The Brexit Thread

It wasn’t all me mike, no matter what people say.

Gareth Thomas MP on Twitter: “You couldn’t make it up; ⁦ Ministers ⁩⁩ hand responsibility for monitoring British fishing boats to a French company - ⁦@thetimes⁩ https://t.co/0GFF7h4viZ” / Twitter

Edit; it’s a year old but still funny

Yes, Kelvin really spelling it out clearly there…

didnt the brits give the germans the idea for the concentration camps.

Anyone catch Claire Byrne this morning? She had former Taoiseach Bertie on and by Christ it was vintage Bertie, d’ese, d’em dis and dat until he got to costs to the UK.
Billins, billins, skillins… I shit you not skillins…
He went further with a novel analogy…The EU is like a golf club, we, me and you Claire pay €1k each to be members, not that I’m a member of a golf club or annitin’. You wouldn’t be happy rocking up for your game on a Saturday morning and finding dese other lads there, lads who aren’t members and aren’t going to be either.
Dems de facts Claire, d’eres a deal dere just needs doing.

I read that in a Bertie accent I’m my head.

He’s not a golf club member cos he knows he’d have a few 3 irons wrapped aroud his head after every visit.

Are they gone yet or what’s the story?

Just as a matter of interest flatty. Do you know if for argument sake, if Scotland voted for independence, do you think they would get rapid access into the EU?

I really don’t know. I’d really hope so. It would greatly help Ireland to have an open trade route, but, tbh, I’d really hope that Ireland would support their rapid entry on basic principle. I think Ireland are a strong voice within the EU, and the French and Scots have always liked each other in recent years by and large. If the Spanish can be persuaded to remain neutral, I would hope there is a decent chance.
To an extent, it’s a bridge they’d have to cross when they got to it.
A few encouraging noises from EU nations would go a very long way towards winning a vote. Ireland and Scotland should look out for each other imho. There are far more similarities than differences. Scotland is an absolutely fantastic country, with fantastic people, having lived there.

That and then the ultimate land border that would be set up between Scotland and England would more or less isolate the English and possibly trigger a vote in Wales as well

Would the Queen still be able to go to Balmoral if there was an independent Scotland?

Shed need a Visa.

There’s no way the Scotch would get rid of the Queen as their head of state.

It would be good craic to see what the Ulster Scotch did in an independent Scotland scenario.

Tis the English should be leaving the Union if anyone.

Those grouse won’t shoot themselves

Id say the English would love to be shot of the Jockos and the rest of the freeloaders.