The Brexit Thread

The andytown news is having a field day

I see there that Super Value are delivering to a British supermarket in Brussels from the depot in Cork. Couldn’t get stock from UK…

SuperValu

Snigger

Kinda adds a whole new meaning to the term " go shit in your hat"

POLITICAL SKETCH
Quentin Letts: Keep your Brexity hands to yourself, says Irish Joe
Quentin Letts
Wednesday September 22 2021, 12.01am BST, The Times
Save

Joe Biden’s eyes went a bit misty at the first mention of the Irish border
ALEX BRANDON/ASSOCIATED PRESS
With both men wearing masks you could not tell much from their facial expressions but Joe Biden welcomed Boris Johnson into the White House yesterday afternoon. Johnson gushed about the lifting of trade restrictions on British beef and Scotch whisky, and said what “a living deity” Biden was on Amtrak, which is America’s answer to British Rail. The president replied with a long railway yarn of his own. It was almost as long as your average Midwest goods train.

He then rather went off the diplomatic rails by telling Johnson to keep his Brexity hands off the Northern Irish agreement. Johnson suddenly developed a fascination for the ceiling of the small reception room where the event was being held at the president’s official residence in Washington.

The White House photo opportunities may not have been everything the Downing Street team would have wished. Arrivals at the front door were done with a minimum of ceremonial. Those darn masks — the American governing class is more fretful about Covid than ours — rather muffled any sense of bonhomie. And this time there was no hand holding.

The travelling Westminster press corps hardly helped matters, either, by raising the sad case of Harry Dunn, the young lad killed in a road accident by an American diplomat. Then Sky News’s Beth Rigby, ever keen to assist the Johnson government, raised the Northern Ireland protocol and invited the president to muse out loud about the importance of his Irish ancestry — cue some sad fiddle music — and how it might affect the changes of a British-American free trade deal. You could see the words “thanks a bunch, Beth” racing through the prime minister’s eyes. I swear that mask of his was being chewed from the inside.

As Johnson sat beside the president he eagerly wrote notes, like a secretary taking dictation. Behind Biden was a bust of Bobby Kennedy. Was it glowering a bit at the PM? Mention of Ireland sent old Joe a bit misty and he declared that he didn’t want to see any changes in the border arrangements between the republic and Northern Ireland. Johnson hurriedly stepped into the conversation to say that he was “as one” with Biden on this matter. He shouldn’t believe everything that lunatic woman from Sky News was suggesting.

There was agreement about climate change. Biden expressed an intention to attend the Cop26 conference this autumn. Uh-oh. All those presidential motorcades racing through the streets of Glasgow. One dreads to think of the carbon footprint left by The Beast, the president’s armoured limousine. “I’m really anxious to attend. We’re gonna be there, with bells on!” He quavered. “Fantastic,” boomed Johnson.

The president’s anecdote about Amtrak, hard to decipher through his mask, included something about how his security detail used to hate him travelling by train because it was too dangerous. One day an Amtrak conductor came up and pinched Biden’s cheek in an affectionate manner. The conductor was fortunate not to have been shot on the spot by Biden’s gun-toting bodyguards.

Biden clenched a flimsy fist as he spoke about the “revitalised North Atlantic alliance”. And both he and his younger guest used the “build back better” slogan about post-Covid recovery. Who thought of that first?

The French were not mentioned.

Welcome to the big leagues Boris

Heard yesterday on Newstalk that Brexit has had a big impact on the price of flour in Ireland. Your typical 1kg pack has increased in price by 9% since January. Always thought we produced most of our own flour but we actually import 95% of it from UK.

What a shower of fucking numptys. Really leaving the civilised world. All but 3 countries in the world have accepted the metric system. The US Myanmar and Liberia

Most people on the mainland and indeed a great many here still use imperial measurement

Makes sense

Many people who do would have used it when young. All offical documents are in metric in ireland. Its metric only in education for last 20 years so its on the way out. I work for a company that uses both. Fucking yanks. Its very confusing.

Napoleon brought that metric shite in, I’d like to see petrol sold in gallons again

The Muldoons on here who post pictures of pints having a go at John Bull

same lads looking for a pound of sirloin stheak in the butchers

season 6 anger GIF

They have petrol shortages as well now in Britain

No food, no petrol, no electricity

Going well

Luckily they have a three day week coming up.