, “Boys will be boys.”

Bullingdon GAA

If it happened now Brolly would probably want the lads involved lined up and shot.

Brolly’s compulsive lying is bordering on Paul McGinley levels at this stage.

Today is the day, one of the worlds great sporting events

Would you be a dark blue or a light blue pal?

Oxford

Some of the people taking part today will lead countries in the future. However today is the biggest day of their lives

Serious atmosphere down here. It reminds me of the Munster hurling finals in Thurles back when they meant something

A lot of mutual respect between both sets of fans. There’s a million on the banks of the Thames right. Magic!

Why were you at Tipp vs cork games ?

The women are getting ready for it. This is a proper event

He was probably a real person at some stage

I can’t hear myself think with the atmosphere. Unreal unbelievable

Hon Oxford

Cambridge well clear at Hammersmith bridge

this is a massacre

Yes, fucking yes.

Nothing like us giving the Oxford scum a paddling.

Sow it into the bastards, chaps, sow it into them.

I’d be a Cambridge man myself. Delighted with that.