The Celtic Phoenix - A thread to list the economic miracles of Michael Noonan & Fine Gael

There will be some bang off the denim shorts come the end of the summer

Proper food, culture, weather, good looking peopleā€¦
You wouldnā€™t see ugly fat lads sitting in pubs all weekend over there unless itā€™s Paddy.

Fucking hell surprised at that. Iā€™d say 90% of people I knew when I was 24 or 25 didnā€™t live at home. Reflection of rent costs I suppose.

Or john bull

@Tim_Riggins and the establishment lackeys try to reduce everything to the market economy. If anything heā€™s proving my point for meā€¦ Money, greed, keeping up with the Jonesā€™ - thatā€™s what Ireland has become and thatā€™s fact. The average person is incredibly dull in Ireland too - extremely conservative and boring unless loaded with alcoholā€¦ everything revolves around getting drunk or off your chops on cocaine.

They canā€™t fathom why someone might want to live in a culture that doesnā€™t place money above everything else.

In fairness Iā€™ve lived in a few places in my life and know the difference between lifestyle vs. opportunity or a combination of both.

Your statements have revealed a large ignorance on life in Spain. Mass youth unemployment, kids staying home longer than Irish kids, obesity at the same levels of Irelandā€¦.all your justifications so far havenā€™t held up. Iā€™d have more respect if you admitted that it was the sun and not your childrenā€™s future that motivates you.

Says a lot when the peak of ambition is a ā€˜newā€™ car (this year on the reg craic is some cod) the big house with an island, new sofa and perceived over inflated wealth due to ā€˜property pricesā€™. All while debted to the gills. No wounder we are fat and miserable whrn you can only afford sausage rolls for dinner. Sure look, we all partied

They must hide the fat fuckers anyway

Iā€™m sure the number of Oirish and Brits moving there for some sun does their stats no favours.

Large element of confirmation bias on display. Iā€™d like to live in the sun so Spanish lifestyle is relaxed and chill vs the rat race at home.

Thereā€™s no specific harm in kids staying at home longer. Thatā€™s a reflection of the family unit as much.

Spanish family values are unreal. Grand parents very involved in kids lives. Everything revolves around the familyā€¦ Itā€™s truly beautiful. Youā€™d see Spanish families meet up for lunch on weekends and it goes on for 6/7 hours, chatting and eating. Paddy either runs off away from his family to the pub or goes to the local with kids and buys the kids packages of tayto and a big bottle of tk lemonade as he swills back pints.

Spain has the third-highest divorce rate in the European Union, with 57% of marriages set for an unhappy ending, according to one recent survey.

Youā€™ll get no time to watch Liverpool in your Klopp pyjamas if you start down that road

In fairness there is truth to the latin passion trope too about the womenā€¦

@Thomas_Brady seems to have mixed up a two week holiday in Mrs Oā€™Sullivanā€™s villa and a trip to the bodega for some Rioja and Chorizo and ating prawn pil pil with bacon and cabbage for life living and working in Spain.

Who hasnā€™t daydreamed of moving somewhere sunny when lying on a sun lounger ating Jambon flavoured Ruffle crisps

What has that to do with anything? Iā€™m not getting divorced yet but itā€™s good to know there will be plenty of good advice on offer if I do.

Jesus cork must be a shithole. Thats not how we live in Dublin. Weekends are coaching kids gaa on saturdays, Football on sundays. Great sense of community to it all.

I think theres more acknowledgment that they are unhappy and they do something about it whereas paddy just goes to the pub more or immerses himself in the gaa club to avoid the uncomfortable truthā€¦

With the wfh revolution i can see @Thomas_Brady tipping away on the laptop while herself also works in an industry that can charge what it wants in any country with an endless supply of returning customers. Lifestyle will be worth